Employment Laws In North Carolina

Filter Type: All Time Past 24 Hours Past Week Past monthFacebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

Listing Results Employment Laws In North Carolina

9 hours ago

1. North Carolina law prohibits an employer from discriminating and retaliating against employees in a variety of protected classes. See EEO, Diversity and Employee Relations.
2. North Carolina requires the use of E-Verify and permits preemployment drug testing, but prohibits consideration of expunged criminal records. See Recruiting and Hiring.
3. In North Carolina, there are requirements relating to the minimum wage, overtime and child labor. See Wage and Hour.
4. North Carolina law prohibits an employer from discriminating and retaliating against employees in a variety of protected classes. See EEO, Diversity and Employee Relations.
5. North Carolina requires the use of E-Verify and permits preemployment drug testing, but prohibits consideration of expunged criminal records. See Recruiting and Hiring.
6. In North Carolina, there are requirements relating to the minimum wage, overtime and child labor. See Wage and Hour.
7. North Carolina has laws that relate to employee pay and benefits, including health care continuation, pay frequency, pay statement and wage deductions. See Pay and Benefits.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Criminal Law, Employment LawShow details

5 hours ago Applied Analytical Industries, Inc.,20 the North Carolina Supreme Court addressed the question of whether an employer’s assurances of continued employment made as part of the recruiting process could create an exception to the employment-at-will rule. In the Kurtzman case, the plaintiff was recruited to move from Rhode Island to North Carolina to

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Employment LawShow details

3 hours ago North Carolina’s minimum wage as of January 2017 is $7.25/hour, matching the federal minimum wage. In March 216, the transgender bathroom law that was passed also restricted North Carolina’s local governments from establishing their own minimum wages. This means that local governments cannot raise the minimum wage from the state minimum wage.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Employment Law, Government LawShow details

6 hours ago When you work for a business or organization in North Carolina, both state and federal laws guarantee you certain rights as an employee. These include being paid at least the minimum wage and overtime. You also have the right to a fair and safe workplace, free from discrimination and harassment.

Estimated Reading Time: 5 mins

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Business Law, Employment LawShow details

6 hours ago About Laws and Administrative Rules. The N.C. Department of Labor enforces various acts set forth by the N.C. General Assembly. Administrative rules which define the acts are available on the Office of Administrative Hearings website. Links to both the acts and administrative rules are provided below:

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Labor LawShow details

4 hours ago The two North Carolina labor laws on giving job references and on the blacklisting of an employee are the “Immunity from civil liability for employers disclosing information (Job Reference)" law (N.C.G.S. §1-539.12) and the "Blacklisting Employees" law (N.C.G.S. §14-355). The North Carolina Department of Labor does not administer or enforce

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form Law, Labor LawShow details

4 hours ago Quick Guide to North Carolina Employee Rights . NC employee rights. One of the greatest public resources for Carolina-employee rights involving various employee rights in minimum wage, fair pay and equal pay, the hiring process, safety standards, and more is the following website under the N.C. Department of Labor:

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Employment Law, Labor LawShow details

404-562-2156

9 hours ago 61 Forsyth Street, S.W., Room 7B54. Atlanta, GA 30303. Telephone: 404-562-2156. For all insurance questions, you may also contact the N.C. Department of Insurance's Consumer Division. (link is external) at 919-733-2032 (Raleigh) or toll-free 1-800-662-7777. For more information about workplace rights, please contact our toll free number at 1

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Contact Lawyer, Insurance LawShow details

7 hours ago Under the North Carolina Equal Employment Practices Act, it is the public policy of the state to protect and safeguard the right of all persons to seek, obtain, and hold employment without discrimination based on race, religion, color, national origin, age, sex, or disability (NC Gen. Stat. Sec. 143-422.2). Separate laws prohibit employment discrimination based on genetic …

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Employment LawShow details

1 hours ago To be exempt according to FLSA and NCWAHA, employees must meet all the following criteria: Earn a guaranteed minimum of at least $23,600 per year or $455 per week. Get paid on a salaried basis, rather than hourly. Carry out “exempt job duties” at the FLSA defines.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

