Pa State Police Megans Law Offenders

Filter Type: All Time Past 24 Hours Past Week Past monthFacebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

Listing Results Pa State Police Megans Law Offenders

5 hours ago Pennsylvania's Megan's Law, 42 Pa.C.S § 9799.32(1) and § 9799.67(1) , requires the State Police to create and maintain a registry of persons who reside, or is transient, work/carry on a vocation, or attend school in the Commonwealth and who have either been convicted of, entered a plea of guilty to, or have been adjudicated delinquent of

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Megan's law offenders in paShow details

7 hours ago Registration. Pennsylvania State Police Megan's Law Section. 42 Pa. C.S. § 9799.32 (1) and § 9799.67 (1) authorizes the Pennsylvania State Police to create and maintain a state registry of sexual offenders, Sexually Violent Deviate Children, and …

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Megan's law registration paShow details

2 hours ago Megan’s Law 42 Pa.C.S. § 9791 (updated April 2009) § 9791. Legislative findings and declaration of policy A. LEGISLATIVE FINDINGS.—It is hereby determined and declared as a matter of legislative finding: 1. If the public is provided adequate notice and information about sexually violent predators and certain other offenders, the community

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Megan's law checking paShow details

9 hours ago PENNSYLVANIA'S MEGAN'S LAW is essentially an adjunct to the NATIONAL MEGAN'S LAW that was put into effect by then President Bill Clinton in 1996. In 1995 then Governor of Pennsylvania, Tom Ridge, introduced legislation to protect the citizens of Pennsylvania from the threat of registered sex offenders living within the State.

Estimated Reading Time: 3 mins

Preview / Show more

Posted in: psp megan's law searchShow details

4 hours ago There are over approximately 7100 active registered sex offenders in the state of Pennsylvania. Of those, at least 275 reside in Dauphin County. Sex Offenders and Sexually Violent Predators must register for at least ten years to life. Sexual Offenders can be viewed on the Megan's Law website listed below. They are referenced by county.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Megan's law pspShow details

866-771-3170

Just Now To report a sexual offender who is out of compliance with his or her registration requirements, visit the Pennsylvania State Police Megan’s Law website and click the “Submit a Tip” button on the offender’s page. Tips may also be submitted via telephone by calling 1-866-771-3170 or 1-855-791-1990.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: psp megan's law listShow details

(412) 596-8124

Just Now The Pennsylvania State Police is currently reviewing registrant files and will change your registration. If you are currently registered as a sex offender, were convicted before December 20, 2012, and would prefer to have your registration changed before the PSP completes its review, call (412) 596-8124 to discuss your options.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Pa megan's law pspShow details

9 hours ago Megan’s Law. Megan’s Law in Pennsylvania. Megan’s Law is an informal name for laws in the United States requiring law enforcement authorities to make information available to the public regarding registered sex offenders. Individual states decide what information will be made available and how it should be disseminated.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form LawShow details

1 hours ago Pennsylvania Sex Offender Registry. The Pennsylvania Sex Offender’s Registry is Known as the Pennsylvania Megan’s law website. The state police manage the registry and update information on sex offenders in real time. Visit the website to find sex offenders living in your neighborhood.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form LawShow details

1 hours ago Recap of 2017 Megan’s Law Changes. In Pennsylvania, it is mandated under Megan's Law that those convicted of certain offenses, most sexual offenses such as rape and indecent assault, must register with the state police, among other requirements.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

2 hours ago Pennsylvania Sexual Offender Registration Law - Legislative History. 42 Pa.C.S.A. Section 9799, et seq (PDF) (new law, codified in Pennsylvania Consolidated Statues Annotated) Act 111 (PDF) (original law passed December 2011, replacing the previous Megan's Law) Act 91 (amending Act 111, passed July 2012) Agencies.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Pdf LawShow details

866-771-3170

6 hours ago Megan’s Law for Pennsylvania updated 11/11/2020 Contact Person: Sgt. Orvis E. Rowles, Jr., Commander, Megan’s Law Section, Bureau of Records and Identification 1-866-771-3170, Fax (717) 705-8839. Offenders Required to Register: An individual convicted of a …

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Contact LawyerShow details

1 hours ago Government that Works. Help keep people safe in their communities and on Pennsylvania's roads

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Government Law, Sea LawShow details

4 hours ago However, since 2004, all registered sex offenders have had their names, identities, and addresses available to the public through the state’s Megan’s Law Website. Megan’s Law has come under fire in recent years. In 2017, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court ruled parts of the law unconstitutional, causing the law to be amended again in 2018

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Constitutional LawShow details

1 hours ago In other words, all sexual offenders and sexually violent predators in the state of Pennsylvania are obliged to register following Megan’s Law. Certain out-of-state offenders are also subject to the same registration requirements.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

8 hours ago The Pennsylvania Megan's Law website, accessible at this link, allows people to search the database for offenders by name, or by municipality where he or she lives and works, or by county, ZIP

