Maine State Labor Law

Facebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

Training. This course is designed for human resource or benefits professionals, accountants, business owners, managers, or payroll supervisors. Labor laws can be complex. This seminar covers wage and hour laws, including minimum wage, overtime, youth employment, severance pay, equal pay, leave requirements (family medical leave, family sick

Preview

Posted in: State of maine labor lawShow details

Effective January 1, 2021, Minimum wage is $12.15 per hour. Effective January 1, 2022, Minimum wage is $12.75 per hour. See 26 MRS §663.3 for specific exemptions from the state minimum wage. * Special note: Exemptions from federal minimum wage may differ. For federal minimum wage information please contact the USDOL at 1-866-487-9243 or visit their website.

Preview

Posted in: Labor laws in maineShow details

Consults on related labor laws. Provides speakers on wage and hour issues. Provides Required Labor Posters. Provides information on Independent Contractors in Maine. Publishes Maine Employee Rights Guide and Guide to Maine Laws Governing the Employment of Minors. Title 26 Chapter 7 Maine laws governing employment practices.

Preview

Posted in: Maine state labor laws breaksShow details

2011 Labor Law Update. Minimum Wage and Tips (Public Law 2011, Ch 118)—Defines the meaning of tip, describes when minimum wage and overtime laws apply, clarifies that tip pooling is a valid practice, and eliminates the provision that directs the employer to pay the service employee by the next regular payday for tips charged to a credit card.

Preview

Posted in: Maine department of labor lawsShow details

2019 Labor Law Update. Tip Pooling effective 09.19.19 see section 2-A. Severance Pay effective 09.19.19 see sections 6, 6-A, and 9. Compensation history effective 09.19.19. School Personnel effective 09.19.19 see section 4. Prospective Employee’s SSN effective 01.01.20. Earned Paid Leave effective 01.01.21.

Preview

Posted in: Maine child labor lawShow details

11/4/2021: U.S. Department of Labor Releases Emergency Temporary Standard Requiring COVID-19 Vaccination or Testing. 10/28/2021: Claims for Unemployment Compensation, Week Ending October 23. 10/27/2021: Maine's New Fair Chance in Employment Labor Law Now in Effect. 10/22/2021: Employment Situation in Maine - September 2021.

Preview

Posted in: Maine labor law posters freeShow details

Earned Paid Leave Maine’s Earned Paid Leave law is in effect as of January 1st, 2021 (Public Law 2019 Ch. 156, “An Act Authorizing Earned Employee Leave”). This law establishes a minimum standard for paid time off in the State of Maine. Covered employers must meet this minimum standard, but the law does not require an employer to limit or reduce existing paid …

Posted in: New york state labor laws and regulationsShow details

Get a Maine all-in-one labor law poster . Instead of printing out pages of mandatory Maine and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all Maine and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for December 2017! Get All-In-One Poster Now

Preview

Posted in: Labor LawShow details

Like Maine, the majority of states have labor law regulations that require employers to pay employees on regularly scheduled paydays with a certain minimum frequency. Maine employers are required to pay most hourly employees via a regular payday, scheduled at minimum semimonthly. Payment due at regular intervals not to exceed 16 days.

Preview

Posted in: Labor LawShow details

Title 26, §601 Rest breaks. In the absence of a collective bargaining agreement or other written employer-employee agreement providing otherwise, an employee, as defined in section 663, may be employed or permitted to work for no more than 6 consecutive hours at one time unless the employee is given the opportunity to take at least 30 consecutive minutes of rest time, …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Telephone: Maine Department of Labor 621-5100. State of Maine Optional Posters. Maine Human Rights Act - Equal Employment Rights. Telephone: Maine Human Rights Commission 624-6290. Equal Pay Poster (PDF) Telephone: Maine Department of Labor 623-7900. Domestic Violence in the Workplace Poster (PDF)

Preview

Posted in: Pdf Law, Employment LawShow details

Factors Employers Must Consider. As of January 1, 2021, the minimum salary amount is $700.97 per week for exempting a worker from overtime. This is only one of the factors used in determining whether a worker is exempt from overtime under federal or state law. The duties of each worker must be considered as part of this analysis.

Preview

Posted in: Labor LawShow details

Required Maine Labor Law Posters 7 PDFS. The Maine Department Of Labor requires that these seven mandatory labor law posters be diaplayed by all employers in an easily-viewed area in the workplace. Most businesses in Maine will also need to print and post the Federal Department of Labor's mandatory labor posters in addition to these state posters.

Preview

Posted in: Pdf Law, Business LawShow details

Workers may be confused about which jurisdiction enforces other wage and hour laws. The state retains jurisdiction over most other wage and hour regulations to include leave, breaks, overtime, severance pay, vacation pay, prevailing wages and child labor. The U.S. Department of Labor may also have jurisdiction.

Preview

Posted in: Labor LawShow details

Maine Labor Law Posters - State Federal - Low Prices Labor Law Posters USA, Inc. 800-814-8321 Mon - Fri 7am - 5pm EST Maine Labor Law Posters State Federal ME Labor Law Posters only $16.95 Laminated or $12.95 Paper Set - New Minimum Wage - Effective January 1, 2021.

Preview

Posted in: Labor LawShow details

If you are a business owner, professional labor law and minimum wage law posters are available for free download from LaborPosters.org. Disclaimer: Minimum-Wage.org is a private resource website. While we do our best to keep this list of state minimum wage rates ald labor laws up to date and complete, we cannot be held liable for errors.

Preview

Posted in: Business Law, Labor LawShow details

The Equal Pay Law is a Maine equal opportunity law poster provided for businesses by the Maine Department Of Labor. This is an optional notification, so while it is recommended that businesses hang this poster if relevant to their employees, it is not required by the Department Of Labor. This poster contains information on equal pay laws in Maine.

Preview

Posted in: Form Law, Business LawShow details

Please leave your comments here:

Related Topics

New Popular Law

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the law in maine for paid time off?

Maine’s Earned Paid Leave law is in effect as of January 1st, 2021 (Public Law 2019 Ch. 156, “An Act Authorizing Earned Employee Leave”). This law establishes a minimum standard for paid time off in the State of Maine.

Do you have to print labor law posters in maine?

Therefore, in Maine, any breaks or rest periods are provided to employees at the discretion of the employer. Instead of printing out pages of mandatory Maine and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all Maine and federal posting requirements.

What are the laws about lunch breaks and breaks in maine?

However, if employers do wish to give short breaks to workers during the day, Federal law states that these must be paid breaks if they are 20 minutes or less in length. A complete presentation of federal and state laws related to lunches and breaks, as well as all other labor issues, can be found on the Maine All in One Labor Law Poster.

What are the child labor laws in maine?

This page details Maine's child labor law regulations. Employment Certificates, also known as Work Permits, are mandatory in Maine for minors under 16. The certificate must be acquired by the minor and presented to their employer to verify their ability to work before they are hired.

Most Popular Search