7 hours ago Youth Employment Rules. E-Verify. Drug Testing. Order Workplace Posters. NCDOL requires all businesses in North Carolina to post a copy of the North Carolina Workplace Laws Poster in a conspicuous place where notices to employees are customarily posted. Order Workplace Posters.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Business Law, Employment LawShow details

1 hours ago Updated November 6, 2020: North Carolina Labor Laws. North Carolina Labor Laws include the North Carolina Wage and Hour Act (WHA). This law exhibits the employer responsive foundation of the state’s employment law legislation. North Carolina WHA does not require mandatory meal breaks or rest breaks for employees 16 years of age or older but does …

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Employment Law, Labor LawShow details

2 hours ago The minimum wage in North Carolina is currently $7.25 an hour. Employers doing business in North Carolina are required to pay at least $7.25 per hour to all employees (agricultural and domestic employees are subject to the federal minimum wage). The $7.25 per hour state minimum wage also applies to the state of North Carolina, to county and

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Business LawShow details

4 hours ago The next two columns will address basic employment laws in North Carolina. Enjoy unlimited articles at one of our lowest prices ever. Understand employment law basics in North Carolina Sep

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Employment LawShow details

1 hours ago North Carolina Employment Laws – PDF $ 14.99 $ 12.99 North Carolina Employment Laws is a go-to resource to answer your

Category: State Employment Law E-Books > PDF
Availability: In stock

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Pdf Law, Employment LawShow details

3 hours ago Welcome to the North Carolina Law section of FindLaw's State Law collection. This section contains user-friendly summaries of North Carolina laws as well as citations or links to relevant sections of North Carolina's official online statutes.Please select a topic from the list below to …

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

9 hours ago the competitive position of North Carolina business and industry. The General Assembly declares that the general welfare of the State requires the enactment of this law under the police power of the State. (c) Repealed by Session Laws 2017-4, …

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Business Law, Industry LawShow details

9 hours ago Chapter 96 of the North Carolina General Statutes, known as the Employment Security Law, governs the Division of Employment Security. View statutes. DES Administrative Rules. The North Carolina Administrative Code is the official publication of the rules that govern the state's agencies, boards and commissions.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Employment LawShow details

8 hours ago Employers in North Carolina are required to pay the higher of the minimum wage rate established by state or federal laws. The federal minimum wage increased to $7.25 per hour effective July 24, 2009; therefore, employers in North Carolina are required to pay their employees at least $7.25 per hour.

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Labor LawShow details

6 hours ago On July 8, 2021, North Carolina Governor Roy Cooper signed Senate Bill (SB) 208, An Act Making Various Changes to the Labor Laws of North Carolina, which includes changes to the pay notice provisions for employees and payment of final wages to separated employees. The amendments to the North Carolina.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Employment Law, Labor LawShow details

7 hours ago Get a 2022 North Carolina all-in-one labor law poster . Instead of printing out pages of mandatory North Carolina and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all North Carolina and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for 2022!

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Labor LawShow details

Just Now DES's legal staff can answer questions about procedures, but it cannot give you legal advice. If you need legal advice or representation, you should contact a legal aid organization, such as Legal Aid of North Carolina or a private attorney. The State Bar of North Carolina can help you find an attorney.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Contact Lawyer, Services LawShow details

9 hours ago North Carolina Laws. Equal Employment Practices Act (EEPA). The EEPA sets out the public policy that private employers with 15 or more employees cannot discriminate against employees based on race, religion, color, national origin, age, sex (including pregnancy) or handicap.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Employment LawShow details

6 hours ago If you believe your overtime rates under NC Overtime Laws have been violated, you can file a claim with the North Carolina Department of Labor. If you want to file a claim for wages, the compensation must be more than $50 and you must wait 10 days if the wages were on your last paycheck according to North Carolina overtime laws.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Employment Law, Labor LawShow details

