Michigan Police Scanner Law

Facebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

The Scanner Law requires that when a consumer is charged more than the displayed price, the seller may avoid a lawsuit by paying the buyer an amount equal to the difference between the displayed price and the price charged, plus an amount equal to ten times that difference with a minimum of $1.00 and a maximum of $5.00.

Preview

Posted in: Form Law, Consumer LawShow details

If an automatic checkout system charges you more than the price displayed for an item, and: 1. the transaction has been completed; and 2. you have a receipt indicating the item purchased and the price charged for it; Then: You must notify the seller that you were overcharged, within 30 days of the transaction, either in person or in writing.

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

The item scans at the regular price, not on sale. The customer is due $0.20 for the item overcharge, but is not due the fine because the item was not marked or did not scan higher than the price marked. When the Michigan Scanner Law will NOT apply Prices are hand-rung at the register and a scanning device is not used.

Estimated Reading Time: 4 mins

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

The scanner law requires stores to clearly display the price for most items on the store shelves – any item, not only food items. This may be by a sign, electronic reader, price sticker or any other method that clearly and reasonably shows the consumer the price. The price must also be displayed where the item is located.

Estimated Reading Time: 3 mins

Preview

Posted in: Consumer LawShow details

Michigan price scanner Bill of Rights The new Shopping Reform and Modernization Act, or Scanner Law, requires that most items on store shelves display a price; by signage, electronic reader, price sticker, or any other method that clearly and reasonably conveys the cost to a consumer in the store at the place where the item is located.

Preview

Posted in: Form Law, Consumer LawShow details

Until September 2011, Michigan had the strictest retail pricing law in the nation. It required individual price tags on virtually every item being sold in any retail establishment. The Michigan unit pricing law, in effect since 1978, was meant to protect consumers from being overcharged by automatic scanners in checkout lines.

Preview

Posted in: Consumer LawShow details

First, the Scanner Law requires that, “within 30 days after purchasing a consumer item, a buyer who suffers loss because the price charged for the item is more than the price displayed for that item shall notify the seller in person or in writing that the price charged is more than the price displayed for that item.” MCL 445.319 (2).

Preview

Posted in: Consumer LawShow details

455. Location. Wyandotte, Michigan, USA. Apr 30, 2010. #11. imported post. The law was changed a few years back and anyone who is not committing a crime or other wise restricted by the statute may possess on their person or in their vehicle a radio to receive police calls. See the statue posted earlier in this post.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

(1) A person shall not knowingly charge or attempt to charge for a consumer item a retail sale price exceeding the price required to be indicated pursuant to section 3. It shall not be construed to

Preview

Posted in: Consumer LawShow details

HB4544 has passed the house and is winging its way to the Senate. The new law will criminalize the use of a scanner to commit a crime or use of the information received from a scanner to commit a crime. Below is a link to the text. Please contact the Michigan Senate to voice your opinions of the proposed changes to MCL750.508b if you wish.

Preview

Posted in: Contact Lawyer, Form LawShow details

Michigan May 20, 2008 #7 Scanner in Vehicles The date is 1992 and it is worded exactly like the old state law, in fact it mentions permits issued by the state police. They no longer issue permits sinc eit is no legal. I would say they haven't updated their law to reflect the new state law. You could always call them. Les bsrepellant said:

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Instead of providing civil fines and punishment, if a store overcharges you, Michigan law requires the retailer to refund you the amount of the overcharge, plus 10 times the difference, not to be less than $1 and no more than $5.

Preview

Posted in: Civil LawShow details

The Law Offices of Hanflik M. Hanflik 1380 Linden Road Flint, Michigan 48532. 810-720-4000. [email protected]

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

SCANNER LAWS What you will find here is a collection of links relating to scanner use. Michigan residents and visitors will want to be aware of Michigan law, since Michigan is one of seven states with laws currently in place. Michigan Compiled Law 750.508 (See Below For Complete Text) Mobile Scanner & RADAR Detector Laws In The US

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Please leave your comments here:

Related Topics

New Popular Law

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the changes to the michigan scanner law?

If you were familiar with the Michigan Scanner Law in the past, the terms were updated in 2011. The most notable change is that stores are required to display the price of items offered for sale in the store at the place where the item is located, but are no longer required to individually mark the price on the item itself (no price tags).

What is the scanner law?

The Scanner Law permits the price to be displayed by signage, electronic reader, or any other method that clearly conveys the price to a consumer when in the store at the place where the item is located. This Consumer Alert provides information in response to questions about pricing requirements and scanner overcharge rights under the Scanner Law.

What is the law on price display in michigan?

The current Michigan state law requires that the price of most items in stores be displayed “by any method that clearly and reasonably conveys the price in the store at the place where the item is located.” If a consumer is charged more than the price displayed, the law gives them specific rights.

What is scanscanner error bill of rights?

Scanner Error Bill of Rights The Shopping Reform and Modernization Act, or Scanner Law, requires that most items on store shelves be clearly displayed with the price; by signage, electronic reader, price sticker, or any other method that clearly and reasonably conveys the price to a consumer in the store at the place where the item is located.

Most Popular Search