Minnesota Drinking Laws

Facebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

A complete listing of all Minnesota liquor laws and rules can be found at: revisor.mn.gov. A hard copy is also available for purchase from the State of Minnesota, Department of Administration; Print Communications Division: 651-297-3000. CONTACTS Main Number: 651-201-7500 or dps.mn.gov/divisions/age Alcohol: Retail license and identification card 651-201-7507 …

1. File Size: 1MB
2. Page Count: 28

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview

Posted in: Contact LawyerShow details

1. Minnesota alcohol laws prohibit driving while impaired. Its definition of impairment is the broadest and most and subjective in the U.S. The source of the impairment may be from any of the following. 1. Having a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher. 2. Being under the influence of alcohol or drugs. 3. Having any Schedule I or II drug, except marijuana, in the body. 4. Knowingly being under the influence of a hazardous substance that substantially impairs driving abilities. The
2. Estimated Reading Time: 7 mins

Preview

Posted in: Air LawShow details

In Minnesota, it is a crime to sell or furnish alcohol to a minor. A first-time offender faces up to 90 days in prison, a fine of up to $1,000, or both. Offenders who commit a second violation face a fine of up to $3,000, and may be sent to prison for up to one year.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

‘Zero tolerance laws’ target underage drivers who imbibe alcohol. In Minnesota, young drivers may not test at any BAC - .00 percent or more – without incurring DUI penalties. If a driver tests at .20 percent or more over the legal limit of .08 percent, or refuses to comply with chemical testing, enhanced penalties are available to the courts.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

It is against the law for an adult to furnish (give or sell) a person under the age of 21 with an alcoholic beverage. Minnesota law makes no distinction between selling alcohol to a minor or simply giving it to them. And the consequences can be sever… Read More Underage Drinking Driving a2Minnesota laws are tough on underage drinking and driving.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Let Minneapolis Criminal Attorney Anderson Law Firm Represent You. Our team at Anderson Law Firm is here to help you navigate this stressful time. Don’t take on a Minnesota underage drinking charge without legal guidance; schedule your free case evaluation and consultation today by calling our office at (952) 582-2904 anytime, day or night.

Preview

Posted in: Criminal LawShow details

Although the current state standard for the legal concentration of alcohol allowed in a driver’s system is 0.08, it wasn’t alwasys that low. In fact, Minnesota was one of the last states to lower their standard to 0.08. Today, we take a look at the history of blood alcohol concentrations and drunk driving laws in Minnesota.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

This law extends to rental tenants and roommates as well—even if the roommate was not home at the time—provided he or she had knowledge of the party and that there would be underage drinking but did nothing about it. Thus, the liability extends not just for knowing about and condoning the gathering but also where the defendant should have known. Criminal Penalties. …

Preview

Posted in: Criminal LawShow details

Three new drinking laws spur college students to political action. According to Minnesota Public Radio, college students in St. Joseph, Minn. were surprised when three new laws went into effect in their town. The three are detailed in this report … Continue reading → May 11, 2013 · 4 Comments. Enough said. Why Americans have the right to remain silent: This quote from an U …

Preview

Posted in: Colleges LawShow details

Legal Question & Answers in Criminal Law in Minnesota : legal drinking age in MN Is it true that legally you can be served an alcoholic

Preview

Posted in: Criminal LawShow details

2020 Minnesota Statutes 325D.71 UNLAWFUL GASOLINE SALES. Any offer for sale of gasoline by a retailer by way of posted price or indicating meter that is below cost, as defined by section 325D.01, subdivision 5, clause (3), is a violation of section 325D.04, except that the criminal penalties in section 325D.071 do not apply.

Preview

Posted in: Criminal LawShow details

Underage consumption of alcoholic beverages is regulated by Minnesota State Statute 340A.503. It is an affirmative defense to the charge of underage consumption that the beverage was consumed in the parent's home with the parent's consent.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

By: Rebecca Pirius, Attorney In Minnesota, it's a misdemeanor to consume alcohol or possess an open container of alcohol in a vehicle that's on a public road. Unlike with a driving while intoxicated (DWI) charge, the open bottle (also called "open container") law applies even if the driver is sober. This article provides an overview of the open bottle law's prohibitions and …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Note: It's now legal in Minnesota to order alcohol online! Head over to Drizly for same-day delivery of beer, wine, and/or liquor delivered to your door! Grocery/Liquor Store (Off-Premise) Sale Hours: Monday to Saturday: 8:00am to 10:00pm Sunday: 11:00am to 6:00pm Laws in Neighboring States: Wisconsin's Laws: Iowa's Laws: Sunday restrictions: Minnesota now …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

6. Despite its unofficial nickname the “Land of 10,000 Lakes,” Minnesota actually has 11,842 lakes. 7. Minnesota’s lakes were created by melting glaciers. 8. Like Judy Garland, “Peanuts” creator Charles Schulz was also born in Minnesota. 9. “L’Étoile du Nord” is Minnesota’s motto, which means “star of the north.”.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Session Laws Keyword Search Current Session Laws Minnesota identification card, or other form of identification by a person under the age of 21 years for the purpose of purchasing or attempting to purchase an alcoholic beverage. If proven by a preponderance of the evidence, it shall be an affirmative defense to a violation of clause (1) that the defendant is the parent or …

Preview

Posted in: Form Law, Sea LawShow details

Minnesota Statute 340A.801, subdivision 6, allows only *civil* actions against a social host over the age of 21 who knowingly provides alcohol to someone under age 21.

Preview

Posted in: Criminal Law, Civil LawShow details

Please leave your comments here:

Related Topics

New Popular Law

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the legal drinking age in mn?

("Underage" refers to persons under 21—the legal drinking age in Minnesota.) Not-a-drop. Minnesota makes it a crime for a person under the legal drinking age to drive a vehicle while having any amount of alcohol in the body. This law is commonly referred to as the "Not-a-Drop" law.

What is the legal blood alcohol concentration in minnesota?

Although the current state standard for the legal concentration of alcohol allowed in a driver’s system is 0.08, it wasn’t alwasys that low. In fact, Minnesota was one of the last states to lower their standard to 0.08. Today, we take a look at the history of blood alcohol concentrations and drunk driving laws in Minnesota.

Can a minor buy alcohol in mn?

Minor May Purchase Alcohol for Training, Education, or Research. A minor in Minnesota may buy or attempt to buy alcohol if it is purchased for training, education, or research purposes, but only if the minor is under the supervision of a responsible person at least 21 years old, with prior notification to the state agency...

What happens if you get caught drinking alcohol in minnesota?

Adults who knowingly contribute to violations of the state’s liquor laws can be charged with a misdemeanor and face up to 90 days in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. Minnesota liquor establishments can accept a driver’s license, a state ID card, a military ID or a passport as proof that you are of legal drinking age.

Most Popular Search