Burial Laws In Florida

Facebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

In Florida, a death must be registered with the local or state vital records office within five days and before the body is buried or cremated. ( Florida Code § 382.008 .) Typically, the funeral home, mortuary, cremation organization, or other person in charge of the deceased person's remains will prepare and file the death certificate.

1. Estimated Reading Time: 8 mins

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Burial locations: No state laws in Florida prohibit burial on private property. According to information from the Division of Funeral, Cemetery & Consumer Services, the state allows families to establish their own cemeteries if they are less than two acres and do not offer burial spaces for sale. Be sure to check local zoning ordinances.

1. Estimated Reading Time: 2 mins
2. Phone: 8132232202

Preview

Posted in: Form Law, Property LawShow details

Luckily, Florida law has tried to clear up any burial issues by codifying an extensive set of rules for burial rights. A person can find the relevant law under Florida Statute 497.005 (43). The first part of this statute defines some important terms under the law.

1. Estimated Reading Time: 3 mins

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

(10) the cemetery shall set aside equivalent burial rights equal to 10 percent of the abandoned burial rights sold under this section for the exclusive use of persons or their heirs who were owners of burial rights which were sold under this section, who have the right at any time to obtain equivalent burial rights in the cemetery under this …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Cemetery plots and burial vaults can add a significant additional cost to a funeral, with a cemetery plot in Florida costing anything between $600 – $3,000. Florida law does not stipulate that you need to purchase a burial vault, although certain cemeteries may insist on it. You should note that a cemetery company cannot require that you purchase a vault or grave liner from …

1. Estimated Reading Time: 10 mins

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

(b) Failing to furnish, for retention, to anyone who inquires in person about burial rights, burial or funeral merchandise, or burial or funeral services, before any discussion of selection, a printed or typewritten list specifying the range of retail prices for such rights, merchandise, or services. At a minimum, the list shall itemize the highest and lowest priced product and service

Preview

Posted in: Services LawShow details

Terms Used In Florida Statutes 497.260. Cemetery: means a place dedicated to and used or intended to be used for the permanent interment of human remains or cremated remains.See Florida Statutes 497.005; Cemetery company: means any legal entity that owns or controls cemetery lands or property.See Florida Statutes 497.005; Columbarium: means a structure …

Preview

Posted in: Property LawShow details

According to Florida Statutes, Section 733.707, funeral debts, up to $6,000.00 are considered a Class 2 creditor, while Medicaid is a Class 3 creditor. What this means is that the first $6,000.00 in funeral expenses, if paid by another or incurred by a funeral home, will be given priority over Medicaid estate recovery.

Preview

Posted in: Estate LawShow details

There are no laws prohibiting green or natural burial. The long answer involves being familiar with both federal regulations and state laws. Federal Trade Commission Regulations The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) has two rulings that bear some relevance to green and natural burial in the United States.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Only $35.99/year Florida Funeral Laws and Rules Exam STUDY Flashcards Learn Write Spell Test PLAY Match Gravity Created by raphbowie Terms in this set (83) The County of Death Who is responsible for the transportation costs when a body is delivered to the ME? 48 Hours How long must a body be retained before being donated to medical science?

Preview

Posted in: Transportation Law, Medical LawShow details

According to your letter, the City of Dade City has adopted an ordinance regulating the Dade City Cemetery and, among other things, establishing prices for various burial spaces and setting certain permit or impact fees. There has been a suggestion that the fees imposed by the ordinance are in violation of section 497.325(2)(b)1., Florida Statutes. You question the …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Area of Law. Criminal Law. Free Forms Library. Frequently Bought Together. Intellectual Property. Landlord-Tenant. Legal Research . NoloCloud Legal Forms. Online Corporation Formation. Real Estate. Starting & Running Your Business. Wills & Trusts. Update product Results. Products Results: 1 - 20 of 105 for "Burial & Cremation laws in Florida" Final …

Preview

Posted in: Form Law, Business LawShow details

No state laws exist that prohibit burials on private property. The Florida Division of Funeral, Cemetery & Consumer Services states families can establish cemeteries if they are less than two acres. And, burial spaces are not offered for sale. However, before you start digging graves yourself check with county and city zoning ordinances.

Preview

Posted in: Property Law, Services LawShow details

Florida Law and Funeral Arrangements / Disposition of Decedent’s Remains. There are some laws passed by the Florida Legislature that can help in these conflicts. Among them are the following: 1. Florida Statute 497.002(2) which provides that “[s]ubject to certain interests of society, the Legislature finds that every competent adult has the right to control the …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

FLORIDA STATUTES AND RULES. Consumers, Applicants and Licensees can review the rules and regulations for the Division of Funeral, Cemetery, and Consumer Services to become familiar with qualifications, requirements and statutes of licensees in the deathcare industry. Chapter 497, Florida Statutes, contains the laws by which the deathcare industry is regulated …

Preview

Posted in: Services Law, Consumer LawShow details

Florida law allows the moving of buried human remains by a licensed funeral director with a valid burial transit permit. See Section 497.384, Florida Statutes , for the exact language concerning disinterment, transportation and reinterment of human remains.

Preview

Posted in: Transportation Law, Sports LawShow details

Pensioners can find themselves in financial hardship after paying funeral costs. 7. Department of Veterans’ Affairs. If your loved one was an ex-serviceman or woman who died in impoverished circumstances, Australia’s Department of Veterans’ Affairs can offer financial assistance towards the funeral costs.. If you think you may be eligible, you must notify the DVA as soon as …

Preview

Posted in: Family Law, Air LawShow details

Please leave your comments here:

Related Topics

New Popular Law

Frequently Asked Questions

Is it legal to bury someone on private property in florida?

Most bodies are buried in established cemeteries, but there are no state laws in Florida that prohibit burial on private property. According to the Florida Division of Funeral, Cemetery & Consumer Services, Florida allows families to establish cemeteries if they are less than two acres...

Is it legal to build a family cemetery in florida?

Florida allows for the establishment of family cemeteries of less than two acres, which do not sell burial spaces or burial rights. Check local zoning laws and deed restrictions, etc. to determine if it is allowed in the local community.

How much does a cemetery plot cost in florida?

The cost of a cemetery plot in Florida averages between $600 and $3000. A burial vault is not required by Florida law. However, the cemetery may insist on one; so this is an added expense that you should plan on. The cemetery may try to sell you a vault or grave liner, but don’t feel pressured to purchase these.

Is there assistance for burialcremation costs in florida?

Assistance for burial/cremation costs is not available at the state level in Florida. However, there is local aid available through your county or municipality for those who meet certain indicators of poverty. To begin the process of applying, call Florida’s Department of Health and Human Services.

Most Popular Search