July 1 New Laws Virginia

Filter Type: All Time Past 24 Hours Past Week Past monthFacebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

Listing Results July 1 New Laws Virginia

3 hours ago Previously Virginia’s minimum wage was the federal amount of $7.25. Effective May 1st 2021 the minimum wage increased to $9.50. Additional increases will move the minimum wage to $11.00 on January 1, 2022, and to $12.00 on January 1, 2023. Further increases to $13.50 on January 1, 2025, and $15.00 on January 1, 2026 are contingent on the

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

5 hours ago Starting Wednesday, July 1, the commonwealth will enact 19 laws that impact the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority (ABC), its licensees and applicants for ABC licenses. The Virginia General Assembly passed the following Virginia ABC-related legislative proposals during the 2020 session, and Governor Ralph Northam signed them into law.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

2 hours ago Both the hands-free driving law and increase to the minimum wage in Virginia were signed by Northam, but both contain delay clauses, meaning they do not take effect until 2021. Here is a sample of

Email: [email protected]
Estimated Reading Time: 7 mins

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

(410) 727-4300

1 hours ago $13.50/hour beginning January 1, 2025, provided the General Assembly reenacts by July 1, 2024; $15.00/hour beginning January 1, 2026, provided the General Assembly reenacts by July 1, 2024; For help navigating the new laws taking effect in July, please call us at (410) 727-4300.

Estimated Reading Time: 10 mins

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Employment LawShow details

6 hours ago

1. Author: Katey Roshetko
Published: Jul 01, 2019
Estimated Reading Time: 3 mins
2. Hand held use in work zones. The new law prohibits hand held cell phone use in highway work zones. Drivers caught will face a mandatory $250 fine.
3. Violating "move over" laws. Failing to obey Virginia's "move over" law now has a stronger punishment. The old law said the first offense is a $250 fine for a traffic infraction.
4. Rear-facing car seats. Children must ride in rear facing car seats until they are two years old or until they meet the minimum weight standards for a forward-facing seat.
5. "Tommie's Law" Earlier this year a man was arrested for setting a dog on fire while it was tied to a pole. That dog, known as Tommie, eventually died from his injuries, but his death changed the way animal abuse is punished in Virginia.
6. Suspended driver's licenses. Beginning July 1, courts will no longer suspend driver's licenses for unpaid court fines and costs. It'll also reinstate driving licenses for more than 627,000 Virginians.
7. Tobacco age. The age requirement for purchasing tobacco has gone up from 18 to 21 years old. The only exception is for active military personnel who are 18 years or older.
8. "Happy Hour" laws. Loosened "Happy Hour" laws will now allow restaurants to advertise reduced price drink specials. Until just a few years ago, the state did not allow the promotion of happy hours outside restaurants or in advertising.
9. Surrogacy law. Straight, single, and homosexual parents will have an easier time adopting children using donated embryos or surrogacy by replacing the original law's terms of "husband" and "wife" with the gender-neutral term "spouse."

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Animal Law, Children LawShow details

2 hours ago 2021 Changes to Virginia’s Laws In Due Course is a selection of legislation passed by the 2021 Regular Session and Special Session I of the General Assembly that is likely to affect the daily lives of the citizens of Virginia. The following legislation has been signed by the Governor and for the most part will go into effect on July 1, 2021.

