Maine State Inspection Rules

Facebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

Any complaints regarding inspection stations/technicians may be made through the Maine State Police Traffic Division Inspection unit by e-mail, phone (624-8935), or by writing to: Maine State Police. Traffic Division Inspection Unit. …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

The Motor Vehicle Inspection Program has been in existence for over 65 years. The primary goal of this safety program is the regulation and enforcement of the state’s 2,600 inspection stations and over 8,000 licensed inspection technicians. The Maine Motor Vehicle Inspection Manual includes the formal rules governing many facets of the

1. File Size: 1MB
2. Page Count: 208

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview

Posted in: Form LawShow details

Though the inspections are required by law, Maine placed a cap on the price of an inspection at $18.50. Pass or fail you must pay this amount or less depending what the repair facility offers. If your vehicle fails the inspection, the sticker must be cut in half to show that it failed at prior inspection.

1. Estimated Reading Time: 3 mins

Preview

Posted in: Air LawShow details

Session Law; Statutes; Maine State Constitution; Information; Ch. 15 PDF; Ch. 15 MS-Word; Statute Search; Title 29-A Contents; List of Titles ; Maine Law & Disclaimer; Revisor's Office; Maine Legislature; Title 29-A, Chapter 15: INSPECTION AND REPAIR. Subchapter 1: INSPECTION. 29-A §1751. Motor vehicle inspection 29-A §1752. Motor vehicles exempt …

Preview

Posted in: Pdf Law, Form LawShow details

VIP’s Certified Automotive Professionals will perform your Maine State Inspection 7 days a week. The cost in Maine is $12.50 per vehicle, except in Cumberland County where the cost is $18.50 (includes emissions testing).

Preview

Posted in: Form LawShow details

In Maine, inspections are required annually from the month of the last inspection. Each inspection sticker has a month that is cut from the edge of the sticker to indicate the month of the next inspection. Though the inspections are required by law, Maine placed a cap on the price of an inspection at $18.50. Pass or fail you must pay this amount or less depending …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Session Law; Statutes; Maine State Constitution; Information §1752 PDF §1752 MS-Word; Statute Search ; Ch. 15 Contents; Title 29-A Contents; List of Titles; Maine Law & Disclaimer; Revisor's Office; Maine Legislature §1751. Title 29-A: MOTOR VEHICLES AND TRAFFIC. Chapter 15: INSPECTION AND REPAIR. Subchapter 1: INSPECTION §1753 §1752. Motor …

Preview

Posted in: Pdf Law, Form LawShow details

If a licensee violates any Maine law or any rule relating to motor vehicle inspections including, but not limited to, this Chapter generally a State Police officer or an employee of the State Police designated as a Motor Vehicle Inspector may suspend the license pursuant to Maine law. The suspension shall be for a period of up to six months for the first offense. A second violation will …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

All plumbing shall be installed, maintained and comply with applicable state, and local laws, ordinances and regulations. 12-E Water Recreation Facilities. All water recreation facilities shall be maintained and comply with applicable State Rules relating to Public Swimming Pools and Spas. Chapter 13: Inspections. 13-A Establishing Inspection

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

The state police are trying to tell the inspection stations that if my truck passed last year then there is no reason, no law changes that should cause it to fail for a non stock exhaust. Its passed for 9 years with the exact same exhaust. The state is very picky about pulling license's so the stations have always been very picky, but now there not taking any chances with a few …

Preview

Posted in: Form Law, Truck LawShow details

Though the inspections are required by law, Maine placed a cap on the price of an inspection at $18.50. Pass or fail you must pay this amount or less depending what the repair facility offers. If your vehicle fails the inspection, the sticker must be cut in half to show that it failed at prior inspection.

Preview

Posted in: Air LawShow details

A: If your trailer is 1994 or older, and the unloaded weight is 3,000 lbs or less, it is title exempt in Maine. If your trailer is 1995 or newer and the unloaded weight is 3,001 lbs or more, you may apply for a Maine title. If you are registering your trailer and it is already titled in your name in another state, it does not need to be re-titled.

Preview

Posted in: Services LawShow details

All Maine vehicles still require an annual safety inspection. In Cumberland County, in addition to the normal safety checks, 1996 and newer model year light-duty gasoline-fueled passenger vehicles (8500 lbs GVWR and less) and 1997 and newer model year light-duty diesel passenger vehicles (8500 lbs GVWR and less) must have an OBD test as part of the inspection process. …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

15 votes, 33 comments. I grew up in Maine, moved away in 86 when I joined the Army and afterwards settled in Idaho. Haven't been back since 94. Was …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Protection Agency reviewed Maine’s Subsurface Wastewater Disposal Rules and administration program and found it to be acceptable. However, one deficiency noted was the lack of an ongoing septic inspection program. The State of Maine Division of Health Engineering and the Department of Environmental Protection requested the Maine Site Evaluators Association …

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview

Posted in: Environmental Law, Health LawShow details

Maine State Inspections Schedule Service VIP’s Certified Automotive Professionals will perform your Maine State Inspection 7 days a week. The cost in Maine is $12.50 per vehicle, except in Cumberland County where the cost is $18.50 (includes emissions testing). VIP offers a warranty on most installed parts.

Preview

Posted in: Form LawShow details

Notwithstanding the inspection standards of subsection 1, an on-board diagnostic system subject to the inspection required by section 1751, subsection 2-A, paragraph C must meet the standards in rules adopted by the Chief of the State Police. The Chief of the State Police shall adopt rules that meet the requirements of 40 Code of Federal Regulations, Part 85 for on …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Please leave your comments here:

New Popular Law

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the cost of an inspection in maine?

In Maine, inspections are required annually from the month of the last inspection. Each inspection sticker has a month that is cut from the edge of the sticker to indicate the month of the next inspection. Though the inspections are required by law, Maine placed a cap on the price of an inspection at $18.50.

Do i need a permit to inspect my car in maine?

If you had your vehicle inspected in your previous state, Maine will recognize that inspection until the sticker expires. If your previous state did not require vehicle inspections, you must have one performed immediately after you register. Ask your municipal office clerk for a permit to visit an inspection station.

Did lawmakers eliminate maines annual vehicle inspection program?

Lawmakers had the opportunity to eliminate Maine’s annual vehicle inspection program entirely in the First Session of the 129th Legislature.

Do vehicle inspection stickers expire in maine?

Maine vehicle inspection expirations extended for the duration of state of emergency Governor Janet Mills issued an executive order last week that indefinitely extends expiration dates on all vehicle inspection stickers and registrations, as well as driver’s licenses and state IDs.

Most Popular Search