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Sea LawShow details

2 hours ago SORNA (Megan's Law) Pennsylvania’s version of Megan’s Law was originally enacted in 1995. The law has been modified several times. The law requires the Pennsylvania State Police to maintain a registry of adult and juvenile sex offenders who have been convicted of certain offenses. Sex Offenders are required to register on regular basis and

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Juvenile LawShow details

2 hours ago Megan’s Law Registration Requirements and Penalties. This blog will focus on Pennsylvania State Police Megan’s Law, requirements, triggering offenses, and compliance violation penalties. 42 Pa. C.S. § 9799.1 authorizes the Pennsylvania State Police to create and maintain a state registry of offenders and sexually violent predators.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

1 hours ago AR 9-30 8/16/2019 -1- SEXUAL OFFENDER REGISTRATION 30.01 PURPOSE In accordance with Title 42, Judicial Code, Chapter 97, Subchapters H and I, this regulation enumerates Department policies and procedures governing the registration and, when warranted, the …

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

3 hours ago statutory cite for Megan's Law is 42 Pa.C.S. § 9791 et seq. Q: What state agency is responsible for maintaining the registry? A: The Pennsylvania State Police, Megan's Law Section, is responsible for updating the information on every offender included within the website. Updates are posted within

File Size: 42KB
Page Count: 8

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form Law, University LawShow details

6 hours ago County Detectives assigned to this unit actively investigate incidents of alleged non-compliance, and prosecute these offenders when it is determined the offender failed to follow the provisions of the law. If you suspect that an offender listed on the Pennsylvania State Police Megan’s Law Website is in violation of the law, please contact

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Contact LawyerShow details

866-771-3170

Just Now Anyone with a tip can also call the Megan’s Law Section at 1-866-771-3170. As of December 2, 2015, there were 145 offenders with an active arrest warrant for failing to comply with the registration requirements. Pennsylvania’s rate of sexual offender non-compliance or absconded offenders is 1.83%, which is well below the national average.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

2 hours ago The Bradford Township Police encourage all residents to be aware of sexually violent predators living and working in our community. Pursuant to the provisions of Pennsylvania's Megan's Law, 42 Pa.C.S. § 9791 et seq., the Pennsylvania State Police have established a website to provide timely information to the public on registered sex offenders who reside, attend school, are …

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form LawShow details

3 hours ago Registration. Pennsylvania law requires offenders who committed sexually violent offenses after December 20, 2012, and were later convicted of these offenses, to register for a period of 15 years (Tier 1), 25 years (Tier 2) or life (Tier 3) based on their crime of conviction. Please see the SOAB home website page for a list of all sexually

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

1 hours ago The landmark Pennsylvania law that for nearly a quarter century has required a public registry of sex offenders and community notification about their whereabouts is facing a life-or-death challenge before the state’s highest court. Enacted nearly 25 years ago, Megan’s Law was hailed as a pivotal step toward making communities safer by

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Just Now The landmark Pennsylvania law that for nearly a quarter of a century has required a public registry of sex offenders and community notification about their whereabouts is facing a life-or-death challenge before the state’s highest court. Enacted nearly 25 years ago, Megan’s Law was hailed as a pivotal step toward making communities safer by

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

5 hours ago the time of his charges, the first version of Megan’s Law2 was in effect. Megan’s Law II3 was in effect at the time of his convictions. Under Megan’s Law II, formerly 42 Pa. C.S. §9795.2(a)(1), offenders “shall be required to register … with [PSP] upon release from incarceration, upon parole from a State or county correctional

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form LawShow details

Just Now Megan’s Law Tier Classification. September 4, 2019 by Jason A. Volet. In 1994, New Jersey passed Megan’s Law. The law provides additional consequences for those convicted of sex crimes, including a requirement to register as a sex offender. Aggravated sexual assault and criminal sexual contact are among the crimes that could require you to

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Contact Lawyer, Criminal LawShow details

Just Now Pennsylvania State Police want to find sex offenders who are considered non-compliant under Megan's Law. Call your local police if you have a tip about any of these people.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

1 hours ago Pennsylvania’s Megan’s Law web site can be accessed by visiting here. Pennsylvania's Megan's Law, 42 Pa.C.S § 9799.32 (1), requires the Pennsylvania State Police to create and maintain a registry of persons who reside, or is transient, work/carry on a vocation, or attend school in the Commonwealth and who have either been convicted of

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form LawShow details

7 hours ago The Pennsylvania Legislature may well consider amending the state statute to address the status of homeless offenders within the meaning of Megan’s Law, the court said. The case is Commonwealth v.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Family LawShow details

5 hours ago If an offender convicted before December 20, 2012 decides to notify the Pennsylvania State Police of a change to the information via mail, the updated information must be received by the Pennsylvania State Police Megan's Law Section within three business days of the change.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form Law, Business LawShow details

Just Now Pennsylvania adopted its version of Megan's law in 1995. Since late 2004, state police have maintained a Web site listing sexual predators and sexually violent predators. Lt. Janet A. McNeal, who directs the state police's Megan's Law office, said troopers double-check the data filed in offender reports.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