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

4 hours ago You should expect to see these major changes in Virginia Traffic Law and Criminal Law coming soon. As of July 1, 2020 these Virginia laws changed: Reckless Driving Threshold Increased to Driving Above 85 mph – It will still be reckless driving by speed for going 20 mph or more above the speed limit.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Criminal LawShow details

1 hours ago That new under-the-radar law is a gas tax increase. On July 1, the Virginia gas tax crept up 5 cents to 26.2 cents per gallon, and the diesel fuel tax increased from 20.2 cents to 27 cents. Along

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

5 hours ago On July 1, two new traffic laws are scheduled to go into effect in Virginia. The first law allows authorities to charge a person with reckless driving if his or her vehicle is traveling 85 miles per hour or faster on a highway.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

7 hours ago New landlord-tenant laws, foster care reform, and restored driver’s licenses: new Virginia laws take effect July 1 Today, hundreds of new laws that passed during this year’s General Assembly… 24 Jun

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form Law, Civil LawShow details

3 hours ago In Due Course is a selection of legislation passed by the 2020 Session of the General Assembly that is likely to affect the daily lives of the citizens of Virginia. The following legislation has been signed by the Governor and for the most part will go into effect on July 1, 2020. The summaries were prepared by the staff of the Division of Legislative Services.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Services LawShow details

6 hours ago • Police interviews and interrogations: Starting on July 1, under Virginia Code Section 19.2-390.04, police must make audiovisual recordings of the entirety of any “custodial interrogation” conducted while that person is in “a place of detention.” If the police fail to do so, the defendant's statements are still admissible in court.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Criminal LawShow details

4 hours ago New Laws in Virginia Effective July 1, 2020 and Noteworthy Actions by the Virginia Legislature June 29, 2020 Many of the new laws passed in the 2020 legislative session reflect concerns that dominated the news last year, such as legalizing marijuana, mass shootings and gun control.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

1 hours ago The law also prohibits an employer from retaliating against an employee who brings such an action. Additionally, DOLI can impose a $10,000 civil penalty against any employer it determines has violated the law. Finally, employers are required to post a copy or summary of the relevant section of law (Va. Code § 40.1-28.7:7) by July 1, 2020.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Employment Law, Civil LawShow details

1 hours ago

1. No-excuse absentee voting: This legislation allows any registered voter to vote absentee in elections. This removes the list of reasons under which a person may be entitled to vote by absentee ballot.
2. Photo ID requirement removed: This legislation removes the requirement that voters show a form of identification with a photograph in order to be allowed to vote.
3. Automatic voter registration: This legislation directs the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles to send certain information for any person using certain DMV services to the Virginia Department of Election.
4. Decriminalizing marijuana: This bill decriminalizes simple marijuana possession but allows a civil penalty of no more than $25. Before the law, a first offense could carry a maximum fine of $500 and a maximum 30-day jail sentence, and subsequent offenses are a Class 1 misdemeanor.
5. Driver's license suspensions: Under new legislation, a driver's license cannot be suspended when convicted of or placed on deferred disposition for a drug offense, for non-payment of certain fees owed to a local correctional facility or regional jail, and for shoplifting motor fuel.
6. Background checks for gun sales: This legislation establishes a background check requirement for any firearm sale and directs the Department of State Police to establish a process for transferors to obtain such a background check from licensed firearms dealers.
7. Limit on handgun purchases: This bill prohibits any person who is not a licensed firearms dealer from buying more than one handgun in a 30-day period.
8. Report lost or stolen firearms: A lost or stolen firearm must be reported to a law enforcement agency or State Police within 48 hours after the legal owner learns it is missing.
9. Removal of firearms from person with risk to self or others: This legislation creates a procedure by which any commonwealth's attorney or law enforcement officer may apply to a general district court, circuit court, or juvenile and domestic relations district court judge or magistrate for an emergency substantial risk order to prohibit a person who poses a substantial risk of injury to himself or others from purchasing, possessing, or transporting a firearm.
10. Localities' authority to enact gun bans: Localities can adopt an ordinance to prohibit the possession or carrying of firearms, ammunition, or components in a building owned or used by such locality for governmental purposes, any public park owned or operated by the locality, any recreation or community center facility, and any public street, road, alley, sidewalk or public right-of-way used by or adjacent to a permitted event.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form Law, Criminal LawShow details

7 hours ago RICHMOND, Va. — Wednesday, July 1 is a big day for Virginians. Not only is it the first day of Phase 3, it’s also the first day a lot of new

