Michigan Personal Watercraft Laws

Facebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

Rules & Regulations. A comprehensive handbook defining Michigan's boating laws and regulations, navigation rules, weather emergencies, encountering other vessels and much more. Find out where alcohol possession and use is limited …

1. Life Jacket Rules
2. Pet Restrictions at Boating Access Sites
3. Who May Operate a Boat
4. Alcohol Restrictions

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Personal watercraft operators in the state of Michigan, along with anyone else riding on board, must wear a USCG approved Type I, II, or III life jacket; an inflatable personal floatation device is not allowed. Being aware of the boating safety requirements for your boat, extends to personal watercrafts as well.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Secretary of State - All watercraft 20 feet and longer, and all watercraft with a permanently affixed engine (i.e. that have an inboard motor), regardless of length, must be titled. Watercraft that aren't normally titled may be titled at the request of the owner in …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Michigan Judicial Institute Page 3 Personal Watercraft Offense Types Last Updated 3/27/19 MCL 324.80217 Dealers of PWC - failure to advise buyer about boating safety courses State civil Infraction MCL 324.80218(2) Dealers of PWC - failure to provide to buyer documentation regarding PWC laws and safety features State civil Infraction

Preview

Posted in: Document Law, Civil LawShow details

(1) A person shall not operate a personal watercraft on the waters of this state unless each person riding on or being towed behind the personal watercraft is wearing a type I, type II, or type III personal flotation device as described in R 281.1234 of the Michigan Administrative Code.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

1. SPEED LIMITS 1. Slow – no wake speed within 100 feet of the shoreline, moored and anchored watercraft, pier, person, raft, swimming area, and swimmers.
2. TOWING OF PERSONS 1. No water skiing between one hour after sunset and one hour prior to sunrise. For a PWC (personal watercraft), no towing between sunset and 8:00am.
3. DISTANCE BETWEEN PERSONS BEING TOWED AND OTHER OBJECTS. Vessels and persons being towed on water skis, water sleds, etc. shall maintain a distance of 100 foot from any dock, raft, buoyed or occupied bathing areas, or vessels moored or at anchor, except when the vessel is proceeding at a slow-no wake speed or when water skiers are being picked-up or dropped off.
4. COUNTER-CLOCKWISE OPERATIONS. Persons operating vessels shall operate in a counter-clockwise fashion when it reasonably possible.
5. NOISE LEVEL OF BOATS. Motorboats are required to have mufflers or an underwater exhaust system such that it does not produce sound levels in excess of 90 dB when subjected to a stationary (neutral) sound level test of it’s engine at no closer than one meter (3.3 feet).
6. CHILDREN OPERATING MOTORBOATS 1. Persons under 12 years old operating motorboats: Have been issued a boating safety certificate and have it on board the vessel,
7. LIQUOR AND / OR CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES 1. A person who is intoxicated (as defined in the same way as for driving a car) may not operate or be in control of any vessel.
8. OPERATION OF VESSELS 1. Sailboats have the right-of-way to motorboats while they are under sail power. 2. Motorboats shall give way to non-motorized vessels.
9. RESPONSIBILITY FOR VESSEL WAKE. The owner of any vessel is personally responsible for any damage to life or property resulting from a wake or swell created by the negligent operation of the vessel, where the vessel is being operated with his consent.
10. DISTANCE FROM SCUBA DIVER’S FLAG. A vessel shall not be operated within 200 feet of a buoyed diver’s flag unless it is involved in tendering. the diving operation.

Preview

Posted in: Property Law, Children LawShow details

(1) if a person carelessly and heedlessly operates a personal watercraft upon the waters of this state in disregard of the rights or safety of others, without due caution and circumspection, or at a rate of speed or in a manner that endangers or is likely to endanger a person or property, that person is guilty of reckless operation of a personal …

Preview

Posted in: Property LawShow details

Watercraft ordinances are generally adopted in accordance with provisions of Part 801 of Act 451 of 1994, the Natural Resources and Environmental Protection Act, based on an identified safety concern or problem. For example, an ordinance could set hours for water skiing, prohibit motorboats (entirely or in certain sensitive areas), or require