9 hours ago The Megan's Law sex offender registration and community notification provisions were signed into law on October 31, 1994 (chapters 128 and 133 of Public Laws of 1994). These provisions are set forth in New Jersey law at N.J.S.A. 2C:7-1 through 2C:7-11. The law establishing the Megan's Law sex offender Internet registry was signed on July 23

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

1 hours ago Megan's Law is a series of sex-offender registries named after 7-year-old Megan Kanka, who was raped and murdered July 24, 1994, in Hamilton Township, New Jersey, by Jesse Timmendequas, a neighbor

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

9 hours ago Megan’s Law was instituted to help protect individuals from being assaulted by a known sexual offender. While there’s little that can be done to prevent assaults from a new offender, the government determined there was a way to keep track of existing offenders and provide valuable information to anyone who may come in contact with them.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Contact Lawyer, Form LawShow details

4 hours ago Megan’s Law requires states to establish registration programs so local law enforcement can keep tabs on sexual offenders released into their jurisdiction, and so the public can find out about sexual offenders who live in their neighborhood. Tier Classifications Under Megan’s Law. Pennsylvania Governor Tom Ridge signed Megan’s Law in 1995

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

866-771-3170

7 hours ago other duties required under the new law. It is intended for individuals who are on the registry prior to December 20, 2012 and are subject to the new law. a social justice organization advocating on behalf of If you have any questions, contact your attorney or the Megan’s Law Section of the Pennsylvania State Police at 1-866-771-3170

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Contact LawyerShow details

3 hours ago In 1995, Pennsylvania adopted Megan’s Law, which required offenders convicted of certain sex crimes to register information (such as their name and home address) with the Pennsylvania State Police and to have their photograph and other identifying information posted on the public Megan’s Law website.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form LawShow details

9 hours ago Welcome to the California Department of Justice Megan’s Law Website where California is embracing technology to enhance community safety. This website provides information on registered sex offenders pursuant to California Penal Code § 290.46 so that members of the public can better protect themselves and their families. The information on this site is extracted …

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form LawShow details

Just Now The PSP Megan’s Law Website contains information regarding registration requirements, sexual offender classifications and includes a searchable database of offenders. Failing to comply with the registration requirements is a felony offense in Pennsylvania and may result in additional jail time. Registrants are required to report to the PSP

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form Law, Sea LawShow details

2 hours ago State police have been dealing with a notification backlog tied to the Adam Walsh Act, which required that some 12,500 Megan's Law registrants in the state register with state police between Dec

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

7 hours ago Offenders. Pennsylvania. Our database shows there are 22,766 registered sex offenders in Pennsylvania. View the photos, address, physical description and more details of each registered offender in Pennsylvania. Mappable Unmappable. List.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

4 hours ago Office of Children, Youth and Families. Office of Community Services. Office of Developmental Supports. Current Providers. Prospective Providers. Solicitations (RFP/RFQ/RFI) Archive. Solicitations (RFP/RFQ/RFI) Contract Monitoring.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Support Law, Contract LawShow details

877-442-7552

5 hours ago Start Calling. 24-Hour Sex Crimes Hotline. 1-877-4-HARK-LAW (1- 877-442-7552) At Hark and Hark, our criminal and professional license defense lawyers understand how Megan’s Law affects the rights of convicted and registered sex offenders. We also handle cases for people charged with sex crimes who need to know how other laws designed to

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Criminal LawShow details

3 hours ago There are over approximately 7100 active registered sex offenders in the state of Pennsylvania. Of those, at least 275 reside in Dauphin County. Sex Offenders and Sexually Violent Predators must register for at least ten years to life. Sexual Offenders can be viewed on the Megan's Law website listed below. They are referenced by county.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

3 hours ago The law cast a wider net on the crimes that require registration — adding 11 offenses — and forced many offenders to register for a longer period and update their information more frequently.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form LawShow details

Filter Type: All Time Past 24 Hours Past Week Past monthFacebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

Please leave your comments here:

New Popular Law

Frequently Asked Questions

What is pennsylvanias megans law?

The PENNSYLVANIA MEGAN'S LAW allows sentencing courts to impose life sentences on those sexually violent offenders who are deemed to be "predators." PENNSYLVANIA'S MEGAN'S LAW also requires sex offenders and sexually violent predators to register with the Pennsylvania State Police.

Where can megans law registered sex offenders live in pennsylvania?

In most cases, a Pennsylvania Megan's Law registered sex offender or sexually violent delinquent child could be your next door neighbor, and you don't even know. The law does not restrict where a sexual offender or a sexually violent predator may live in Pennsylvania.

Do sex offenders have to register with the pennsylvania state police?

The State of Pennsylvania requires sex offenders, as per PENNSYLVANIA'S MEGAN'S LAW to register with the State Police Department for a period of time upon their release from prison.

Who is required to register under megans law?

Sexual Offenders and Sexually Violent Predators are required to register under Pennsylvania's Megan's Law. A Sexual Offender is a person who has been convicted of an offense listed under 42 Pa.C.S.A. ? 9795.1.

Most Popular Search