Massachusetts Employee Break Law

Facebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

Employees working more than 6 hours get a meal break Workers have a right to at least a 30-minute meal break for each 6 hours worked in a calendar day. During their meal break, workers must be free of all duties and free to leave the workplace. This break may be unpaid. Employers may require workers to take their meal breaks.

Preview

Posted in: Massachusetts labor laws breaksShow details

Massachusetts labor law regarding breaks states that a meal is required for workers if an employee completes a 5 hour shift; if a 5-hour shift is completed, the worker must be given at least a 30-minute meal period. The worker—according to MA Labor Laws Breaks—must be at least two hours into the shift before the meal period can start.

Preview

Posted in: Massachusetts lunch and break lawsShow details

From Boston.com: “Massachusetts does not require employers to offer rest breaks other than the 30-minute lunch break…There is no federal law which requires an employer to provide rest breaks…Some bargaining agreements may require breaks during the work day.” Employers' guide to Massachusetts wage & hour law, Seyfarth Shaw, LLP, February 2019.

Preview

Posted in: Mass state law on breaksShow details

Massachusetts Law: Meal Breaks Required Most Massachusetts employers must allow employees to take a 30-minute meal break, if they will work for more than six hours. This time is unpaid, unless the employer chooses to pay employees for breaks. Some businesses aren't covered by this rule.

Preview

Posted in: Massachusetts paid time off lawShow details

If an employee works six or more consecutive hours, he or she is entitled under Massachusetts law to a 30 minute meal break. In order for this to qualify as an unpaid break, the worker must be completely relieved of his or her duties, and must be free to engage in personal activities during this time.

Preview

Posted in: Massachusetts labor laws salaried employeesShow details

Under Massachusetts law, employees are entitled to a 30-minute meal break for each six-hour period that they work. M.G.L. c. 149, s. 100 states, “No person shall be required to work for more than six hours during a calendar day without an …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Massachusetts Labor Laws. Massachusetts labor laws can be complex. The current minimum wage in Massachusetts is $12.75 per hour. The labor laws in that state require employers to pay their employees an overtime rate of one and one half their base pay whenever they work more than 40 hours in a workweek.

Preview

Posted in: Labor LawShow details

1. Meal Breaks Massachusetts law mandates that all employees (including exempt employees) receive an unpaid, thirty-minute meal break after six hours of work.19 The meal break must be the employee’s free time, meaning the employee must be relieved of all duties and free to leave the workplace during that time.20 Otherwise, the time is compensable

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Certain employers in specialized industries are exempt from the law. According to the Massachusetts Attorney General’s office, the statute requires that all employees receive a 30-minute break after six hours of working. The break may be unpaid. An employee must be free to leave the workplace during the break.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

The code of conduct provides guidance on issues including: violations of law including being arrested or convicted of a crime at work or in private life. conflict of interest - accepting gifts or compensation for something that is part of their normal job duties. giving an appearance of undue influence. disclosing confidential information

Preview

Posted in: Form LawShow details

Massachusetts laws. MGL c.93H Security breaches (unauthorized access or use of data in any format) MGL c.149, § 52C Personnel records: inspection by employee. MGL c.214, § 1B Right of privacy.

Preview

Posted in: Form LawShow details

The essential guide to federal employment laws by Lisa Guerin, Nolo, 2019. Labor and employment in Massachusetts, Lexis, loose-leaf. The manager's legal handbook by Lisa Guerin, Nolo, 2020. Massachusetts employment law, MCLE, 2 v. loose-leaf. Employment law (Massachusetts practice v.45-45A), Thomson Reuters, with supplement.

Preview

Posted in: Employment Law, Labor LawShow details

Under Massachusetts law, M.G.L. c. 149, s. 100, employers must provide employees with a thirty-minute meal break after working for six consecutive hours. Many employers provide longer breaks, such as one hour for lunch. When an employer provides an employee with any break that is longer than 20 minutes, it may be paid or unpaid.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

By Adam J. Shafran, Esq. Under Massachusetts law, employees who work more than six hours a day must be allowed at least thirty minutes unpaid time for a meal break. A violation of the meal time provision is subject to fines between $300 and $600. Employees are entitled to meal time compensation if their movement […]

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

MA law is 30 minutes unpaid for 6 or more hours of work. Employers must provide a 30-min. meal break to all employees within six hours of beginning work. Meal breaks can be unpaid. Ma. does not require rest or coffee breaks, though as a practical matter, many employers do provide a 10-15 min. break.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

In Massachusetts, employers must pay tipped employees at least $5.55 per hour in 2021. This means employers may take a tip credit of $7.95, as long as the employee's tips bring the total hourly wage up to $13.50. (For more information, see Nolo's article Tips, Tip Pooling, and Tip Credits .) When am I entitled to earn overtime?

Preview

Posted in: Form LawShow details

in this case brought under the massachusetts wage act, the employer longwood security services inc. (“longwood”) maintained a company policy pursuant to which its employees/security officers were permitted to take an unpaid thirty-minute meal break, but were required to stay in uniform, not permitted to leave their assigned location without …

Preview

Posted in: Form Law, Services LawShow details

Please leave your comments here:

Related Topics

New Popular Law

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the law on breaks at work in ma?

The law in Massachusetts states that an employer must provide a thirty-minute meal break during each work shift that lasts more than six hours. This one half-hour meal break is unpaid. In addition, Massachusetts' law does not require employers to provide any rest breaks."

What are the labor laws in massachusetts?

Massachusetts labor laws can be complex. The current minimum wage in Massachusetts is $12.75 per hour. The labor laws in that state require employers to pay their employees an overtime rate of one and one half their base pay whenever they work more than 40 hours in a workweek.

What are the penalties for violating the massachusetts lunch and break law?

The state law provides for a penalty of at least $300, but no more than $600 per violation if this law is not carried out. The Massachusetts lunch and break law does not apply in certain types of employment situations. These include “iron works, glass works, paper mills, letter press establishments, print works, bleach works, and dyeing works.”

What are massachusettsmeal period regulations for employees?

Massachusetts requires employees be provided a ½ hour lunch break, if work is for more than 6 hours. Which employees are covered by Massachusetts' meal period regulations? Massachusetts' meal break law excludes iron works, glass works, print works, paper mills, letter press establishments, and bleaching or dyeing works.

Most Popular Search