Texas Cell Phone Driving Laws

Facebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

You cannot send or receive electronic messages while driving in Texas. Drivers with learner's permits are prohibited from using cellphones in the first six months of driving. Using any handheld device in your vehicle in a school zone is illegal. Drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using handheld devices.

Preview

Posted in: Transportation Law, Sports LawShow details

Drivers of government vehicles can use a cell phone “in their official capacity,” and drivers can still use mobile devices for GPS purposes or to make an emergency call. Offending drivers could face a penalty of up to $200. Amarillo, Texas The city adopted a hands-free ordinance in September 2012 which was enacted on January 3rd, 2013.

1. Estimated Reading Time: 7 mins

Preview

Posted in: Government LawShow details

Though there is a statewide law that prohibits hand-held cell phone usage while driving, you still find people everywhere of all ages, texting while driving. But you may just find yourself slapped with a hefty fine if you do this now in 2 big Texas cities. New ordinances have just gone into effect in Austin and San Antonio. Austin's law now prohibits the use of all electronic hand-held …

1. Estimated Reading Time: 2 mins

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Texas Car Seat Laws 2018 texas hands free law Little Elm adopted a hands-free law in early january. prohibited activities while driving in the dallas-fort worth-area city include using a handheld device to talk, text and take photos. Fines begin at $100 and go up to $500. A warning period runs through the end of February. Hands-free options would still . Texas …

Preview

Posted in: Sea LawShow details

Texas Driving Laws: New Cell Phone and Inspection Policies. The state of Texas has been hesitant to adopt a state-wide texting and driving law, but two major Texas cities have stepped forward to make their streets safer. Thirteen states prohibit all drivers from using cellphones, and 37 states (including Texas) have bans on phone use by teen drivers. According to the Texas …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Here are all the most relevant results for your search about Texas Law Cell Phone Driving . We always endeavor to update the latest information relating to Texas Law Cell Phone Driving so that you can find the best one you want to ask at LawListing.com.

Preview

Posted in: Form Law, Sea LawShow details

Although Texas has no statewide ban on the use of cell phones, many local areas prohibit their use with fines that range from $200 to $500. The Texas Department of Transportation has a list of every city with a hands free driving ordinance. Some of the major Texas cities include Austin, Corpus Christi, El Paso, and San Antonio.

Preview

Posted in: Transportation Law, Sports LawShow details

The New Texas Distracted Driving, Texting & Hands-Free Law. Effective on September 1, 2017, Texas H.B. No. 62 introduced major changes to the law for drivers. Here’s a breakdown of what is and isn’t allowed, as well as the penalties for breaking the law. Allowed. Hands-free calling except in school zones; Text messaging while your vehicle

1. Estimated Reading Time: 2 mins

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

The Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) reports that 1 in 5 crashes involve driver distraction in some shape or form, highlighting the fact that drivers who use cell phones while in their cars pose a higher risk for collisions than those who drive without using their phones. In order to reduce the number of distracted-driving related crashes, the state imposes the …

Preview

Posted in: Form Law, Transportation LawShow details

Texas Transportation Code TRANSP TX TRANSP Section 545.425. Read the code on FindLaw “ Hands-free device ” means speakerphone capability, a telephone attachment, or another function or other piece of equipment, regardless of whether permanently installed in or on a wireless communication device or in a motor vehicle, that allows use of the wireless …

Preview

Posted in: Transportation Law, Sports LawShow details

Texas law defines "wire communication device" as any device that uses a commercial mobile service. Penalties. Unlawful use of a wireless communication device is a misdemeanor. For a first violation, the fine ranges from $25 to $99. Motorist convicted of a …

1. Estimated Reading Time: 5 mins

Preview

Posted in: Commercial LawShow details

Using a cell phone while driving can be as dangerous as drunk driving in Houston and across Texas. Starting September 1st, a statewide ban on driving and cell phone use begins. Governor Greg Abbott signed the bill into law in June, yet says he’s not satisfied with it. His reason is puzzling.

1. Estimated Reading Time: 3 mins

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Although not required by law, Texas recommends: Due to the increase in cell phone use, the Texas legislature passed a law in 2017 that placed a statewide ban on the use of an electronic device for reading or writing text messages or emails while driving. Additionally, the use of handheld cell phones is not allowed under state law for drivers: Operating a motor vehicle …

Preview

Posted in: Sea LawShow details

3 Texas State Laws that Relate to Cell Phones and Driving Though there is statewide law that prohibits hand-held cell phone usage while driving, you still find people everywhere of all ages, texting while driving. But you may just find yourself slapped with a hefty fine if you do this now in 2 big Texas cities. New ordinances have just gone into effect in …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Here are all the most relevant results for your search about Cell Phone Law In Texas . We always endeavor to update the latest information relating to Cell Phone Law In Texas so that you can find the best one you want to ask at LawListing.com.

Preview

Posted in: Form Law, Sea LawShow details

You cannot send or receive electronic messages while driving in Texas. Drivers with learner's permits are prohibited from using cellphones in the first six months of driving. Using any handheld device in your vehicle in a school zone is illegal. Drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using handheld devices.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

It is well known that Texas has no statewide law that bans the use of cell phones while driving. However, many local areas prohibit or limit the use of cell phones while driving.

1. Estimated Reading Time: 7 mins

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Please leave your comments here:

Related Topics

New Popular Law

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the cell phone laws in texas?

Summary of Texas Cell Phone Laws. 1. There is no statewide law banning the use of cell phones while driving for all drivers. 2. Drivers with learner’s permits are prohibited from using handheld cell phones in the first six months of driving. If over 18, drivers may use hands-free cell phones.

Is it illegal to talk on the phone while driving in texas?

Texas has no laws forbidding motorists from talking on the phone while driving provided the driver is using handheld devices. Currently, state distracted driving law only addresses the issue of interference through prohibitions on texting behind the wheel.

Is there a hands free law in school zones in texas?

In school zones, drivers must refrain from all handheld device use. School bus drivers can’t use their cell phones while driving if they have students on board. IS THERE A HANDS-FREE LAW IN TEXAS? The state doesn’t have a hands-free law, but there are local restrictions. More than 90 cities have laws against cell phone use while driving.

Can school bus drivers use cellphones while driving in texas?

School bus drivers may not use cellphones at all while driving if children are present. Cellphone laws can change from city to city. Learn more about Texas texting while driving laws. Never use your cellphone while driving.

Most Popular Search