Pa Cdl Dui Laws

Facebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

The normal minimum BAC rate for a DUI in Pennsylvania is .08. However, for a CDL driver while in a commercial vehicle the rate drops to .04. Furthermore, a BAC between .04 and .159 is treated as a “High Rate” DUI which is the second tier, normally for those who have a BAC between .10 and .159. This means that a CDL driver will be facing

Estimated Reading Time: 2 mins

Preview

Posted in: Pa cdl dui lawsShow details

Penalties For Violating Pennsylvania CDL DUI Laws. In the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, the operator of a non-commercial motor vehicle is considered drunk if their blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08 percent or above. However, if you hold a CDL and were operating a commercial vehicle, the BAC threshold is lowered to .04 percent.

Estimated Reading Time: 4 mins

Preview

Posted in: Cdl dui lawShow details

Most drivers in Pennsylvania are only charged with drunk driving when they get behind the wheel with blood alcohol concentrations of .08% or higher. Truck drivers are charged with DUI if they have BACs of .04% or higher, and school bus drivers are arrested for drunk driving if toxicology tests reveal their BACs to be .02% or higher.

Preview

Posted in: Cdl license dui lawsShow details

.08 DUI Legislation Act 24, which lowered Pennsylvania's legal limit of alcohol from .10 to .08, was signed into law on September 30, 2003. The new Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Law creates a tiered approach toward DUI enforcement and treatment, and includes many changes to the penalties, terms of suspension, fines and other requirements.

Preview

Posted in: Dui laws in paShow details

Most drivers in Pennsylvania are only charged with drunk driving when they get behind the wheel with blood alcohol concentrations of .08% or higher. Truck drivers are charged with DUI if they have BACs of .04% or higher, and school bus drivers are arrested for drunk driving if toxicology tests reveal their BACs to be .02% or higher.

Preview

Posted in: Truck LawShow details

Dui With A Cdl – Bac Level. For the average driver to be charged with a DUI in Pennsylvania they have to have a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of .08% or higher. Those with a CDL are held to a much higher standard. The legal limit for a driver with a CDL is .02% BAC. Anything over .02% (one drink only) could mean losing your license.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

CDL DUI Penalties in Pennsylvania. If you plead or are found guilty (conviction) of a 1st DUI while you are a CDL holder, you will be sentenced to: At least 2 days to 6 months incarceration. From $500 to $5,000 in fines. Personal DL suspension of 12 months, plus. CDL suspension of 12 months; Or plus. CDL suspension of 3 years if HazMat involved.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Each day, millions of people across the U.S. get out of bed and start their workdays as commercial drivers. They bring kids to school in buses, haul goods across the country in semi-trucks and operate

Preview

Posted in: Commercial Law, Truck LawShow details

The legal BAC limit is lower for commercial drivers who are driving a CMV. In all states, it's illegal to operate a CMV with a BAC of .04% or more. The .04% BAC limit is required by federal law. However, some states have even stricter laws that set the BAC limit lower for certain CDL holders or contain prohibitions related to controlled substances.

Preview

Posted in: Commercial LawShow details

Not in Pennsylvania when you are driving your personal vehicle. However beware, one of the most unfair law on the books in PA. If you are accepted into a ARD program where a license suspension may be reduced to 30 or 60 Days and even if you are driving your personal vehicle, your CDL license will be suspended for one year for a first offense and life …

Preview

Posted in: Air LawShow details

There are a lot of “complexities” with laws involving DUI’s and Attorney Shrager is well-informed and prepared to explain the new law and to help clients with a DUI charge. He offers his personal cell phone number to all clients: 412-969-2540. You can also give his office a call: 412-261-6198. www.shragerdefense.com.

Preview

Posted in: Form LawShow details

The legal limit for CDL holders driving a commercial vehicle in Pennsylvania is incredibly low. A BAC of no more than .02 is the max. That’s a full 75% lower than the legal limit for non-commercial drivers or when you are in a non-commercial vehicle. At that rate, you could be considered over the limit after drinking a single beer. Wow.

Preview

Posted in: Commercial LawShow details

Should you be convicted for the first time of a DUI in Pennsylvania and carry a CDL, the penalties you can incur are as follows: Anywhere from two days to six months in jail. $500-$5,000 in charges. Personal license suspension: at least 12 months for your non-CDL license. Commercial License suspension: at least 12 months for CDL and three years

Preview

Posted in: Commercial LawShow details

dui charges with a cdl in pa If you have a Commercial Drivers’ License (CDL) it is most likely also your how you make a living and support yourself or your family. Because CDL drivers are professionals who have received specialized training, they are held to a higher standard than the average driver when behind the wheel of a vehicle.

Preview

Posted in: Support Law, Commercial LawShow details

For a free initial consultation to learn more about a CDL DUI and CDL disqualification, please call the Law Offices of Michelle A. Fioravanti at 484-876-1543 or contact us. As your Pennsylvania license suspension lawyer, we will provide experienced and aggressive representation you …

Preview

Posted in: Contact LawyerShow details

A CDL can also be subject to certain restrictions. For example, a driver under 21 years old has a "K" restriction, prohibiting out-of-state travel. CDL Testing. Application process. Generally, to obtain a CDL in Pennsylvania, an applicant must be at least 18 years old and first apply for a commercial driver learner's permit (CDLP).

Preview

Posted in: Commercial LawShow details

Pennsylvania’s stricter DUI laws come courtesy of Senate Bill 961, which picked up overwhelming votes of assent in both houses of the state legislature, passing the House 184-1 and the Senate 45-4.The governor signed the bill into law on October 24th, 2018, and there is a lot you need to know about Pennsylvania’s DUI laws in 2020.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Please leave your comments here:

Related Topics

New Popular Law

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the dui laws for cdl drivers in pa?

As you can see, the laws for CDL drivers in a commercial vehicle in PA are quite strict. And the penalties are similarly harsh. A first offense CDL DUI while in a commercial vehicle conviction in Pennsylvania will bring you: a jail term ranging from two days to six months.

What is the bac limit for a cdl driver in pennsylvania?

The legal limit for CDL holders driving a commercial vehicle in Pennsylvania is incredibly low. A BAC of no more than .02 is the max. That’s a full 75% lower than the legal limit for non-commercial drivers or when you are in a non-commercial vehicle.

Can a 21 year old get a cdl in pa?

For example, a driver under 21 years old has a "K" restriction, prohibiting out-of-state travel. Application process. Generally, to obtain a CDL in Pennsylvania, an applicant must be at least 18 years old and first apply for a commercial driver learner's permit (CDLP).

What is the legal limit for a dui in pa?

.08 DUI Legislation. Act 24, which lowered Pennsylvania's legal limit of alcohol from .10 to .08, was signed into law on September 30, 2003. The new Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Law creates a tiered approach toward DUI enforcement and treatment, and includes many changes to the penalties, terms of suspension, fines and other requirements.

Most Popular Search