Motorcycle Laws In Washington State

Facebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

The current minimum fine for riding a motorcycle in Washington without an endorsement is $386. Additionally, authorities can impound a motorcycle if it is operated on roadways without the required endorsement. This helpful video shows the skills needed to obtain a Washington State motorcycle endorsement.

Estimated Reading Time: 7 mins

Preview

Posted in: Washington state motorcycle helmet lawsShow details

The Revised Code of Washington (RCW) § 46.04.330 defines a motorcycle as: " [A] motor vehicle designed to travel on not more than three wheels, not including any stabilizing conversion kits." In addition, a motorcycle must also have a seat or saddle and handlebars for steering.

Email: mailto:[email protected]

Preview

Posted in: Washington state scooter license requirementsShow details

The full penalty for riding without a license will now cost $386, with all fees considered. The logic is pretty clear. Part of this has to do with Washington state’s Target Zero highway safety

Email: [email protected]
Estimated Reading Time: 3 mins
Occupation: Daily News Writer

Preview

Posted in: Motorcycle laws by stateShow details

Motorcycles should, also, not exceed the strict decibel limits put in place by Washington State law. In short, motorcycles should be no louder than 78 dBA when traveling under 45 miles per hour and no louder than 82 dBA at speeds above 45 miles per hour. Loud sounds can be dangerous around jumpy drivers, so make sure your motorcyle is up to code.

Estimated Reading Time: 4 mins

Preview

Posted in: Motorcycle helmet law washingtonShow details

Riders in Washington State may not lane split which is riding their bike between lanes or rows. Motorcyclists may use a full lane or share the lane with one other motorcycle. One seat, one rider. There should only be one rider per seat. Passengers may ride in an attached side-car or on a saddle seat. Noise restrictions.

Preview

Posted in: Motorcycle laws by state chartShow details

(a) for any person to operate a motorcycle, moped, or motor-driven cycle not equipped with mirrors on the left and right sides which shall be so located as to give the driver a complete view of the highway for a distance of at least two hundred feet to the rear of the motorcycle, moped, or motor-driven cycle: provided, that mirrors shall not be …

Preview

Posted in: Rcw motorcycle rulesShow details

1. Get a motorcycle license endorsement. All motorcycle riders are required to have a motorcycle endorsement on their driver’s license (RCW 46.20.500). There are two ways to obtain a Washington motorcycle endorsement.
2. Register your motorcycle. Before you can take your bike out on the road, you must register it with the Washington State Department of Licensing. Be sure to bring these items with you when you go to register your bike
3. Red Light Law. In Washington, if a cyclist is stopped at a red light that doesn’t turn green because the motorcycle doesn’t trigger it, the cyclist can proceed through after one cycle of the light.
4. Helmet Law. A helmet is required to be worn when operating a motorcycle, scooter or moped (RCW 46.37.530). Riding any two-wheeled vehicle with an engine triggers the helmet law.
5. Check your bike gear. Be sure to check that your bike has the following safety features
6. Rules of the road. Motorcycle riders must obey all the rules of the road, just like drivers. This includes traffic signals, yield signs, and instructions by the police.
7. Do a sound check on your bike. Washington Administrative Code (WAC) §173-62-030 prohibits excessively loud motorcycles. Your bike cannot exceed a sound level of over 78 dBA at speeds of 45 mph or less; and over 82 dBA for speeds over 45 mph.
8. Do not ride with more than two abreast. Washington laws prohibit riding more than two abreast. Riding solo or riding with two abreast is legal but riding three or more abreast is illegal.
9. Passing Stop-and-Go traffic. Riding in between lanes (lane splitting) is not allowed and is illegal. If you are in heavy stop-and-go traffic you cannot split lanes to pass the backed-up traffic (RCW 46.61.110 & 46.61.115).
10. Motorcycle insurance required. Starting July 27, 2019 motorcycles must carry $25,000 in bodily injury liability insurance, $50,000 bodily injury liability for two or more people, and $10,000 property damage liability insurance.

