Massachusetts Liquor License Laws

Facebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

204 CMR 4.00: Prohibition of certain practices. 204 CMR 5.00: Ship chandlers. 204 CMR 6.00: Price posting (wholesalers) 204 CMR 9.00: Retail sale of malt beverages in kegs. 204 CMR 10.00: Discrimination by club licensees. 204 CMR 19.00: Ship regulation. 204 CMR 7.00: Special licenses. 204 CMR 20: Payment of a fine in lieu of suspension.

Preview

Posted in: Massachusetts liquor law pour time for weddingsShow details

Hospitality has many, often handling alcohol. Youths want to know the ages needed for serving alcohol in restaurants. For bartending. For selling alcohol to drink off-site. Massachusetts alcohol laws are specific about this. The law permit adults to serve or bartend in venues selling alcohol for on-premises drinking. They also permit adults to

1. Estimated Reading Time: 4 mins

Preview

Posted in: Massachusetts alcohol serving lawsShow details

individuals in navigating the sometimes-complicated alcohol laws of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. This document is divided into two sections: (1) questions related to the retail alcoholic beverages industry; and (2) questions related to the state alcoholic beverages industry. Please note that anywhere a statute is cited by section number (“§”), it is …

1. File Size: 213KB
2. Page Count: 21

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview

Posted in: Mass liquor laws holidaysShow details

sometimes-complicated alcohol laws of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. This document is divided into two sections: (1) questions related to the retail alcoholic beverages industry; and (2) questions related to the state alcoholic beverages industry. Please note that anywhere a statute is cited by section number (“§”), it is referring to the Massachusetts Liquor Control Act, M.G.L. c

Preview

Posted in: Document Law, Industry LawShow details

section 25d provides that the affirmation state that the price reflected in the schedule for the product sold in massachusetts is no higher that the lowest price at which the beverage is to be sold during the calendar month covered by the schedule to any wholesaler anywhere in the country or to any state or state agency which owns and operates …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

to $2000, up to one year in jail,1 and/or loss of liquor license. This law also applies to a person over 21 years of age who purchases alcohol for a person under age 21. On July 30, 2012, the Governor approved Chapter 170 of the Acts of 2012 that amended M.G.L. c.138, §34B12. As a result, beginning October 29, 2012, alcoholic beverages licensees may reasonably rely on the …

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Law Offices of John P. Connell, P.C. In Massachusetts, a wholesaler is a person or business that purchases alcoholic beverages from manufacturers, such as breweries, wineries, and distilleries, and then sells those alcoholic beverages at a markup price to retailers, such as restaurants and liquor stores.The wholesaler occupies the middle tier of the three-tier system …

Preview

Posted in: Business LawShow details

The Massachusetts Item Pricing Law requires food and grocery stores to individually price mark most items with the actual selling price. The law also requires food and grocery merchants to sell any item at the lowest price indicated on an item, sign, or advertisement. Consumers should be pleased to know that overall pricing accuracy exceeded 99.3 percent—1.3% higher than the …

Preview

Posted in: Consumer LawShow details

204 CMR 4.00: Prohibition of certain practices. 204 CMR 5.00: Ship chandlers. 204 CMR 6.00: Price posting (wholesalers) 204 CMR 7.00: Special licenses. 204 CMR 9.00: Retail sale of malt beverages in kegs. 204 CMR 10.00: Discrimination by club licensees. 204 CMR 19.00: Ship regulation. 204 CMR 20: Payment of a fine in lieu of suspension.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

The major federal law that governs policies related to alcohol in the United States is the 21 and some can sell liquor, depending on the licenses the business has obtained. Individuals who sell alcohol in retail outlets may be significantly younger than 21 years old (e.g., cashiers in large retail stores that sell beer, wine, and liquor). Most states require that an …

Preview

Posted in: Business LawShow details

On December 4, 1984, governor Michael S. Dukakis signed a bill raising the drinking age from 20 to 21 in Massachusetts. This bill was in response to the National Minimum Drinking Age Act which would reduce federal highway funding by 10% for any state that did not adopt a …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

According to the Massachusetts Alcoholic Beverages Control Commision (ABCC), state liquor law allows open bars, but only at private events. In a 2009 advisory the ABCC defined the regulations governing what is and is not a private event. To qualify as a private event, the license holder hosting the event must be able to demonstrate to

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Individual applicants for either a pouring or off-premise license must be both a citizen of the United States and a resident of Massachusetts. Partnerships may be granted a license if each and every partner meet the same requirements. Of course, most businesses prefer to have a legal entity hold their liquor licenses due to liability risks. For

Preview

Posted in: Business LawShow details

M.G.L. Chapter 138 Section 12 has now been amended to require any Massachusetts bar or restaurant owner seeking a liquor license, to first produce evidence of a valid policy of liquor liability insurance, in minimum amounts of $250,000/$500,000, before any such liquor license may be issued. The “$250/$500” provision refers to the legislative …

Preview

Posted in: Insurance Law, Insurance LawShow details

Chapter 138: ALCOHOLIC LIQUORS. Section 1 Definitions. Section 2 Manufacture and sale of alcoholic beverages. Section 2A Sale, manufacture or possession of powdered alcohol prohibited; exceptions. Section 3 Manufacture and storage of alcoholic beverages for private use. Section 4 Licensing boards; appointments; membership.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 138, § 14 Rules for Special One Day Liquor License Section 14 Special Events Local licensing authorities may issue special licenses for the sale of wines and/or malt beverages to a responsible manager of any indoor or outdoor activity or enterprise (for profit or non-profit). Special licenses for the sale of all alcoholic beverages may …

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview

Posted in: Business LawShow details

Under Massachusetts law, restaurants in the possession of either an All-Alcoholic Beverages License or a Malt and Wine License are prohibited from allowing patrons to bring their own alcohol on to the premises, a practice widely known as “BYOB.” Yet this statewide ban is only in affect when the restaurant has an existing liquor license. Restaurants without existing liquor …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Please leave your comments here:

Related Topics

New Popular Law

Frequently Asked Questions

What are massachusettss alcohol laws?

Massachusetts alcohol laws are specific about this. The law permit adults to serve or bartend in venues selling alcohol for on-premises drinking. They also permit adults to sell alcohol in stores for drinking elsewhere.

How many liquor licenses can a grocery store have in ma?

MA has pretty wonky liquor laws, used to be an entity within the state could hold 3 liquor licenses; so 3 grocery store locations could sell beer, wine, spirits, aka 3 Stop and shops, 3 whole foods ect in the state. As of 2011 the number was increased to 5, as of 2016 it is 7 licenses, by 2020 an entity will be able to hold 9 liquor licenses. 1

Can i buy alcohol in massachusetts with an out of state license?

Out-of-state drivers licenses aren’t acceptable proof of age in Massachusetts. Therefore, out-of-state visitors can be denied the right to buy alcohol. Open containers of alcohol are illegal in vehicles. So opened bottles of alcohol must be in the trunk of a car.

What time can you sell alcohol in massachusetts?

More Massachusetts Alcohol Laws Grocery and convenience stores can sell beer and wine from 8 a.m. to 11 p.m. Monday through Saturday. Restaurants and bars can serve from 8 a.m. to 2 a.m. Monday through Saturday. No alcohol sales begin before noon on Sunday. It’s illegal to sell alcohol on any election day while polls are open.

Most Popular Search