Muffler Law In California

Facebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

In summary, all cars and other motor vehicles in California must be equipped with a muffler, and any exhaust modifications must not be designed to increase the exhaust noise above 95 dbA. Full California exhaust noise laws can be …

Preview

Posted in: California modified car lawsShow details

Sections 27150-27159 of the California Vehicle Code Division 12 outlines what is required of the exhaust system. The sections indicate that …

1. Estimated Reading Time: 4 mins

Preview

Posted in: California legal motorcycle exhaust systemsShow details

Before the new law, known as AB 1824, entered into effect, California drivers of motor vehicles other than motorcycles were not permitted …

1. Estimated Reading Time: 3 mins

Preview

Posted in: Motorcycle exhaust laws in californiaShow details

In the the video above, the officer states, since January 1, 2019, it is no longer a correctable offense to have an excessively loud exhaust – it is simply a $1000 fine. The fine is accompanied by a mandatory trip to the California Buerau of Automotive Repair (BAR) to be inspected, after the repairs are made.

1. Estimated Reading Time: 7 mins

Preview

Posted in: California exhaust lawsShow details

California Ends Automatic Fines for Loud Vehicle Exhausts With New Law The bill restores the "fix-it" ticket system in place before the aggressive fines were introduced in 2018.

Preview

Posted in: Modified exhaust lawsShow details

Mufflers California muffler laws include the following: Exhaust systems can’t be modified in a way that increases or amplifies the amount of sound that the vehicle makes beyond that produced by factory equipment. Vehicles (except for motorcycles) with a gross vehicle weight less than 6,000 pounds must produce sound that is 95 decibels or less.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

What is the exhaust law in California? In California, the legal limit for automobile exhaust noise is 95 dbA. Officers can "use their discretion" in deciding if your exhaust noise exceeds the legal limit. Even on powerful sports vehicles, most factory-installed exhaust systems do not surpass 75 decibels. Thus, you should not be arrested for a noise violation if the police officer does not

Preview

Posted in: Sports LawShow details

That means police can hit you with a modified exhaust ticket and you’ll have to pay what I presume is the full fine amount of $200 each time. Base fines for a modified exhaust are just $25 but tack on all the court fees and total fine amount is around $200. So, you can either pay the fine or go to court to contest the validity of the ticket.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Today I discuss the new exhaust law in California, AB 1824, of which many people in the car community are worried about.*CLIP CREDITS IN DESCRIPTION*Online P

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Muffler & Exhaust System Sound Laws – No Standards For Maximum Noise . Unfortunately, there is no national law that vehicle owners and exhaust manufacturers can reference to make sure their systems aren’t too loud. Instead, every vehicle owner or exhaust system installer must know their local laws. In some states, such as California, the maximum …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

As you can see, it only deals with industrial establishments and doesn’t include modified motorbikes with loud mufflers, so owners of these bikes do not violate any law—yet.. A recently filed bill however, seeks to criminalize the practice. Dubbed the Muffler Act of 2016, the bill seeks to ban motorcycles and all sorts of vehicles, both public and private, from using any …

Preview

Posted in: Criminal LawShow details

Apparently the new, now in effect, modified exhaust law affects all California registered cars, bikes, and trucks, and their California licensed drivers/riders. It's no longer a fix-it ticket. I hear it's a $1000 fine and you have to take it to some kind of …

Preview

Posted in: Truck LawShow details

California's anti-tampering law (Vehicle Code section 27156) makes it illegal to alter any emission-related part or accessory on any pollution-controlled vehicle, and both street (since 1979) and off-road vehicles (since 1997) are subject to this regulation. While vehicles classified as competition vehicles do not have to meet emission standards, they also cannot be driven …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

california passed a new law, that took effect this month raised price on loud pipes, i have a older perrin muffler and it is loud. after being checked out by a CHP thurs. i think i need a MD whisper to avoid this costly ticket. which i think is $ 283.00 . …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

What’s up guys, in today’s video we’re going to break down California’s “new” exhaust law and the new fine that’s got everyone on the internet in an uproar. What’s up guys, in

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

The amendment to the law went into effect at the beginning of the year, but there’s still a lot of confusion around California’s recent exhaust noise law changes. Automotive enthusiasts in California have been left wondering if the modifications they made a few months ago (as in last year) might cost them crazy fines, while those in other states have been …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

California's Laws Regarding Modified Exhaust: A Perspective. It has come to the attention of Bob's Muffler that some California police officers are issuing summonses to California drivers who have aftermarket exhausts on their vehicles. Bob's Muffler feels this unfairly targets the people who chose to purchase our products for legal use on the streets and public highways of …

Preview

Posted in: Air LawShow details

Please leave your comments here:

Related Topics

New Popular Law

Frequently Asked Questions

Are mufflers illegal in california?

Keep in mind California smog laws or other legislation may still make your custom exhaust modifications illegal. All vehicle exhaust systems must have mufflers. Any bypass, cutouts, and especially whistle tips are not permitted. What happens if I get ticket for too loud exhaust?

What are californias exhaust noise laws?

In summary, all cars and other motor vehicles in California must be equipped with a muffler, and any exhaust modifications must not be designed to increase the exhaust noise above 95 dbA. Full California exhaust noise laws can be found in California Vehicle Code § 27150 – 27159 – Exhaust Systems. Below we highlighted two most relevant sections.

What does the law say about mufflers?

The law clearly states “27150. (a) Every motor vehicle subject to registration shall at all times be equipped with an adequate muffler in constant operation and properly maintained to prevent any excessive or unusual noise, and NO MUFFLER OR EXHAUST SYSTEM SHALL BE EQUIPPED WITH A CUTOUT,BYPASS,OR SIMILAR DEVICE.”

Is it legal to have a muffler in florida?

Florida legal exhaust noise summary: Florida prohibits vehicles from producing any excessive or unusual noise. Laws require vehicles exhaust systems to be equipped with muffler, manifold pipe, and tailpiping at all times while in operation.

Most Popular Search