Just Now The CRD-Employment Discrimination Section works in conjunction with the EEOC to enforce State and Federal anti-discrimination laws in North Carolina. EEOC refers to the CRD-Employment Discrimination Section as a "Fair Employment Practices Agency (FEPA)." Through the use of "work sharing agreements", the EEOC and the CRD-EDS avoid duplication of

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Employment Law, Air LawShow details

2 hours ago North Carolina’s only statutory provision directly addressing non-compete agreements requires that any contract limiting a person’s right to do business anywhere in the state must be in writing and signed. 1 This statute, however, does not directly address when these types of agreements are a permissible restraint on trade. Like most other states, North

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Business Law, Contract LawShow details

7 hours ago North Carolina child labor laws. Minors 14 and 15 years of age. Minors 14 and 15 years of age may work no more than 3 hours a day when school is in session and 8 hours a day when school is out. They may only work between the hours of 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. when school is in session and 7 a.m. to 9 p.m. when school is not in session.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Labor LawShow details

Just Now Get a North Carolina all-in-one labor law poster . Instead of printing out pages of mandatory North Carolina and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all North Carolina and federal posting requirements. Fully updated for December 2017! Get All-In-One

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Labor LawShow details

9 hours ago 2020 North Carolina Labor Law Updates. North Carolina Labor Law Updates. All businesses with employees in North Carolina are required by state & federal employment laws to post Labor Law Posters in a visible location. Employment laws change often, which require labor law posters to be updates. Below includes past & most recent mandatory labor

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Business Law, Employment LawShow details

3 hours ago In my continuing research on employment discrimination laws in the workplace within the untied states, I have finally come to investigate North Carolina’s employment discrimination laws in the workplace. North Carolina, like many other states has gone above the federal standards, but unlike most states, they do not provide a state agency to investigate …

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Employment Law, Sea LawShow details

Just Now The Employment Security Law of North Carolina, Chapter 96-1 et seq., became effective in 1936. It has been amended many times throughout the years, and has been the object of extensive judicial interpretation. Considering the complex nature of the Employment Security Law, the extensive amendments and court decisions, the Division of Employment Security …

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Employment LawShow details

6 hours ago The information below provides an North Carolina-specific general overview of the legal regime of employment laws affecting older workers in North Carolina. Employment Laws Affecting Older Workers in relation to Elder Law . This section analizes the legal issue of employment laws affecting older workers in this context.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form Law, Employment LawShow details

5 hours ago You are required to pay taxes if you are: A general business employer with gross payroll of at least $1,500 in any calendar quarter or with at least one worker in 20 different weeks during a calendar year. An employer who acquires all or any portion of …

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Business LawShow details

6 hours ago

1. Employment agreements are not for all employees. They should be crafted to fit the employer’s goals and the employee’s specific skills. Thus, employment contracts require the employer and employee to devote energy to crafting the specific terms of the agreement. This often requires the assistance of legal counsel. This extra energy and cost is burdensome, but may pay dividends by establishing a long-term relationship with an important employee. In order to have a successful and enforceable employment contract, it should be in writing and its terms should be clear. It should address compensation, benefits, job duties, termination, confidentiality and noncompetition. There are very different legal requirements for an employment contract without a noncompete provision and for one with a noncompete provision. Decide early on whether you need a noncompete agreement.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Contract Law, Employment LawShow details

Just Now Employment Laws: What are the Employment Laws in North Carolina? The state of North Carolina has employment laws that offer higher levels of protection to its employees in comparison to federal law in topics like E-Verify, health care continuation obligations for smaller employers and parental leave requirements for school involvement.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Employment Law, Health LawShow details

1 hours ago Minimum wage laws protect all employees, whether or not they receive tips. Employees are entitled to earn the full minimum wage per hour as set by federal or state law. Currently, the federal minimum wage is $7.25 an hour. The minimum wage in North Carolina is the same, so employees in North Carolina are entitled to earn at least $7.25 an hour.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

3 hours ago The majority of North Carolina Workers’ Compensation laws are located under Chapter 7 of the NC Statutes. The NC Industrial Commission also provides a great deal of information about North Carolina workers compensation, and the majority of this article will discuss information provided by the NCIC at the following link .

