Massachusetts Wage Laws

Facebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

On July 1, 2018, an updated equal pay law went into effect in Massachusetts, providing more clarity as to what constitutes unlawful wage discrimination and adding protections to ensure greater fairness and equity in the workplace. The Attorney General's Office has issued guidance and resources to assist employers in complying with the law.

Preview

Posted in: Air LawShow details

Minimum wage and overtime information Mass.gov

1. Wage and Hour Laws.
2. Pay and recordkeeping.
3. Massachusetts law about wages.
4. Massachusetts law about overtime.
5. Massachusetts law about employment.
6. Massachusetts law about employee uniforms.
7. Chat or text with a law librarian.
8. Document Delivery Service Request Form.

Preview

Posted in: Form Law, Document LawShow details

Wage and Hour Laws. Massachusetts wage and hours laws say how, when, and how much workers must be paid. These laws also give workers the right to time off work and the right to know information about their employment. The Attorney General's Fair Labor Division enforces laws about minimum wage, overtime, payment of wages, sick time, meal breaks

Preview

Posted in: Form Law, Employment LawShow details

In Massachusetts, all workers are presumed to be employees. The minimum wage applies to all employees, except: • agricultural workers ($8.00 per hour is the minimum wage for most agricultural workers), • members of a religious order, • workers being trained in certain educational, nonprofit, or religious organizations, and

Preview

Posted in: Education LawShow details

Most Massachusetts employers are subject to minimum wage and overtime laws. Massachusetts minimum wage Effective Jan. 1, 2021, the Massachusetts minimum wage is $13.50 per hour. The service rate is $5.55 per hour. A 2018 law made changes to the minimum wage, and Sunday and holiday premium pay .

Preview

Posted in: Form LawShow details

The current minimum wage rate in Massachusetts is $13.50 per hour. That can be compared to the $7.25 hourly wage required under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act. When there’s a difference between federal and state laws, businesses must pay employees the higher rate. 2021 Massachusetts Labor Law Posters

Preview

Posted in: Business Law, Labor LawShow details

The Massachusetts Wage Act requires that all employees be paid within six days of the end of the payroll period, in order to be timely under the Wage Act. Most employees have to be paid weekly or bi-weekly, though there is are limited categories of employees who may be paid monthly if they agree.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Commonwealth’s wage and hour laws. With a patchwork of arcane and complex statutes that impose many non-intuitive requirements, Massachusetts laws far exceed the scope of federal law. Compounding the risks of non-compliance with these laws is the Commonwealth’s statute mandating liquidated treble damages for wage and hour violations.

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

The Massachusetts Prevailing Wage Law (M.G.L. c. 149, §§ 26–27; c. 5, § 1; c. 71, § 7A and c. 121B, § 29) Wage laws are enforced by: Office of the Attorney General

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

A Chart comparing key provisions of Massachusetts state wage and hour law and the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) for private employers. The Chart compares, for example, Massachusetts and federal minimum wage and overtime pay requirements, rules for tipped employees, required meal and rest breaks, equal pay obligations, exempt employee …

Preview

Posted in: Labor Law, Air LawShow details

Minimum Wage in Under FLSA & Massachusetts Law. The FLSA was a landmark piece of legislation for establishing a federal minimum wage rate, but that rate has been slow to rise. As of 2020, the federal minimum wage rate has only risen to $7.25 per hour in the 82 years since the FLSA was adopted by Congress. The rapidly rising cost of living in Massachusetts, …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Text of the Massachusetts Minimum Fair Wage Law is available here. Text of the state’s minimum wage regulations is available here. Wage Law Poster notice to satisfy their posting requirements under Massachusetts’ Minimum Fair Wage Law. 2 Minimum Wage Laws This guide is not intended to be exhaustive nor should any discussion or opinions be construed as …

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview

Posted in: Air LawShow details

Basically, the prevailing wage law in Massachusetts creates special minimum wages for jobs on public works projects. The law requires the Massachusetts Office of Labor and Workforce Development (“LWD”) to maintain a list of jobs that are typically performed on public works. The LWD assigns to those jobs a minimum hourly rate (which is known as the …

Preview

Posted in: Form Law, Labor LawShow details

Both federal and Massachusetts law set standards for minimum wages. Massachusetts minimum wage is higher than the federal minimum wage. Employees in Massachusetts must make at least $14.25 an hour for 2022. The minimum hourly wage is scheduled to increase one more time in 2023 to $15 an hour . There are special rules for tipped employees. Their

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

The Massachusetts Minimum Fair Wage Law requires all employees engaged in an “occupation” to be paid at least the Massachusetts minimum wage for each hour worked. The Massachusetts minimum wage in 2022 is $14.25 per hour and will increase annually by $0.75 per hour up to a minimum wage of $15 per hour by January 1, 2023. M.G.L ch. 151 §1.

Preview

Posted in: Air LawShow details

There are strict state and federal laws in place in Massachusetts that protect the rights of employees in the workplace, including their right to a minimum wage rate of $11.00 per hour, and their right to a 30-minute meal period during which they are free from all work duties.

Preview

Posted in: Employment LawShow details

Massachusetts Wage & Hour Laws Rev. 01/2017 Employees Under 18 – Child Labor M.G.L. Chapter 149, Sections 56 –105 All employers in Massachuse s must follow state and federal laws for employees who are under 18 (minors). Žese laws say when, where, and how long minors may work. Žey also say what kinds of work or tasks minors must NOT do.

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview

Posted in: Labor LawShow details

Please leave your comments here:

Related Topics

New Popular Law

Frequently Asked Questions

How much is the minimum wage in massachusetts?

Most Massachusetts employers are subject to minimum wage and overtime laws. As of 1/1/19, the Massachusetts minimum wage is $12 per hour. A 2018 law made changes to the minimum wage, and Sunday and holiday premium pay .

What is massachusettsfair wage law and regulations?

Learn more about Massachusetts' fair wage law and regulations. Most Massachusetts employers are subject to minimum wage and overtime laws. As of 1/1/19, the Massachusetts minimum wage is $12 per hour. A 2018 law made changes to the minimum wage, and Sunday and holiday premium pay .

Is there an equal pay law in massachusetts?

Massachusetts equal pay law, Mass. Attorney General. On July 1, 2018, an updated equal pay law went into effect in Massachusetts, providing more clarity as to what constitutes unlawful wage discrimination and adding protections to ensure greater fairness and equity in the workplace.

What are the massachusetts state tax laws for employers?

Both Massachusetts and federal law require mandatory deductions from employee wages for state and federal income tax withholdings, and for contributions, imposed on employees and employers, made in compliance with the Federal Insurance Contributions Act (FICA), including deductions for Social Security and Medicare.52 50 M.G.L. ch. 149, § 148

Most Popular Search