Missouri School Attendance Law

Facebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

1. Section 167.031, RSMo, states that any parent, guardian or other person having custody or control of a child between the ages of seven (7) and the compulsory attendance age for the district, must ensure that the child is enrolled in and regularly attends public, private, parochial, home school or a combination of schools for the full term of the school year. 1. The term "compulsory attendance age for the district" shall mean seventeen (17) years of age or having successfully completed sixteen (16) credits towards high school graduation in all other cases. 2. Children between the ages of five (5) and seven (7) are not required to be enrolled in school. However, if they are enrolled in a public school their parent, guardian or custodian must ensure that they regularly attend.

Preview

Posted in: Ny state school attendance lawsShow details

Public School Laws of Missouri. Missouri Revised Statutes by Chapter. Chapter 160 Schools--General Provisions. Chapter 161 State Department of Elementary and Secondary Education. Chapter 162 School Districts. Chapter 163 State Aid. Chapter 164 Tax Levies and Bonded Indebtedness. Chapter 165 Budget and Current Financing.

Preview

Posted in: Missouri compulsory attendance lawShow details

a parent, guardian or other person in this state having charge, control, or custody of a child between the ages of seven years of age and the compulsory attendance age for the district shall cause the child to attend regularly some public, private, parochial, parish, home school or a combination of such schools not less than the entire school

Preview

Posted in: Mandatory school attendance lawShow details

1. A referral packet must be completed using the NON-ATTENDANCE REFERRAL FORM. (Choose between the fill-out-before-printing (DOC) or print-only(DOC) versions.) Include the requested documentation. Prior to calling the Hotline, you should at least have the Non-Attendance Referral Form filled out, as it will assist you in answering the questions you will be asked. Child Abuse Hotline 1-800-392-3738 The Hotline relays the report to the local Children's Division. The Children's Division will contact the school to discuss the report and request the referral packet. The Children's Division will then assess to determine if the non-attendance is due to educational neglect or truant behavior beyond control of the parent/guardian. Cases found to be educational neglect will be handled by the Children's Division with possible referral to the Clay County Children's Justice Center for further assistance. Cases found to be truant behavior beyond the control of the parent/guardian may be referred to t

Preview

Posted in: Contact Lawyer, Form LawShow details

2021-2022 Mizzou Law is an exceptional value and offers one of the most affordable legal educations in the country. The Missouri resident tuition rate for the 2021-2022 academic year is $724.40 per credit hour and $1,346.40 per credit hour for non-Missouri residents. *Tuition for first year law students is based on 30 credit hours.

Preview

Posted in: Education Law, University LawShow details

Length of School Year and Days. Students in Missouri have the opportunity to enroll at public, private, parochial, parish, and home schools or a combination of the above. State law requires compulsory school attendance between the ages of seven years and the compulsory attendance age for a given school district. Mo. Rev. Stat. §167.031.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

16 Missouri requires attendance until 17 or the completion of 16 credits toward high school graduation. 17 A child between 5 and 7 years old in Missouri may be excused from attendance at school if a parent or guardian submits a written request. 18 In Montana, attendance is required until students are 16 or complete 8th grade.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

School Laws 2021-04-01T13:26:28-05:00 School Laws MSBA’s school attorneys provide board members and superintendents information regarding current school law and court decisions.

Preview

Posted in: Form LawShow details

Revised Statutes of Missouri, Missouri law . 211.031. Juvenile court to have exclusive jurisdiction, when — exceptions — home schooling, attendance violations, how treated. — 1. Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, the juvenile court or the family court in circuits that have a family court as provided in sections 487.010 to 487.190 shall have exclusive original …

Preview

Posted in: Juvenile Law, Family LawShow details

a parent, guardian or other person in this state having charge, control, or custody of a child between the ages of seven years of age and the compulsory attendance age for the district shall cause the child to attend regularly some public, private, parochial, parish, home school or a combination of such schools not less than the entire school

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

The school board of a metropolitan school district for which the compulsory attendance age is seventeen years may adopt a resolution to lower the compulsory attendance age to sixteen years; provided that such resolution shall take effect no earlier than the school year next following the school year during which the resolution is adopted. 7.

Preview

Posted in: Education LawShow details

📘 Read Now 📥 Download. eBook details. Title: By the Numbers: Minimum Attendance Laws and Inequality of Educational Opportunity in Missouri, 1865-1905 (CHAPTER 5) (Report) Author : American Education History Journal Release Date : January 01, 2007 Genre: Education,Books,Professional & Technical, Pages : * pages Size : 223 KB Description. In The …

Preview

Posted in: Education LawShow details

Free Online Library: Appeals court: school-attendance law is unambiguous'. by "Missouri Lawyers Media"; Business, regional News, opinion and commentary Printer Friendly 26,884,972 articles and books

Preview

Posted in: Business Law, Media LawShow details

This act modifies the definition of "weighted average daily attendance" as used in the education funding formula to mean the average daily attendance plus the product of .275, rather than .25, multiplied by the free and reduced price lunch pupil count that exceeds the free and reduced price lunch threshold, plus certain other factors set forth

Preview

Posted in: Form Law, Education LawShow details

167.071. School attendance officers in seven-director districts, powers and duties-powers of police officers in certain areas 167.091. Truant or parental schools, establishment-attendance may be compelled-neglected children, attendance-support payments 167.111. Officials to enforce compulsory attendance law 167.115.

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview

Posted in: Support Law, Children LawShow details

Loyola Law School CA $57,230 $18,090 29 U. of California-Davis out-of-state CA $56,974 $14,809 30 American University DC $56,724 $18,360 31 Tulane University LA $56,572 $14,550 32 Pepperdine University CA $55,890 $17,500 33 Indiana U.-Bloomington out-of-state IN $55,338 $12,972 34 Boston University MA $55,076 $13,775 35 Brooklyn Law School NY

Preview

Posted in: University LawShow details

Learn about charter schools in Missouri. Home schooling Under Missouri law, any family may choose to home school. Online Virtual Schooling A number of Missouri students are not able to attend their local “brick and mortar” schools for medical reasons, or they are involved in special activities or are presently outside of the state.

Preview

Posted in: Family Law, Medical LawShow details

Please leave your comments here:

New Popular Law

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the attendance laws in the state of missouri?

Missouri Laws 167.031 – School attendance compulsory, who may be excused — nonattendance, penalty — … 167.031. School attendance compulsory, who may be excused — nonattendance, penalty — home school, definition, requirements — school year defined — daily log, defense to prosecution — compulsory attendance age for the district defined.

What is the legal age to go to school in missouri?

Students in Missouri have the opportunity to enroll at public, private, parochial, parish, and home schools or a combination of the above. State law requires compulsory school attendance between the ages of seven years and the compulsory attendance age for a given school district.

How much does it cost to go to mizzou law?

Mizzou Law is an exceptional value and offers one of the most affordable legal educations in the country. The Missouri resident tuition rate for the 2021-2022 academic year is $724.40 per credit hour and $1,346.40 per credit hour for non-Missouri residents.

Why choose mizzou law?

With alumni working in every county in Missouri, in 50 states and in 23 countries around the world, Mizzou Law prepares students for career opportunities within the state of Missouri, throughout the Midwest and beyond.

Most Popular Search