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form Law, Employment LawShow details

4 hours ago 2022 - NC Labor Law Posters only $16.95 Laminated or $12.95 Paper Set - Employers are required by the US Department of Labor and also by the State of North Carolina Government. Guarantee your Business to be fully compliant for your mandatory labor law posters for 2022. North Carolina Labor Law Update Notification Service: Once you have purchased a ( poster …

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Business Law, Labor LawShow details

4 hours ago North Carolina (NC) Workplace Safety Laws. This section provides a range of state workplace safety laws and posters. For further information or for individual issues your company may be experiencing, it is always prudent to contact your state labor department or an employment law attorney knowledgeable in your state workplace safety laws.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Contact Lawyer, Form LawShow details

3 hours ago The Age Discrimination in Employment Act (ADEA) prohibits companies from making employment decisions based on age. It protects workers ages 40 and over. North Carolina’s Equal Employment Practices Act also protects against age discrimination. It applies a similar standard to the federal law and also only applies to those employees 40 or older.

Estimated Reading Time: 9 mins

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Employment LawShow details

Just Now Important sections of these North Carolina labor laws on breaks for minors are paraphrased below: (a) No youth under the age of 18 can work for an employer without a youth employment certificate unless exempted under law. (b) During the school year, no minor under the age of 18 can work from 11 p.m. to 5 a.m. when there is school the next day.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Employment Law, Labor LawShow details

3 hours ago Recently, I’ve been researching state lunch and break laws, as well as other work-hour related issues. In North Carolina, the state law only regulates the meal breaks for employees under the age of 18. State law mandates that employees under 16 be given a 30 minute meal break if they have worked five hours or more. This may be an unpaid break.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Sea LawShow details

8 hours ago North Carolina Pay Day Requirements. In North Carolina, federal and state laws govern pay day requirements. The major federal law governing wages and hours is called the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). It regulates how much workers must be paid, how many hours they can be required to work, and the special rules that apply to younger workers.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Labor Law, Banking LawShow details

Just Now (7) A valid unexpired North Carolina driver's license issued to the applicant and showing the applicant's current North Carolina address. (8), (9) Repealed by Session Laws 2015-294, s. 13, effective January 1, 2016, and applicable to insurance policies entered into on or after that date.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Insurance Law, Insurance LawShow details

5 hours ago South Carolina Code of LawsTitle 41 - Labor and Employment. CHAPTER 1 - GENERAL PROVISIONS. HTML. Word. CHAPTER 3 - DEPARTMENT AND DIRECTOR OF LABOR, LICENSING, AND REGULATION. HTML. Word. CHAPTER 7 - RIGHT TO WORK. HTML.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Employment Law, Labor LawShow details

Filter Type: All Time Past 24 Hours Past Week Past monthFacebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

Please leave your comments here:

New Popular Law

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the labor laws in north carolina?

North Carolina Labor Laws include the North Carolina Wage and Hour Act (WHA). This law exhibits the employer responsive foundation of the state’s employment law legislation.

What are the laws for salary exempt employees in north carolina?

The Laws for Salary Exempt Employees in North Carolina. The Fair Labor Standards Act is a federal law governing the definition of an exempt employee. The North Carolina Department of Labor follows the regulations in the FLSA for determining the status of exempt and non-exempt workers in the state.

What are the labor laws for breaks for minors in nc?

Most North Carolina labor laws for breaks are listed in Statute 95-25.5—located in the link. Important sections of these North Carolina labor laws on breaks for minors are paraphrased below: (a) No youth under the age of 18 can work for an employer without a youth employment certificate unless exempted under law.

What is the minimum wage in north carolina for employees?

Employers doing business in North Carolina are required to pay at least $7.25 per hour to all employees (agricultural and domestic employees are subject to the federal minimum wage). The $7.25 per hour state minimum wage also applies to the state of North Carolina, to county and local governments and to instrumentalities of government.

Most Popular Search