Portland Oregon Rent Increase Law

Facebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

According to Oregon legislation, introduced in 2019, a landlord may not increase rent within the first year of tenancy. After the first year, a landlord may increase rent so long as the appropriate notice is provided (Oregon SB608). However, the amount that a landlord may increase rent annually is capped at 7% plus the consumer price index (CPI).

1. Estimated Reading Time: 3 mins

Preview

Posted in: California rent increase lawsShow details

Varies by city: While Oregon’s law sets the same rate of increase for the whole state, California’s rent thresholds are set at 5% plus various rates (not to exceed 5%) based on the consumer price index of individual metro areas. In California cities that already had rent control, the new law applies in addition to prior protections.

Preview

Posted in: Consumer LawShow details

Local Laws in Oregon Portland Landlord Tenant Rights The city of Portland has a mandatory Renter Relocation Assistance program which requires landlords to help finance a renter moving out if they are moving because of a rent increase of 10% or higher. Eugene Landlord Tenant Rights

1. Estimated Reading Time: 9 mins

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Portland Housing Bureau – 5% Rent Increase Limit Policy Effective for all PHB projects awarded funding after 8/1/2018 Purpose and Scope The Portland Housing Bureau (PHB) is focused on providing affordable rents in the City’s housing portfolio with an affordability period. The bureau is concerned with potential displacement and financial hardship resulting from possible rent …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

WHAT THE LAW SAYS The new law says residential rent — during a tenancy — can increase no more than 7 percent plus the increase in the Consumer Price Index (CPI) each year. It also ends “no-cause” evictions once a tenant has rented for a year; in other words, a landlord has to have legitimate grounds in order to evict a tenant.

1. Estimated Reading Time: 5 mins

Preview

Posted in: Consumer LawShow details

During any tenancy other than week-to-week, the landlord may not increase the rent: (a) During the first year after the tenancy begins. (b) At any time after the first year of the tenancy without giving the tenant written notice at least 90 days prior to the effective date of the rent increase. (c)

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

As of September 16th, if any rent increase effective between September 16, 2020 and March 31, 2021 is received and that renter is unable to pay the increased rent, the renter is potentially eligible for Relocation Assistance as outlined in PCC 30.01.085. Read the FAQ on the Relocation Assistance Amendment

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Q: Rent increase Portland OR - landlord won't provide written notice Landlord called Jan 2 to tell me he's raising my rent by more than 25%. He wanted to make it effective Jan 1 but, since I'd already sent out my rent check, he said he'd "do me a favor" and make it effective Feb 1.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Oregon Law Center (OLC) provides free legal help to people struggling to make ends meet on matters related to their homes, livelihoods, medical care and physical safety against domestic violence. The Portland Housing Bureau has partnered with OLC to provide free legal services to low-income tenants living in the City of Portland who are facing eviction. To seek …

Preview

Posted in: Services Law, Medical LawShow details

Portland can’t legally institute a policy that would ban rent increases for residential tenants amid the coronavirus outbreak, Mayor Ted Wheeler said Wednesday.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Portland City Code 30.01.085 (c) provides additional renter’s protections in relation to rental increases. If your landlord raises your rent by 10% or more within a 12 month period, you may be entitled to moving costs if you give notice within 14 days …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Limits how much landlords can increase the rent each year. The new laws limit rent increases to 7% plus the average amount of inflation for the past twelve months, as published in the prior September. For 2019, the applicable rate of inflation is 3.3%. That means your landlord cannot raise your rent more than 10.3% (7% + 3.3%) in 2019.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

A Principal Broker in Oregon, Managing Broker in Washington, he has been licensed since 2003 for residential real estate sales. Call his team in Oregon at 503-714-1111 or in Washington at 360-345-3833. 4% max to sell a home in Portland and SW Washington. 4.5% max to sell a home in Salem and Bend. Over 2,000 homes sold.

Preview

Posted in: Estate Law, Real Estate LawShow details

Oregon now has rent control that limits rent increases for existing tenants. Rent cannot be increased during any 12-month period above the existing rent in an amount greater than 7% plus the consumer price index from the previous calendar year.

Preview

Posted in: Consumer LawShow details

Rental units located within the city limits of Portland are also subject to rent limitations imposed by Portland City Code 30.01.085, in addition to the state law requirements. Landlords in Portland are required to give no less than 90 days’ written notice for any increase that is 5% or more over a rolling 12-month period. The notice must specify the amount of the …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

On September 17th, the State of Oregon’s Office of Economic Analysis debuted the maximum rent increase rate for 2021 to be 9.2%. SB 608 set the maximum rent increase formula to be 7% plus the West Coast Consumer Price Index, which changes every year. For 2020 the maximum increase was 9.9%. For 2019 the maximum increase was 10.3%.

Preview

Posted in: Form Law, Consumer LawShow details

The change now makes the amount of notifications to be at minimum ninety days’ advance notice in writing for any increase in the amount of rent that will be more than five percent (5%) over a period of twelve months. This EZ Landlord Forms “Portland, Oregon 90 Day Notice to Increase Rent” contains all the elements that are spelled out in

Preview

Posted in: Form LawShow details

Please leave your comments here:

Related Topics

New Popular Law

Frequently Asked Questions

How much can a landlord raise rent in portland oregon?

Rental units located within the city limits of Portland are also subject to rent limitations imposed by Portland City Code 30.01.085, in addition to the state law requirements. Landlords in Portland are required to give no less than 90 days’ written notice for any increase that is 5% or more over a rolling 12-month period.

How will oregons new rent control law affect north portland?

A sign advertises apartments for rent in North Portland. Elliot Njus/Staff Rent increases will be capped at 9.9% through 2020, the first full year Oregon’s new rent control law will be in effect, state economists announced Wednesday.

What are the landlord and tenant laws in portland oregon?

Portland Landlord Tenant Rights The city of Portland has a mandatory Renter Relocation Assistance program which requires landlords to help finance a renter moving out if they are moving because of a rent increase of 10% or higher. Eugene Landlord Tenant Rights

How much does portlands new pro renter policy cost landlords?

Portland, OR is making headlines for another pro-renter policy that is going to cost landlords thousands of dollars. How many thousands? $2,900 – $4,500, depending on the type of house a landlord owns.

Most Popular Search