Massachusetts Private Party Lemon Law

Facebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

The Failed Inspection Lemon Law allows you to cancel a motor vehicle contract or sale and get a refund if your car fails to pass inspection within 7 days from the date of sale and the cost of repairs exceeds 10% of the purchase price. Did your new or used car fail inspection within 7 days of the date of purchase Find an inspection station near you

Preview

Posted in: Massachusetts lemon law used carShow details

The Massachusetts Lemon Laws require private parties selling used cars to inform buyers about all known defects which impair the safety or substantially impair the use of the vehicle. The law applies to all private party sales regardless of the price or mileage. Private party sellers are not required to repair the vehicle after it has been sold.

Preview

Posted in: Massachusetts auto lemon lawShow details

The Massachusetts Lemon Aid Law allows you to void or cancel a motor vehicle contract or sale if your vehicle fails to pass inspection within seven days from the date of sale AND if the estimated costs of repairs of emissions or safety related defects exceed 10% of the purchase price.

1. Reviews: 2
2. Estimated Reading Time: 10 mins

Preview

Posted in: Massachusetts lemon aid lawShow details

Individuals in Massachusetts who list their cars on sites such as craigslist or Facebook Marketplace must follow laws regarding private party sales. The seller must inform the buyer of all known defects which impair the safety or substantially impair the use of the vehicle. If the buyer discovers such a defect and can prove that the seller knew about it but failed to disclose it, …

Preview

Posted in: Form Law, Air LawShow details

The Used Vehicle Warranty Law protects consumers who buy used vehicles from a dealer or private party in Massachusetts (M.G.L. c. 90 §7N 1/4). The law requires dealers to provide consumers with a written warranty against defects that impair the vehicle’s use or safety, and requires private parties to disclose any known use or safety defects.

Preview

Posted in: Consumer Law, Air LawShow details

Used vehicles are covered by the Lemon Law if they were sold by a Massachusetts dealer or private party, cost at least $700 (for dealer sales), and had fewer than 125,000 miles when purchased (for dealer sales).

1. Estimated Reading Time: 9 mins

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

The Massachusetts Lemon Aid Law (Lemon Law) allows you to void or cancel a motor vehicle contract or sale if your vehicle fails to pass inspection within seven days from the date of sale AND if the estimated costs of repairs of emissions or safety related defects exceed 10% of the purchase price.

1. Estimated Reading Time: 8 mins

Preview

Posted in: Contract Law, Air LawShow details

Massachusetts Lemon Law Massachusetts Lemon Law Statute Section 7N1/2: Defective or malfunctioning new motor vehicles; sale and repair or replacement (1) For purposes of this section the following terms shall have the following meanings: ”Business day”, any day during which the service departments of authorized dealers of the manufacturer

Preview

Posted in: Business Law, Air LawShow details

80000-125000 - 30 day warranty or 1250 miles, whichever comes first. There are also options in pursuing your lemon law claim in Massachusetts. Megan identified what …

Preview

Posted in: Consumer LawShow details

What is especially important in a private sale are the oral (or written) representations about the vehicle that are made in the selling process because those can amount to a legal warranty in some cases. Call your local attorney bar association and ask for a referral to a local Lemon Law attorney right away. You can also check online at this

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

The used vehicle portion of the Massachusetts Lemon Law covers both dealer sales and private party sales. The state defines used vehicles as any used car, van, truck or demonstration vehicle that: Is sold by a Massachusetts dealer or private party. Cost at least $700.* OR Has under 125,000 miles on the odometer at time of sale.*

Preview

Posted in: Truck LawShow details

Massachusetts Lemon Aid Law The Massachusetts Lemon Aid Law allows buyers to void/cancel a new or used vehicle sales contract if: The vehicle fails inspection within 7 days of the purchase, AND The

Preview

Posted in: Contract LawShow details

Massachusetts Lemon Law Statute Summary of the Massachusetts Lemon Law For Free Massachusetts Lemon Law Help, Click Here Chapter 90: Section 7N – Voiding contracts of sale. Notwithstanding any disclaimer of warranty, a motor vehicle contract of sale may be voided by the buyer if the motor vehicle fails to pass, within seven days from the date of

1. File Size: 103KB
2. Page Count: 16

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview

Posted in: Contract LawShow details

Owners of defective cars in Massachusetts can take advantage of a number of consumer based laws in order to obtain assistance. In addition to the Massachusetts lemon law, M.G.L. ch 90 § 7N 1/2, there also exists a federal lemon law known as the Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act which can be used either on its own, or together with the state lemon law to assist consumers.

Preview

Posted in: Consumer LawShow details

The law also requires a food/grocery item to be sold at the lowest price indicated on an item, sign, or advertisement. Consumers should have confidence that the price their item rings up at is accurate. Every year, compliance officers from the Division of Standards conduct a pricing accuracy survey and last year overall pricing accuracy exceeded 99.3 percent—1.3percent …

Preview

Posted in: Consumer Law, Air LawShow details

For more information on Lemon Law protections is Massachusetts, please view Massachusetts Lemon Laws. If you believe you have purchased a “Lemon” car and are looking for legal representation, please call the Boston Bar Association’s Lawyer Referral Service at 617-742-0625 or connect with an area attorney online.

Preview

Posted in: Form LawShow details

The Massachusetts Lemon Laws require private parties selling used cars to inform buyers about all known defects which impair the safety or substantially impair the use of the vehicle. The law applies to all private party sales regardless of the price or mileage. Private party sellers are not required to repair the vehicle after it has been sold.

Preview

Posted in: Form Law, Air LawShow details

Please leave your comments here:

Related Topics

New Popular Law

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the massachusetts lemon laws for used cars?

The Massachusetts Lemon Laws require private parties selling used cars to inform buyers about all known defects which impair the safety or substantially impair the use of the vehicle. The law applies to all private party sales regardless of the price or mileage.

What is the lemon law and what does it cover?

The law requires dealers to provide consumers with a written warranty against defects that impair the vehicle’s use or safety, and requires private parties to disclose any known use or safety defects. When purchasing a USED car, the law covers used cars, vans, trucks, and demonstration vehicles not covered by the New Car Lemon Law, and which:

When do i need a lemon law attorney in ma?

A Massachusetts lemon law attorney is necessary when an agreement cannot be made between the car buyer and the car seller completing the car sale transaction. The state lemon law in MA gives consumers the right to proceed in court if the manufacturer refuses replacement or refund.

What is the failed inspection lemon law in florida?

The Failed Inspection Lemon Law allows you to cancel a motor vehicle contract or sale and get a refund if your car fails to pass inspection within 7 days from the date of sale and the cost of repairs exceeds 10% of the purchase price.

Most Popular Search