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

5 hours ago RICHMOND, Va. (WAVY/AP) — Dozens of new laws in Virginia will go into effect starting July 1. Thousands of Virginians will be able to …

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

4 hours ago

Estimated Reading Time: 9 mins
1. Child Car Seat. A new law will require children to ride rear-facing car seats until the age of two, or until they meet the minimum weight standards for a forward-facing seat.
2. Tobacco Purchasing Age. The age for purchasing or possessing tobacco products, nicotine vapor products, and alternative nicotine products is rising from 18 to 21.
3. Surrogacy Law “Jacob’s Law” A new law will allow an unmarried individual to be an intended parent, paralleling the ability of an unmarried individual to adopt under the adoption statutes.
4. Hand Held Cell Phone in Work Zone. Drivers will now be prohibited from holding a handheld cell phone in a highway work zone, with certain exceptions. Drivers caught will face a mandatory fine of $250.
5. "Move Over" Reckless Driving Law. This law increases the punishment for drivers who violate the Move Over law in Virginia. A driver can be punished if they fail to move into a nonadjacent lane on a highway with at least four lanes when approaching a stationary vehicle displaying flashing, blinking, or alternating blue, red, or amber lights, or, if changing lanes would be unreasonable or unsafe, to proceed with due caution and maintain a safe speed.
6. Heaven's Law. Heaven Watkins was brutally beaten to death in Norfolk in May of 2018. Legislation named after the 11-year-old will bring changes to how social workers investigate child abuse allegations.
7. Suspended License for Unpaid Court Fees. Starting July 1, Virginians will eliminate the suspension of driver's licenses for motorists with unpaid court fines and costs.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Children Law, Sea LawShow details

4 hours ago Unless otherwise noted, each of the Acts below will be effective on July 1, 2021. There were 1,555 bills and resolutions introduced. The NVAR and the Virginia Realtors® Bill Review Committees reviewed bills that might have an impact on the real estate industry and took positions on those. The committees took a position of “Action” on 41 bills.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Estate Law, Real Estate LawShow details

8 hours ago This law got less attention than some of the more controversial measures, but has the most direct impact on many Virginians. As of July 1, insurers will be limited to charging a maximum of $50 a

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

3 hours ago Dozens of new laws are now in effect in Virginia and Maryland as we start the new month. July 1 brings big changes to both parts of the DMV. Here are some highlights: Virginia Virginians will

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

5 hours ago

1. Grand Larceny. Officially referred to as House Bill 1550 (HB 1550), this initiative will raise the threshold for grand larceny from $200 to $500. Before HB 1550, the theft of less than $200 in goods or other property was considered petit larceny in Virginia.
2. Jury Service Deferral. Officially referred to as House Bill 481 (HB 481), this initiative will adjust the existing rules for jury service. If a potential juror is enrolled as a full-time student in an academic institute of higher learning, then the court may defer any jury service requirements.
3. Juvenile Confinement. Officially referred to as House Bill 35 (HB 35), this initiative will amend several requirements for juvenile confinement in adult prisons.
4. Mandatory Collection of DNA. Officially referred to as House Bill 1249 (HB 1249), this initiative will expand the list of crimes for mandatory DNA sample collection.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Criminal Law, Juvenile LawShow details

7 hours ago On July 1, 2020, several pieces of legislation that significantly change the Virginia employment law landscape will go into effect.These laws

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Employment LawShow details

3 hours ago Hundreds of new laws in Virginia go into effect Wednesday, July 1. More than 1,200 bills cleared the legislature, and were signed by Gov. Ralph Northam, with most taking effect Wednesday, WTOP

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

5 hours ago Virginia is now among 19 other states and the District of Columbia in enacting this type of law. Senate Bill 69 and House Bill 812 reinstate Virginia’s one …

