Michigan New Concealed Carry Law

Facebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

Open carry is allowed in more places than concealed carry as the restricted areas referenced in Mich. Comp. Laws § 28.425o apply to …

1. Application: Link to application
2. Processing Time: 45 days
3. Fees: Initial $100Renewals $115
4. Oregon
5. California
6. Maryland
7. Minnesota

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Michigan Gun Laws (Updated: March 5, 2022) Overview Of Michigan Concealed Carry Laws. Issuing Status: Shall Issue: Inform Law Enforcement: Yes: Honors Other States Permits: Yes : Issues Non Resident Permits: No : Prohibited Locations: Schools or school property ; Public/ private day care centers; Public/ private child caring agencies; Public/ private …

Preview

Posted in: Form Law, Property LawShow details

If you don’t have your concealed permit or ID in your possession at the time you are stopped by the police, or don’t provide both to the officer, and it’s your first offense, then you may be issued a civil infraction ticket punishable by a $100.00 fine. …

1. Estimated Reading Time: 3 mins

Preview

Posted in: Civil LawShow details

Concealed Pistol License Requirements. A. State Requirements. An applicant for a Michigan CPL must: 1. Be at least 21 years of age. 2. Be a citizen of the United States or an alien lawfully admitted into the United States. 3. Be a legal resident of Michigan and reside in Michigan for at least six months immediately prior to application.

Preview

Posted in: Media LawShow details

In Michigan, otherwise legally carried and concealed pistols are prohibited for most people at the following places under Michigan law – even if you have a CPL. These places are commonly referred to as “Gun Free Zones” but they aren’t actually gun-free. In Michigan, you might be able to carry a rifle, or open carry a pistol legally. And of course, people who don’t follow the law

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Michigan’s open carry without a permit clearly states, non-resident visitors from other states who do not have a permit from their state are not allowed to carry a weapon concealed or open carry. Only Michigan residents are lawfully allowed to open carry without a permit. Found this on the reciprocity map, selected Michigan state and read the open carry law information …

Preview

Posted in: Form LawShow details

A new ‘right to carry’ bill has been introduced in the Michigan House. If passed, the law would allow law-abiding Michigan citizens to carry concealed pistols without having to get a ‘concealed pistol’ license (CPL). Under current Michigan law, a person who has a (CPL) gun license may carry their weapon on their person concealed from plain view of others.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Prohibited Premises. Individuals licensed to carry a concealed pistol by Michigan or another state are prohibited from carrying a concealed pistol or a portable device that uses electro-muscular disruption technology on the following premises: Please refer to MCL 28.425o for the complete statutory text. Schools or school property but may carry

Preview

Posted in: Property LawShow details

If this bill becomes the law, it would do away with criminal penalties for people who carry concealed weapons without a permit. Currently, to carry a concealed weapon in Michigan, one must pay $100 for a permit application and fingerprint fee, $115 to renew the permit every four years, and a couple hundred for a gun training class.

1. Estimated Reading Time: 1 min

Preview

Posted in: Criminal LawShow details

Somehow I missed this, but Michigan’s concealed carry weapons law went into effect on Sunday, July 1. The law was passed months ago but a group had collected enough signatures to put it on the ballot in the Fall which would have suspended the bill from going into effect. But on Friday the Michigan Supreme Court ruled that the law was exempt from the …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Michigan is an open carry state, which means it’s typically legal to carry guns in plain sight. And since the state relaxed concealed weapons applications in 2001, about 6 percent of the population, more than 616,000 residents, have concealed carry permits.

1. Estimated Reading Time: 5 mins

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Michigan Passes Concealed-Carry Law. By Stoutonia Nov 27, 2017. Cece Jabs-With extra training, licensed gun owners could begin to carry concealed firearms in places like schools and churches in the state of Michigan. In light of several recent mass shootings, Michigan’s Senate voted to pass this new concealed-carry gun law. Prior to this legislation, …

1. Estimated Reading Time: 3 mins

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

State law prohibits firearms in dorms and classrooms only. Individual schools may have their own restrictions. If those restrictions carry the weight of law seems to be an ongoing debate and may vary by school. Firearms at K-12 Schools: Loaded handgun in vehicle only lawful for Michigan permittees: Magazine Capacity Limitations: No restrictions

1. Estimated Reading Time: 1 min

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Under proposed new laws, Michigan gun owners could carry concealed weapons without a license or training and gun license holders could carry loaded weapons into …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Concealed carry is legal for residents with a Michigan Concealed Pistol License (CPL) and for non-residents who are at least 21 years old and who have a concealed carry permit issued by their home state. CPLs are issued to residents only, with exceptions for some active-duty members of the military. A state-approved firearms training course with at least …

1. Estimated Reading Time: 4 mins

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Concealed Carry in Michigan Michigan's Concealed Carry Michigan's CCW permits are given on a "shall issue" basis. Finger printing is required and can cost up to $15 depending on the sheriff. The cost of the actual permit is $105. The permit is valid for 5 years. Michigan does not honor any non-resident permits from other states. Statute MCL 28.452b

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

This publication, Firearms Laws of Michigan, has been prepared by the Legislative Service Bureau pursuant to Act 381 of 2000, which requires the Bureau to “compile the firearms laws of this state, including laws that apply to carrying a concealed pistol” MCL 28.425a.

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Please leave your comments here:

Related Topics

New Popular Law

Frequently Asked Questions

Does michigan recognize concealed carry permits from other states?

Michigan recognizes resident permits from all states, regardless of the age of the license holder. Residents must have a Michigan Concealed Pistol License (CPL) in order to carry in the state. Which states honor permits from Michigan? Note: Firearms must be carried in accordance with the laws of the state you are visiting.

Can you carry a pistol in michigan without a license?

This means that the state will issue a concealed carry permit unless the applicant is not qualified. Concealed carry is legal with a Michigan Concealed Pistol License (CPL) and for individuals who have CCW licenses/permits issued by their home state.

What is the difference between ccw and cpl laws in michigan?

What is the Difference Between CCW and CPL Laws in Michigan? A CCW stands for Concealed Carrying a Weapon. Whereas CPL stands for Concealed Pistol License. CCW is a generally used term for concealed carry and can also be used to mention a permit in some states.

What does michigans new gun law change mean for you?

The measure makes a host of changes to Michigan’s weapon laws, the most polarizing of which is to repeal the requirement to have a license to carry a concealed handgun for those not otherwise prohibited from possessing one.

Most Popular Search