Mass Lemon Law Private Sale

Facebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

The Failed Inspection Lemon Law allows you to cancel a motor vehicle contract or sale and get a refund if your car fails to pass inspection within 7 days from the date of sale and the cost of repairs exceeds 10% of the purchase price. Learn More about Failed Inspection Lemon Law. Did your new or used car fail inspection within 7 days of the

Preview

Posted in: Massachusetts lemon law used carShow details

The Massachusetts Lemon Laws require private parties selling used cars to inform buyers about all known defects which impair the safety or substantially impair the use of the vehicle. The law applies to all private party sales regardless of the price or mileage. Private party sellers are not required to repair the vehicle after it has been sold.

Preview

Posted in: Lemon law for used carsShow details

In Massachusetts, lemon laws exist to protect you if you purchase a vehicle that has a substantial defect the manufacturer is unable to repair. This defect must substantially impair one of the following: Ability to use the vehicle. The car's market value. The safety of the vehicle. The term of protection for your new or leased vehicle is 1 year

Preview

Posted in: Massachusetts lemon aid lawShow details

The law applies to used cars, vans, trucks and demonstration vehicles not covered by the New Car Lemon Law, and which: are sold by a Massachusetts dealer or private party, cost at least $700 (dealer sales only), have fewer than 125,000 miles on the odometer when sold (dealer sales only).

Reviews: 2
Estimated Reading Time: 10 mins

Preview

Posted in: Massachusetts private car sale lawsShow details

The Used Vehicle Warranty Law protects consumers who buy used vehicles from a dealer or private party in Massachusetts ( M.G.L. c. 90 §7N 1/4 ). The law requires dealers to provide consumers with a written warranty against defects that impair the vehicle’s use or safety, and requires private parties to disclose any known use or safety defects.

1. Purchases or leases a new motor vehicle for personal, family, or household use and not to sell or lease the new motor vehicle to another person;
2. Purchases or leases less than 10 new motor vehicles a year;
3. Purchases or leases 10 or more new motor vehicles a year only if the vehicles are purchased or leased for personal, family, or household use; or

Preview

Posted in: Used car lemon law washington stateShow details

Massachusetts Lemon Law Statute Summary of the Massachusetts Lemon Law For Free Massachusetts Lemon Law Help, Click Here Chapter 90: Section 7N – Voiding contracts of sale. Notwithstanding any disclaimer of warranty, a motor vehicle contract of sale may be voided by the buyer if the motor vehicle fails to pass, within seven days from the date of

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview

Posted in: Nh lemon law used carsShow details

Lemon law for private party sale in Massachusetts I just bought a car from a private party for around 7K and only after driving it away (and sinking 1.5K into other repairs) did I find that it makes a loud whining noise above 40 MPH (didn't do any high speed test driving).

Preview

Posted in: Used car laws washington stateShow details

Private Party Car Sales. If you buy a car from a private seller in Massachusetts and discover that it’s defective, you may be able to return it within 30 days of purchase if you can prove that the seller knew about the defect but didn’t disclose it. If you bought your car from a private seller, and you discover that it has substantial

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Both the Lemon Aid Law (General Laws Chapter 90, Section 7N) and the Lemon Law (also known as the Used Vehicle Warranty Law) apply to the private sale of used cars.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

The Massachusetts Item Pricing Law requires food and grocery stores to individually price mark most items with the actual selling price. The law also requires food and grocery merchants to sell any item at the lowest price indicated on an item, sign, or advertisement.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Under the Massachusetts Lemon Laws, you may be eligible for compensation for your used vehicle if it has at least one qualifying defect that impairs its use or safety. The car must have been purchased from a Massachusetts dealer and be used for personal or family purposes (i.e. not used primarily for business).

Preview

Posted in: Business Law, Family LawShow details

Massachusetts Lemon Aid Law AKA: The Lemon Law The Massachusetts Lemon Aid Law (Lemon Law) allows you to void or cancel a motor vehicle contract or sale if your vehicle fails to pass inspection within seven days from the date of sale AND if the estimated costs of repairs of emissions or safety related defects exceed 10% of the purchase price.

Estimated Reading Time: 8 mins

Preview

Posted in: Contract Law, Air LawShow details

Are Private Sales Protected Under Lemon Law? The short answer to this question is, unfortunately, no: lemon law does not apply to private sales. A private seller that is listing and transferring a used vehicle on the market does not retain the same responsibilities that a dealership and manufacturer would.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

72 votes, 34 comments. Hi: I sold a 2007 Honda Fit with 150k miles private sale over the weekend in Massachusetts. It has been inspected 3 months …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

The date of sale; Purchase price; Buyer’s name, address, and signature; Seller’s name, address, and signature; Odometer reading . If you have additional questions, contact the Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation by calling our Consumer Hotline at (617) 973-8787, or toll-free in MA at (888) 283-3757 Monday through Friday from

Preview

Posted in: Contact Lawyer, Business LawShow details

Contact for Apply for Lemon Law arbitration. Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation. Phone. Consumer hotline Call Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation, Consumer hotline at (617) 973-8787. Open M-F 9:00am-4:30pm.

Preview

Posted in: Contact Lawyer, Business LawShow details

Cancel of sale by the consumer: Under the MA lemon law’s Failed Inspection Law, the consumer can cancel the sale, if the vehicle fails inspection within the first seven days of the purchase date, or if the estimated cost of repairs exceeds 10 percent of the purchase price. Consumers must report a failed inspection within 14 days of purchase date.

Estimated Reading Time: 7 mins

Preview

Posted in: Consumer Law, Air LawShow details

Please leave your comments here:

Related Topics

New Popular Law

Frequently Asked Questions

Is there lemon law in massachusetts?

The MA Lemon Law applies to any new car, truck, or motorcycle purchased or leased for personal or family purposes from a new-car dealer in Massachusetts. The law protects consumers whose vehicles suffer a significant defect in the first 15,000 miles or 1 year, whichever comes first, and cannot be fixed despite three or more repair attempts.

What is the lemon law?

Answer: The lemon law applies to a person who:

  • Purchases or leases a new motor vehicle for personal, family, or household use and not to sell or lease the new motor vehicle to another person;
  • Purchases or leases less than 10 new motor vehicles a year;
  • Purchases or leases 10 or more new motor vehicles a year only if the vehicles are purchased or leased for personal, family, or household use; or

More items...

What is the lemon law for new cars?

United States. Lemon law protection arises under state law, with every U.S. state plus D.C. having its own lemon law. Although the exact criteria vary by state, new vehicle lemon laws require that an auto manufacturer repurchase a vehicle that has a significant defect that the manufacturer is unable to repair within a reasonable amount of time.

What is the new york state lemon law?

The Lemon Law is a state law which is defines when a manufacturer has breached its warranty and what the victim is entitled to for such a breach of warranty. The Pennsylvania Lemon Law, New Jersey Lemon Law, and New York Lemon Law provides for a Full Refund or a Replacement Vehicle and mandatory Attorney's Fees and Costs if the consumer prevails.

Most Popular Search