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

1 hours ago

1. Handheld cell phones and other devices banned while driving. House Bill 874 will create a total ban on the use of handheld mobile devices when driving, with the exception of motorists who are lawfully stopped and parked.
2. Drivers cannot smoke in motor vehicles when a child under the age of 15 is present. This expands on previous legislation that made it unlawful to smoke in a motor vehicle in the presence of minors under the age of 8.
3. Drivers must stop when yielding to pedestrians. All vehicle drivers must stop when yielding to pedestrians at: Marked crosswalks. Any regular pedestrian crossing included in the prolongation of the lateral boundary lines of the adjacent sidewalk at the end of a block.
4. Driving in excess of 85 mph = reckless driving. The new law raises the threshold for per se reckless driving for speeding from driving in excess of 80 miles per hour to driving in excess of 85 miles per hour.
5. 1st offenders for breathalyzer/blood test refusal can petition for a restricted license. HB 34 allows a person convicted of a first offense of refusal of breathalyzer or blood tests to determine BAC to petition the court (30 days after the conviction) for a restricted driver’s license.
6. Driver’s licenses are no longer suspended for nonpayment of fines or costs. The Department of Motor Vehicles must return or reinstate any person’s driver’s license that was suspended prior to July 1, 2019, solely for nonpayment of fines or costs.
7. Certain non-driving related offenses cannot prompt license suspension. A person’s driver’s license cannot be suspended based on the following provisions

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

4 hours ago Updated: Jul. 1, 2020 at 5:50 AM PDT. (WHSV) - Each year, many of the bills passed by Virginia’s General Assembly and signed into law by the governor are set to take effect on July 1. In 2020

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Just Now 1. The Virginia Port Authority in the exercise of any of its powers in accordance with Chapter 10 (§ 62.1-128 et seq.) of Title 62.1, provided the Authority implements, by policy or regulation adopted by the Board of Commissioners, procedures to ensure fairness and competitiveness in the procurement of goods and services and in the

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Services Law, Air LawShow details

6 hours ago Most of these laws take effect on July 1, 2020, and employers must take action to prepare for them, including updating employment policies and practices, providing certain notices to employees, ensuring non-compete agreements are not being provided to employees earning less than the average wage in Virginia, updating pay stubs, and generally

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Employment LawShow details

5 hours ago

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Employment LawShow details

5 hours ago Starting Monday, July 1, the commonwealth will enact 12 laws that impact the Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority (ABC), its licensees and applicants for ABC licenses. The Virginia General Assembly passed the following Virginia ABC-related legislative proposals during the 2019 session, and Governor Ralph Northam signed them into law.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

8 hours ago Even though employers are busy adjusting, evolving, and pivoting their policies due to the constantly changing effect of the Coronavirus pandemic, Virginia employers must also ensure they are complying with new employment laws that will be effective on July 1, 2020.. Many of these laws have significant penalties for non-compliance from by the employee and …

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Employment LawShow details

7 hours ago Starting May 1, 2021, Virginia’s minimum wage will go from the current $7.25 per hour to $9.50 per hour. It will increase to $11 per hour on …

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Labor LawShow details

4 hours ago The law authorizing the creation of the new Cannabis Control Authority (CCA) took effect on July 1, 2021. However, the CCA will need time to hire staff and create regulations before licensing can begin. Additionally, many of the regulatory sections of the bill must be reenacted (approved again) by the 2022 General Assembly before becoming law.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

4 hours ago RICHMOND, Va. – 19 Virginia ABC laws are set to go into effect on July 1. The General Assembly passed the Virginia ABC-related legislative proposals during the 2020 session, and Governor Ralph

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

5 hours ago Sign up for free e-mail alerts. Dozens of new laws in Virginia go into effect beginning Saturday, July 1, 2017. Liquor stores will be …

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

7 hours ago These new laws take effect today in Virginia, Maryland Here’s a breakdown of a few of the bills that will become law as of July 1:

