Passenger Vehicle Traction Law Colorado

Facebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

1. During winter storms, or when conditions require, CDOT will implement the Passenger Vehicle Traction Law. CDOT can implement the Passenger Vehicle Traction and Chain Laws on any state highway. During a Traction Law, all motorists are required to have EITHER: 1. 4WD or AWD vehicle and 3/16” tread depth 2. Tires with a mud and snow designation (M+S icon) and 3/16” tread depth 3. Winter tires (mountain-snowflake icon) and 3/16” tread depth 4. Tires with an all-weather rating by the manufacturer and 3/16” tread depth 5. Chains or an approved alternative traction device Traction Law Updates In 2019, Gov. Jared Polis signed House Bill 19-1207 into law, updating the Traction Law. What’s Changed? 1. From Sept. 1 to May 31, the Traction Law is always active on I-70 from Dotsero to Morrison. 2. The minimum tread depth for tires on all vehicles increased to 3/16”. These updates are meant to alleviate delays and crashes along this corridor during the peak winter driving season. Electronic signs
2. During severe winter storms, CDOT will implement the Passenger Vehicle Chain Law. This is the final safety measure before the highway is closed. When the Passenger Vehicle Chain Law is in effect, every vehicle must have chains or an approvedalternative traction device.

Preview

Posted in: Colorado traction law 2021Show details

Fines Motorists driving with inadequate equipment when a Passenger Vehicle Traction Law or Chain Law is in effect could be fined more than $130. If a …

1. Estimated Reading Time: 3 mins

Preview

Posted in: Colorado traction law pdfShow details

As the lesser of the two levels, Traction Law requires all passenger vehicles to have at least one (1) of the following: snow tires, tires with mud/snow designation, 4WD/AWD, or chains/alternative traction devices. Regardless of which of the above items a vehicle has, tire tread must be at least 1/8 inch. Passanger Vehicle Chain Laws

Preview

Posted in: Colorado tread depth winter lawsShow details

• Requires all motorists to comply with the Traction Law on I-70 between Dotsero and Morrison from Sept. 1 through May 31. • Violators will be given a citation, which comes with a $100 fine and $32 surcharge. That jumps to a $500 fine with a $156 surcharge if a violation results in the closure of one or more traffic lanes.

Preview

Posted in: Colorado traction law requirementsShow details

Passenger Vehicle Traction Law Colorado. Collected from the entire web and summarized to include only the most important parts of it. Can be used as content for research and analysis. Home Blog Pro Plans B2B solution Login. Advanced searches left . 3/3. Search only database of 7.4 mil and more summaries

Preview

Posted in: Colorado snow chains lawShow details

Fact Sheet -Traction Law and Passenger Vehicle Chain Law. Traction Law (Code 15) - Use George's Head to Check Your Tread. If weather conditions require, CDOT will implement a Traction Law. Under a Traction Law, motorists will need to have either snow tires, tires with the mud/snow (M+S) designation, or a four-wheel/all-wheel drive vehicle - all tires must have a …

Preview

Posted in: Colorado chain and traction lawShow details

Drivers operating a vehicle that doesn’t meet the minimum requirements when a Traction Law or Passenger Vehicle Chain Law is in effect could be charged a minimum fine of $130. If your car gets stuck and blocks the roadway as the result of inadequate equipment, you may be hit with a fine that exceeds $650. How to prepare

Preview

Posted in: Colorado passenger chain lawShow details

When the Passenger Vehicle Chain Law is in effect, every vehicle on the roadway must have chains or an alternative traction device (like AutoSock). Fines Drivers in violation of the law could be

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Traction Law (Code 15) During an active Traction Law , motorists must have either snow tires, tires with the mud/snow (M+S) designation, or a four-wheel/all-wheel drive vehicle. The legislation

Preview

Posted in: Sea LawShow details

Passenger Vehicle Chain Law (Code 16) During severe winter storms, CDOT will implement a Passenger Vehicle Chain Law, also known as a Code 16 — this is the final safety measure before the highway is closed. During a Passenger Vehicle Chain Law, every vehicle on the roadway is required to have chains or an alternative traction device (like

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Per the Colorado Department of Transportation (CDOT), an active traction law requires all motorists to have one of the following: 4WD or AWD vehicle and 3/16” tread depth. Tires with a mud and snow designation (M+S icon) and 3/16” tread depth. Tires with an all-weather rating by the manufacturer and 3/16” tread depth.

Preview

Posted in: Transportation Law, Sports LawShow details

Under a Passenger Vehicle Chain Law, every vehicle on the roadway is required to have chains or an alternative traction device (like AutoSock). When either of these laws are in effect, motorist can be fined more than $130 for not having proper equipment or more than $650 if …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

With the ski season just underway, this is a great time to review the Passenger Traction and Chain Laws. Colorado has two laws designed to keep travelers safe, traffic moving, and roads open — the Passenger Traction Law (Code 15) and the Passenger Vehicle Chain Law (Code 16).When issued, the Traction Law requires motorists to have snow tires, …

Preview

Posted in: Sea LawShow details

Here’s everything you need to know about traction laws around the state. An active traction law requires motorists to have either snow tires, tires with the mud/snow (M+S) designation, or a four-wheel/all-wheel-drive vehicle. All tires must have a minimum of three-sixteenths inch tread. Chains may also be required during severe wintry weather.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

The law, signed by Gov. Polis in May 2019, said vehicles need to either have snow tires or carry some sort of traction device (like chains or tire socks) at …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Section 2 CCR 601-14-3.00 - Passenger Vehicle Traction Law 3.01 Passenger Vehicles are vehicles having a GVWR or GCWR less than 16,001 pounds casetext.com. New 2019 Colorado Passenger Vehicle Traction Law - AutoSock. Apr 07, 2021 If the full passenger chain law

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Traction Law (Code 15) - Use George's Head to Check Your Tread If weather conditions require, CDOT will implement a Traction Law.Under a Traction Law, motorists will need to have either snow tires, tires with the mud/snow (M+S) designation, or a four-wheel/all-wheel drive vehicle - all tires must have a minimum 3-16th inch tread.; Passenger Vehicle Chain Law (Code 16) - …

Preview

Posted in: Transportation Law, Sports LawShow details

Please leave your comments here:

Related Topics

New Popular Law

Frequently Asked Questions

What are colorados passenger traction and chain laws?

With the ski season just underway, this is a great time to review the Passenger Traction and Chain Laws. Colorado has two laws designed to keep travelers safe, traffic moving, and roads open — the Passenger Traction Law (Code 15) and the Passenger Vehicle Chain Law (Code 16).

What are the laws for traveling in colorado?

Colorado has two laws designed to keep travelers safe, traffic moving, and roads open — the Passenger Traction Law (Code 15) and the Passenger Vehicle Chain Law (Code 16).

When does traction law come into effect in colorado?

Traction Law may be activated or remain in effect long after the typical “winter months” have passed. Colorado Department of Transportation (CDOT) has 3 levels of road safety measures in the mountains and on all interstate and state highways: Traction Law (Code 15), Passenger Vehicle Chain Law (Code 16), and full out road closures.

What are colorados snow laws for drivers?

Colorado has two laws designed to keep travelers safe, traffic moving, and roads open — the Passenger Traction Law (Code 15) and the Passenger Vehicle Chain Law (Code 16). When issued, the Traction Law requires motorists to have snow tires, tires with mud/snow (M+S) designation, or a four-wheel/all-wheel drive vehicle.

Most Popular Search