Pennsylvania Dui Laws And Penalties

Facebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

Act 24, which lowered Pennsylvania's legal limit of alcohol from .10 to .08, was signed into law on September 30, 2003. The new Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Law creates a tiered approach toward DUI enforcement and treatment, and includes many changes to the penalties, terms of suspension, fines and other requirements.

1. Search
2. Contact Us

Preview

Posted in: Contact Lawyer, Services LawShow details

Pennsylvania DUI offenses are rated on a 3 tier system. Tier 1 offense is for a BAC level of .08% up to .099%; Tier 2 offense is for a BAC level of .10% up to .159% and a Tier 3 offense is for a BAC level of .16% or higher. The Tier system is used for every offense. Pennsylvania First Offense DUI Penalties

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

In Pennsylvania, DUI penalties can vary, and are based upon the number of times the driver has been convicted for DUI and their blood alcohol content at the time of their arrest. For a first offense, depending on your BAC, the penalties could range from six months of probation and a fine of $300 to 6 months in jail, license suspension, and a fine of up to $1,000. …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

A first time DUI offense in Pennsylvania can cost between $5,000 – $10,000. Will an Pennsylvania DUI conviction increase my auto insurance? Yes. If you are convicted of a DUI in Pennsylvania, your insurance could increase by $2,000 to $6,000. Will I have to serve jail time if I’m convicted of a DUI in Pennsylvania?

Preview

Posted in: Insurance Law, Insurance LawShow details

Pennsylvania’s DUI Law states the Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) limit is: 0.08% for general motorists 0.04% for commercial drivers 0.02% for drivers under age 21 Penalties increase based on your BAC levels, the number of times you’ve been convicted, and whether or not injuries and damages resulted from your DUI. Implied Consent

1. Estimated Reading Time: 4 mins

Preview

Posted in: Commercial LawShow details

General Impairment penalties (Undetermined BAC, .08 to .099% BAC) No prior DUI offenses ungraded misdemeanor up to 6 months probation $300 fine alcohol highway safety school treatment when ordered 1 prior DUI offense ungraded misdemeanor 12 month license suspension 5 days to 6 months jail time $300 to $2,500 fine alcohol highway safety school

Preview

Posted in: Air LawShow details

Blood alcohol content (BAC) will be the determining factor for the penalties that a convicted driver will be required to pay. The state of Pennsylvania utilizes a tiered system. For drivers under the age of 21, 0.2 (tier 1) is the minimum BAC necessary to be charged with a DUI. For adults 21 and older, the minimum BAC is 0.8. Higher tiers are

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

(1): (i) A first violation shall be a slrmmary offense with a mandatory fine of $500 and imprisonment for not less than 60 no more than 90 days. (ii) A second violation shall be a summary offense with a mandatory fine of fine of $1,000 and imprisonment for …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Pennsylvania DUI Laws and Refusal Like all 52 states, Pennsylvania is an “Implied Consent” law state. That means that in exchange for the privilege of driving in the Commonwealth, drivers agree to be subjected to chemical testing for the purpose of determining whether and how much alcohol or drugs are in their blood any time they are suspected of operating a vehicle while …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

New DUI Law Means Tougher Penalties for Certain Repeat Offenders. On October 24, Governor Wolf signed Act 153 amending the Vehicle Code to increase the penalties related to driving under the influence (DUI), driving on a license suspended after a DUI, and DUI accidents that result in death and personal injury.. The legislation targets repeat offenders by increasing the grading …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Pennsylvania DUI Laws . 05/26/2020 DUI, This is important because penalties for a second DUI offense are much more harsh than for a first DUI conviction. It also means that there may be post-conviction actions that can be taken on your behalf to reduce the penalty if you recently plead guilty to a second offense DUI. In other words, if you were convicted of a second DUI …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

In fact, anyone in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania will have access to this information, and will for the rest of your life. The specific penalties you face in your DUI case will depend on which category it falls into. Categories are based on B.A.C., which is the number the police got when they gave you a breath or blood test when you were

Preview

Posted in: Form LawShow details

Pennsylvania DUI Laws. There doesn’t need to be proof of actual impairment for a driver to be convicted of a DUI. Driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of at least .08% is considered a “per se” DUI. This threshold is lowered to .04% for commercial drivers and .02% for bus drivers and drivers under 21 years old.

Preview

Posted in: Commercial Law, Air LawShow details

Once again, a DUI arrest will result in mandatory highway safety school and substance abuse treatment. Additionally, fines from $750 to $5,000 could be imposed. If you have two previous offenses, you will be charged with a 1st degree misdemeanor and your license will be automatically suspended for eighteen months.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

If it is your first DUI offense, you will be put on probation for up to six months, pay a $300 fine, and be ordered to complete traffic safety school. But penalties get much more severe from there. For instance, you could be sentenced to as much as two years in prison if it is your third or successive offense.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

The specific set of penalties that you will face depend on the type of DUI you are being charged with. If you are being charged with a General Offense DUI (.08% – .099% BAC) for the first time, you could be facing: Up to 6 months of probation $350+ in fines and fees Mandatory highway alcohol safety school

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Overview of the penalties upon conviction of DUI in Pennsylvania. Pennsylvania DUI Laws, BAC limits, fines, jail times, IID requirements, suspension/revocation periods and SR22 insurance requirements for first time and repeat offenders with multiple DUI's.. If you've been charged with DUI in Pennsylvania, the law allows only 10 days for a Pennsylvania DUI Lawyer to make a …

Preview

Posted in: Insurance Law, Insurance LawShow details

Please leave your comments here:

Related Topics

New Popular Law

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the penalty for a dui in pennsylvania?

Drinking and Driving Laws in Pennsylvania. If your BAC was from .10-.159 you will receive from 30 days-6 months in prison, a $750-$5,000 fine and a 12 month drivers license suspension. If your BAC was above .16 you will face between 90 days-5 years in prison, a fine of $1,500 and a 18 month drivers license suspension.

Were you charged with a second dui in pennsylvania?

If you have been charged with a second DUI offense in Pennsylvania, please call 1-866-MCSHANE now for a free, detailed consultation. We know the law. We know the science. We want to help you. PA DUI attorney Justin J. McShane is the President/CEO of The McShane Firm, LLC - Pennsylvania's top criminal law and DUI law firm.

What are the different types of dui offenses in pennsylvania?

Pennsylvania divides most DUI offenses into three categories for sentencing: "general impairment," "high rate," and "highest rate." Drivers with a BAC of at least .08% but less than .10% will face the following penalties,

Can i be charged with a dui without a bac in pennsylvania?

While prosecuting a DUI without chemical BAC results is significantly harder, it can and is done all the time in Pittsburgh and across Pennsylvania. If you are found or plead guilty to the DUI charges, enhanced Refusal Penalties will be added to your sentence.

Most Popular Search