Preview

Posted in: Environmental LawShow details

324.80205 Operation of personal watercraft; requirements; violation; fine; exception; accident report. Sec. 80205. (1) A person shall not operate a personal watercraft on the waters of this state unless each person riding on or being towed behind the personal watercraft is wearing a type I, type II, or type III personal flotation device as described in R 281.1234 of the Michigan

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

The Michigan Legislature passed legislation on June 26 that will require personal watercraft operators in the state to be at least 16 years of age to operate a personal watercraft unsupervised. House Bill 6014 sponsored by Rep. Ted Hammon passed the House of Representatives by 83 – 24 and then passed the Senate by 23 – 14.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Attorney Tom Sinas explains Michigan’s Boating and Personal Watercraft (PWC) laws . Go to https://sinasdramis.com/ to learn more. Connect with us: • Facebook

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

1. Drinking While Operating. Editor’s note: For the 2015 changes in Michigan’s law, please see: Michigan Boating Laws and Alcohol Limits 2015. The State of Michigan does have a legal blood alcohol level for boaters who are driving.
2. Reckless Operation. Driving recklessly is when you jeopardize the safety or rights of a person or property. Below are a few examples of what this looks like.
3. Failure to Regulate Speed. Yes, even boats have speed limits. It is illegal to operate your vessel as speeds above 55 mile per hour unless you are one mile offshore on the Great Lakes or Lake St. Clair.
4. Personal Floatation Devices. According to the Indiana Natural Resource Commission, one of the ten more violated boating laws on Lake Michigan is not having enough personal floatation devices.
5. Register Your Vessel. The last boating law we are reviewing today is another law that was included in most violated boating laws on Lake Michigan and it’s not having to vessel registered.

Preview

Posted in: Property Law, Air LawShow details

(5) A person who rents a personal watercraft from a boat livery is liable for any injury occasioned by the negligent operation of the personal watercraft, whether the negligence consists of a violation of the statutes of this state, or the failure to observe the ordinary care in operation required by the common law.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Personal Watercraft (PWC) Life Jacket Law Michigan’s life jacket laws for PWC’s require any person operating or riding on a PWC is required to wear a Coast Guard-approved, Type I, II or III life jacket. Inflatable life jackets are not permitted. Towed Sports Law

Preview

Posted in: Sports LawShow details

Michigan’s boating laws are enforced by: Michigan Department of Natural Resources law enforcement Division. County Sheriff’s Department. The Coast Guard. Other authorized law enforcement (on federal waters). Law enforcement in the state of Michigan have the authority to stop and board boats to ensure that they are in compliance with state

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Michigan law enforcement officers patrol the waterways to make your boating experience safe and pleasant. Cooperate with them by following the laws and guidelines. Carry the Card: Vessel operators who are required to have a Boater Education Card must carry the card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by an enforcement officer.

Preview

Posted in: Education LawShow details

Michigan law makes it very clear that the owner of a personal watercraft is liable for injuries whether or not they’re operating it during the accident. This means to be careful who you loan your personal watercraft out to. Always make sure it’s covered under insurance.

Preview

Posted in: Insurance Law, Insurance LawShow details

Please leave your comments here:

New Popular Law

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the regulations for a personal watercraft in michigan?

PWC Safety Regulations - Michigan. Personal watercraft operators in the state of Michigan, along with anyone else riding on board, must wear a USCG approved Type I, II, or III life jacket; an inflatable personal floatation device is not allowed. Being aware of the boating safety requirements for your boat, extends to personal watercrafts as well.

Who is liable in a watercraft accident in michigan?

Michigan law makes it very clear that the owner of a personal watercraft is liable for injuries whether or not they’re operating it during the accident. This means to be careful who you loan your personal watercraft out to. Always make sure it’s covered under insurance.

Can a person operate a pwc in michigan without a license?

A person who was born after December 31, 1978 shall not operate a PWC on Michigan waters unless they have obtained a boating safety certificate. VII. LIQUOR AND / OR CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES 1. A person who is intoxicated (as defined in the same way as for driving a car) may not operate or be in control of any vessel.

What are michigans life jacket laws for pwcs?

Michigan’s life jacket laws for PWC’s require any person operating or riding on a PWC is required to wear a Coast Guard-approved, Type I, II or III life jacket. Inflatable life jackets are not permitted. Any person being towed behind any boat is required to wear a Coast Guard-approved, Type I, II or III life jacket.

Most Popular Search