Preview

Posted in: Washington state motorcycle insurance lawShow details

RCW 46.61.608 Operating motorcycles on roadways laned for traffic. (1) All motorcycles are entitled to full use of a lane and no motor vehicle shall be driven in such a manner as to deprive any motorcycle of the full use of a lane. This subsection shall not apply to motorcycles operated two abreast in a single lane.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

RCW 46.37.525 Motorcycles and motor-driven cycles — Tail lamps, reflectors, and stop lamps. (1) Every motorcycle and motor-driven cycle shall have at least one tail lamp which shall be located at a height of not more than seventy-two nor less than fifteen inches.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Motorcycles on Roadway Law RCW 46.61.608 Operating motorcycles on roadways. (1) All motorcycles are entitled to full use of a lane and no motor vehicle shall be driven in such a manner as to deprive any motorcycle of the full use of a lane. This subsection shall not apply to motorcycles operated two abreast in a single lane.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

December 5, 1984. Honorable George Walk. State Representative, 25th District. 11607 ‑ 98th Avenue East. Puyallup, Washington 98373. Cite as: AGO 1984 No. 29. Dear Sir: By its enactment of § 2, chapter 215, Laws of 1983 (since codified as RCW 46.61.687) the legislature imposed a requirement that young children riding as passengers in a motor

Preview

Posted in: Children LawShow details

Find a motorcycle or sidecar/trike training school near you, and learn about the different types of training courses. Motorcycle Safety Program. Learn how the Motorcycle Safety Program and the Motorcycle Safety Education Advisory Board promote safe motorcycle riding in Washington. Check the status of a motorcycle endorsement

Preview

Posted in: Education LawShow details

The monetary base penalty for driving a motorcycle without an endorsement is $48, with up to $136 total after fees and assessments. Under the new state rule, motorcyclists face an additional

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Ø Washington Motorcycle Eye Protection Law: When riding on or operating a Washington motorcycle you are required by law to wear eye protection unless the Washington motorcycle is equipped with a windscreen. RCWA 46.37.530. 46.37.530. Motorcycles, motor-driven cycles, mopeds, electric-assisted bicycles—Helmets, other equipment--Children--Rules

Preview

Posted in: Children LawShow details

Washington state's mandatory auto and motorcycle insurance law Washington state's mandatory liability insurance law (leg.wa.gov), which is under the authority of the Washington State Department of Licensing (www.dol.wa.gov) , requires anyone who drives a motor vehicle or a motorcycle (effective July 28, 2019) in our state to do one of the

Preview

Posted in: Insurance Law, Insurance LawShow details

Motorcycle laws vary from state-to-state, so it's important to be aware of the different laws while traveling. Here are the 6 most common motorcycle laws you should know to stay above the law while riding, with accompanying maps to act as a visual guide.

Estimated Reading Time: 10 mins

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

In Washington State, motorcycles must be equipped with the following: -A mirror on the left and right side that ensures the rider can see at least 200 feet to the back of the bike and beyond. -A windshield (except if the rider is wearing approved safety glasses, goggles, or a …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Please leave your comments here:

Related Topics

New Popular Law

Frequently Asked Questions

Is it legal to ride a motorcycle in washington?

Literally. Only licensed riders complying with state motorcycle laws can legally operate a motorcycle in Washington. Following Washington motorcycle laws is about more than just getting a license.

Do you need a license to ride a 49cc scooter in washington?

Scooters 49ccs and under simply require a valid Washington state driver’s license. What is the penalty for riding a motorcycle without an endorsement in Washington? The current minimum fine for riding a motorcycle in Washington without an endorsement is $386.

How much motorcycle insurance do i need in washington state?

Washington law states that all drivers, including motorcyclists, must carry insurance. Motorcycle insurance needs to meet the established minimum coverage limits. Individuals must carry $10,000 in property damage per accident. In addition, bodily injury liability of $25,000 per person, $50,000 for two or more people, is necessary.

What is the fine for not having a motorcycle endorsement in washington?

The current minimum fine for riding a motorcycle in Washington without an endorsement is $386. Additionally, authorities can impound a motorcycle if it is operated on roadways without the required endorsement. This helpful video shows the skills needed to obtain a Washington State motorcycle endorsement.

Most Popular Search