Personal Injury Laws In Florida

Facebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

For most injury cases, Florida limits punitive damages to three times the amount of compensatory damages, or $500,000 whichever amount is greater. This law can be found at Florida Statutes Annotated section 768.73. It's important to note that punitive damages are only available in a small percentage of injury cases.

1. Estimated Reading Time: 9 mins
2. Florida Medical Malpractice Laws
3. Damages

Preview

Posted in: Medical LawShow details

Florida law requires all drivers to carry a minimum of $10,000 in personal injury protection per person per accident. In most situations, a person cannot file a personal injury lawsuit against the party who actually caused the accident. Instead, your own car insurance policy covers your medical expenses and lost income.

Preview

Posted in: Insurance Law, Insurance LawShow details

Under Florida law, a person who suffers a personal injury has up to four years to file a lawsuit in civil court. Failure to file a claim within this time period will forever bar the case. There are some different deadlines, however, depending on the type of personal injury case.

1. Estimated Reading Time: 3 mins

Preview

Posted in: Civil LawShow details

Personal injury law is a common area where local and state laws can influence how cases are resolved and how verdicts are found. The basic tenants of personal injury law are consistent throughout the country; a person who suffered a physical injury at the hands of someone else due to some kind of negligence may seek compensation from the injuring party.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

For most injury cases, Florida limits punitive damages to three times the amount of compensatory damages or $500,000 whichever is greater. This law can be found in Florida Statutes Title XLV section 768.73. There are no other damage cap laws on the books in Florida when it comes to standard personal injury cases.

1. Estimated Reading Time: 5 mins

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Each driver is required to carry a personal injury protection (PIP) policy, covering a minimum of $10,000 per person per crash. Florida law does allow you to file a personal injury lawsuit after a car accident if the injuries areserious. Florida law defines serious personal injuries as those resulting in: Significant and permanent loss of an important bodily function

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Florida has its own set of laws regarding personal injury. In this comprehensive guide to Florida personal injury law, learn how Florida defines causation, what damages may be available to you in Florida, how a Florida personal injury lawyer can help, and more.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Owners of vehicles registered in Florida require at least $10,000 of personal injury protection cover. $10,000 of cover is required for bodily injuries to one person, and $20,000 of cover is required for bodily injuries to two or more people. How soon do I need to be treated to make a claim on personal injury protection insurance?

Preview

Posted in: Insurance Law, Insurance LawShow details

Florida Personal Injury Laws: Statute of Limitations. 2 Years: Damages Recoverable: Property damage, lost wages, medical expenses, pain and suffering, cost of household help, future earning ability: Strict Liability: Product manufacturer may be liable for injuries caused by a consumer product: Joint Liability

Preview

Posted in: Property Law, Consumer LawShow details

14. Treatment of Porcupines. The law prohibits having sexual relations with a porcupine. 15. Oakland Gossip. In Oakland, Florida, it’s illegal to exchange gossip of any way, shape, or form. 16. Burglar Alarm Permit. For more strange regional laws, look …

Preview

Posted in: Form LawShow details

Speak with an experienced Florida attorney at our firm today. Call 855-Kramer-Now (855-572-6376). Contributory Negligence (then) vs. Comparative Negligence (now) Also in the past, Florida courts applied the rule of contributory negligence, based on case law, in personal injury cases. Under this doctrine, a plaintiff who was only minimally

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Personal injury claims against a private individual or business. A brief summary of contingency fees in Florida personal injury cases is below. An attorney may not charge a contingent fee of more than: 33 1/3% of any recovery up to $1 million before a defendant files (or should) file an answer to a lawsuit. Florida Bar Rule 4-1.5(f)(4)(B).

Preview

Posted in: Business LawShow details

A personal injury can also include damage to property, but it must also involve physical harm. A personal injury lawsuit is a court case to hold someone accountable for causing someone else’s personal injuries. Florida law allows the injured person to …

Preview

Posted in: Property LawShow details

Florida limits these damages to three times the amount of compensatory damages (those tied to financial losses, like loss of wages, medical bills, etc.) or $500,000, depending on which is greater. Dog bite cases in Florida Dog bites are considered to be strict liability cases in Florida under two different statutes.

Preview

Posted in: Medical LawShow details

No-Fault Car Insurance Laws. In the case of car accidents, Florida personal injury law states that the insurance policy of the injured person should suffice to take care of the majority of out of

Preview

Posted in: Insurance Law, Insurance LawShow details

Here are all the most relevant results for your search about Florida Personal Injury Laws . We always endeavor to update the latest information relating to Florida Personal Injury Laws so that you can find the best one you want to ask at LawListing.com.

Preview

Posted in: Form Law, Sea LawShow details

Florida law requires all drivers to carry a minimum of $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage. In the case of an accident, these benefits will cover medical bills and lost wages no matter who caused the accident. However, this is not to say that an individual should not move forward with a personal injury claim.

Preview

Posted in: Medical LawShow details

Please leave your comments here:

Related Topics

New Popular Law

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the personal injury laws in the state of florida?

Florida Personal Injury Laws and Liability Rules 1 Deadlines for Filing an Injury Lawsuit in Florida. ... 2 Florida's "Comparative Negligence" Rule. ... 3 Florida No-Fault Car Insurance Rules. ... 4 "Strict" Liability for Dog Bite/Attack Cases. ... 5 Damage Caps in Florida Injury Cases. ... 6 More Details on Florida Personal Injury Laws. ...

What are punitive damages in a florida personal injury case?

For most injury cases, Florida limits punitive damages to three times the amount of compensatory damages, or $500,000 whichever amount is greater. This law can be found at Florida Statutes Annotated section 768.73.

Who pays for car accident injuries in florida?

Many personal injury claims arise out of traffic accidents in Florida. Florida is a no-fault state. This means that each driver's own car insurance pays for his or her injuries and damages that result from an accident regardless of who was at fault for the accident.

What is contributory negligence in a florida personal injury case?

Contributory Negligence (then) vs. Comparative Negligence (now) Also in the past, Florida courts applied the rule of contributory negligence, based on case law, in personal injury cases. Under this doctrine, a plaintiff who was only minimally responsible in some way for the accident, was completely barred from any recovery from another party.

Most Popular Search