Virginia No Hands Law

Facebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

The current law in Virginia “prohibits the reading of any email or text message and manually entering letters or text in such a device as a means of communicating” and “holding a personal communications device while driving in a work zone.” But that all changes come January 1, 2021, when a new hands-free driving law goes into effect.

Estimated Reading Time: 3 mins

Preview

Posted in: Virginia no hands lawShow details

Drivers who violate the new measure face a $125 fine. A second offense carries a $250 fine. Holding an electronic device in a work zone automatically carries a $250 fine. Although legislators beefed up the law to include a hands-free ban in work zones in 2019, police found the existing law to be difficult to enforce.

Estimated Reading Time: 4 mins

Preview

Posted in: New virginia hands free lawShow details

RICHMOND, Va. (WWBT) - In exactly three months, drivers in Virginia could face stiff fines for holding their phones while behind the wheel. On Jan. 1, 2021, the hands-free law will go into effect

1. Author: WHSV
Estimated Reading Time: 4 mins

Preview

Posted in: Hands free law in vaShow details

If a person violates the new hands-free law, the first offense will be a traffic infraction with a fine of $125. And a second or subsequent offense will be a fine of $250.

Estimated Reading Time: 2 mins

Preview

Posted in: Hands free phone law virginiaShow details

§ 46.2-818.2. Use of handheld personal communications devices in certain motor vehicles; exceptions; penalty. A. It is unlawful for any person, while driving a moving motor vehicle on the highways in the Commonwealth, to hold a handheld personal communications device.

Preview

Posted in: Va code hands free lawShow details

The new ban on handheld devices while driving technically became a law on July 1, but it won’t actually be enacted until January 1, 2021. The General Assembly required a six-month delay to give

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

RICHMOND, Va. (WAVY) — Virginia lawmakers have passed a bill that would make it illegal to drive with a cell phone in your hand. Under HB1811 / SB1341, drivers caught using a phone to check out

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Chapter 10. Motor Vehicle and Equipment Safety. 12/9/2021. § 46.2-1078.1. Repealed. Repealed by 2020, cc. 250 and 543, cl. 2, effective January 1, 2021. The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Invest in a phone mount now; once this bill is signed into law by Governor Northam, Virginia will become a hands-free driving state. The state Senate voted Tuesday in favor of a bill that would prohibit holding a phone while driving a motor vehicle on Virginia roadways and which implements a penalty for the traffic violation.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Both the hands-free driving law and increase to the minimum wage in Virginia were signed by Northam, but both contain delay clauses, meaning they do not take effect until 2021. Here is a sample of

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

The hands-free law makes it illegal to hold a phone while driving. Gov. Ralph Northam (D-Virginia) held a virtual bill-signing ceremony on Wednesday. He delayed the bill’s effective date until

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Two new Virginia laws impacting drivers went into effect this summer on July 1, 2019. First, Virginia amended its cell phone laws to forbid any hand-held cell phone use in work zones, and, second, Virginia increased the penalty for failure to move over when passing a stationary emergency vehicle to an automatic “reckless driving” conviction.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Virginia's new hands free cell phone law. « on: January 12, 2021, 03:38:28 AM » Today, I heard a Ham on 2 meters griping about being stopped by …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Virginia Sexual and Domestic Violence Action Alliance, (800) 838-8238, is a toll-free helpline offering legal and other assistance to survivors of sexual assault, intimate partner violence, dating violence, and stalking. On-staff advocates provide safety planning, emotional support, crisis intervention, and other resources to survivors.

Preview

Posted in: Support LawShow details

Phone Down. It’s the Law. On July 1 st, 2020, it became illegal to hold a handheld personal communications device (e.g., a smart phone) while driving a moving motor vehicle on the highways in Virginia. The new law will not be effective until January 1 st, 2021, to allow for educating the public about its provisions.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

He said the 'hands-free' driving legislation will "make Virginia's roads safer by requiring drivers to put their phones down while driving starting January 1, 2021. The law also includes several

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Chapter 3. Licensure of Drivers. 12/24/2021. § 46.2-341.20:5. Prohibition on texting and use of handheld mobile telephone; penalties. A. No person driving a commercial motor vehicle shall text or use a handheld mobile telephone while driving such vehicle. A driver who violates this section is subject to a civil penalty not to exceed $2,750.

Preview

Posted in: Commercial Law, Civil LawShow details

Please leave your comments here:

Related Topics

New Popular Law

Frequently Asked Questions

When does virginias hands free law go into effect?

'Phone down, it's the law'

Will virginias new hands free driving law make roads safer?

He said the ' hands-free' driving legislation will "make Virginia's roads safer by requiring drivers to put their phones down while driving starting January 1, 2021. The law also includes several provisions to help ensure it is enforced fairly and does not result in disparate enforcement against people of color."

How much is the fine for hands free driving in virginia?

There is a mandatory fine of $250 for violations in work zones. State Sen. Scott Surovell said the shift to a Democratic legislature helped the hands-free bill become law in 2020. Virginia lawmakers approved Delegate Jeffrey Bourne’s distracted driving bill in late February with clear majorities.

What is the penalty for reckless driving in virginia?

Violating "move over" laws Failing to obey Virginia's "move over" law now has a stronger punishment. The old law said the first offense is a $250 fine for a traffic infraction. The new law makes all offenses reckless driving, which is a Class 1 misdemeanor.

Most Popular Search