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

3 hours ago Virginia Laws July 1 2020. Collected from the entire web and summarized to include only the most important parts of it. Can be used as content for research and analysis.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Sea LawShow details

8 hours ago Published: Jun. 26, 2020 at 3:17 PM PDT. Each year, many of the bills passed by Virginia’s General Assembly and signed into law by the …

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

7 hours ago Starting July 1, 2020, a number of new state and local tax laws go into effect in Virginia. Some of the changes include: Cigarette and Tobacco Products Tax Increase; Liquid Nicotine Subject to Tobacco Products Tax. The tax rate doubles for cigarettes and other tobacco products currently subject to the tax.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

4 hours ago

1. The California Privacy Rights Act (CPRA) amends and expands theCalifornia Consumer Privacy Act of 2018 (CCPA), and aligns moreclosely with the EU General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR). Likethe CCPA, the CPRA protects the data privacy rights of consumers,which it defines as all California residents and their households.The CPRA is effective on January 1, 2023, with a look-back periodbeginning on January 1, 2022; enforcement is slated to begin onJuly 1, 2023. The CPRA introduced key changes to the CCPA,including: 1. Threshold Requirements The CPRA applies to any for-profit entity conducting businessin California that processes personal information of Californiaresidents, and meets one of the following requirements: (i) annualgross revenue over $25 million, or (ii) alone, or in combination,annually buys, sells, or shares the personal information of 100,000(up from 50,000) or more consumers, or derives 50 percentor more of annual revenue from selling or sharingconsumers' personal in...
2. Author: Mary Hildebrand

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form Law, Business LawShow details

9 hours ago Longer recess for students, legalized slots-like betting machines and looser regulations on bringing dogs to wineries are a few of the new statutes.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

1 hours ago July 1 marked the first day many new or changed laws went into effect in the Commonwealth of Virginia. More than 4000 bills were introduced for consideration in the 2013 session of the Virginia General Assembly, with more than 800 of them becoming law. Click here for a full summary of the 2013 Legislative session.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

7 hours ago

1. Virginia enacted the Virginia Consumer Data Protection Act (VCDPA) on March 2, 2021, becoming the second state to enact comprehensive legislation regarding data privacy (behind only California). Following California and Virginia, Colorado became the third state to enact a comprehensive privacy law with the passage of the Colorado Privacy Act (CoPA) on July 8, 2021. A comprehensive privacy law overwhelmingly passed in the Senate in Connecticut but was stricken by the House shortly before the remaining parts of the bill were presented to the Governor for his signature.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Consumer LawShow details

Filter Type: All Time Past 24 Hours Past Week Past monthFacebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

Please leave your comments here:

New Popular Law

Frequently Asked Questions

What new laws go into effect july 1 in virginia?

ROANOKE, Va. (WDBJ) There are several new laws in Virginia that go into effect July 1. 1. Hand held use in work zones The new law prohibits hand held cell phone use in highway work zones. Drivers caught will face a mandatory $250 fine. 2. Violating "move over" laws Failing to obey Virginia's "move over" law now has a stronger punishment.

When does hands free driving law take effect in virginia?

Both the hands-free driving law and increase to the minimum wage in Virginia were signed by Northam, but both contain delay clauses, meaning they do not take effect until 2021. Here is a sample of laws that will change July 1:

What are the new liquor laws in virginia?

This law also prohibits Virginia ABC from imposing any case fee on products moved on the distiller’s premises by its own employees. HB 1657: This law creates a new mixed beverage performing arts facility license allowing the sale and consumption of alcoholic beverages at a multipurpose theater in the Town of Bridgewater’s historic district.

What is the new law in virginia for drivers license?

Click here to view the full law. Starting July 1, Virginians will eliminate the suspension of driver's licenses for motorists with unpaid court fines and costs. This law reinstates driving licenses for more than 627,000 Virginians who currently have suspended licenses.

Most Popular Search