Blue Laws Florida

Facebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

1. Published: 8/11/2018
2. Parking Fines for Elephants. Parking fines can be a hassle, but standard parking fees apply to any elephants tied to parking meters in Sarasota.
3. Swamp Buggies No Longer Motor Vehicles. While swamp buggies are a popular form of transport in Florida, a law once revised the definition of motor vehicle to exclude them, derogating this mode of transportation.
4. Strapless Dress Regulations. Under law, men cannot wear strapless dresses in public. However, the law does not regulate other types of dresses.
5. Doctors Inquiring About Patient Gun Ownership. A previous law once prevented doctors from asking patients if they owned a gun. Legislators have since repealed the law.
6. Orange Sales in Miami. People cannot sell oranges on the streets of Miami. Anyone who violates this law can spend up to 30 days in jail.
7. Treatment of Pregnant Pigs. Thanks to the efforts of the Humane Society of the United States, many laws prevent the inhumane treatment of animals – including not confining pregnant pigs to cages, save for veterinary purposes.
8. License to Shred. If you want to ride a skateboard in Florida, you must have an appropriate license, just like operating a car.
9. Opening Doors. All public buildings must have doors that open outward. While this law helps in the event of emergency evacuations, it still sounds strange to see on its own.
10. Watch What You Sell. Florida prohibits parents from selling their children. Hopefully, this is also a federal law.
11. Sleeping Under Hair Dryers. It’s illegal for women to fall asleep under a hair dryer. Anyone who violates this law may have to pay a fine, and salon owners can pay those fines as well.

Preview

Posted in: Form Law, Animal LawShow details

Sunday blue law may soon be history in Delray Beach. Posted on November 18, 2013 by Gerard Walen. Another Florida city is taking steps to eliminate restrictions on Sunday morning beer sales that prevent residents from purchasing their adult libations of choice at a retail establishment before the clock strikes noon.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

What is the origin of blue laws? Blue law, in U.S. history, a law forbidding certain secular activities on Sunday. The name may derive from Samuel A. Peters’s General History of Connecticut (1781), which purported to list the stiff Sabbath regulations at New Haven, Connecticut; the work was printed on blue paper.

Preview

Posted in: Bidding LawShow details

1. It’s illegal to sell alcohol to anyone, including adults, under age 21. The penalty for doing so, even accidentally, is a fine of up to $500. It may also include imprisonment for up to 60 days. Florida alcohol laws permit beer and wine sales in alcohol-licensed retail stores. This includes grocery stores and convenience gas stations. However, only a package store may sell spirits. (Spirits are rum, whiskey, tequila, gin, vodka, etc.) This distinction is based on an old myth. It’s that spirits
2. People must be 21 or older to buy alcohol. Even a first offense is a crime. It’s jail for 60 days and a fine of $500. A second offense can lead to jail for up to one year and a $1,000 fine. Using a fake ID to buy, or attempt to buy, alcohol is a crime. It’s punishable with prison for up to five years and a fine up to $5,000. Lending an ID to someone is punishable by 60 days in jail and a $500.00 fine. Using someone else’s ID carries the same penalties. And the state may suspend the licenses o
3. Estimated Reading Time: 7 mins

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Mayor Kriseman has long sought to update St. Pete’s Blue Laws — the hours when alcohol sales are permitted. On March 7, the Pinellas County Commission, at the request of Mayor Kriseman and the council of mayors, passed an ordinance revising our area’s blue laws. Ordinance prohibits liquor sales between 3am and 8am . The ordinance disallows liquor sales …

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

(6) DISPLAY AND ADVERTISING OF CONSUMER COMMODITY UNIT PRICES. — A seller shall conspicuously and clearly display the price per package or unit and the unit price in close proximity to the display of the commodity in such manner as may be established by rules of the department. However, the display of the prices may not obliterate or conceal any other …

Preview

Posted in: Consumer LawShow details

What did the blue laws do? Hudson Jr.) The term blue law commonly refers to the prohibition of alcohol sales on Sunday, but it historically defined a body of regulations designed to preserve the Sabbath by proscribing most labor on that day. Some such restrictions date to as early as the thirteenth century in England. Why do they call them blue laws? Rather, the word blue was …

Preview

Posted in: Labor LawShow details

According to Florida Statute 316.220, headlights must show a white light. Florida state law also requires the headlights to light the roadway for 450 feet from the vehicle. Drivers who use colored headlamps that do not emit white light can be ticketed for failing to comply with state vehicle laws. The violation is considered a nonmoving infraction.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

The 2021 Florida Statutes. 501.135 Consumer unit pricing.—. (1) SHORT TITLE. — This act shall be known and cited as “The Consumer Unit Pricing Act.”. (2) PURPOSES; RULE OF INTERPRETATION. — This act shall be liberally construed to effectively promote the following purposes and policies: (a) Protect the interests of consumers and

Preview

Posted in: Consumer LawShow details

A new bill passed into law and signed by the governor of Florida makes important changes to the Florida Move Over Law. In addition to police, fire, and tow trucks, HB 7005 adds sanitation vehicles and utility service vehicles to the Move Over Law. Florida’s Move Over Law requires that motorists approaching an emergency vehicle such as police, fire ambulance, or …

Preview

Posted in: Truck LawShow details

The statutory scheme of the Florida Securities Act (and most other states’ blue sky laws) follows the statutory scheme of the federal laws: The security 3 offered for sale must either be registered with the state or qualify for an exemption from registration. 4 The registration process—both on the federal and state level—can be onerous, costly, and time consuming.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Re: online advertised price. Florida Statute section 501.976(16), entitled Actionable, unfair, or deceptive acts or practices. states that "It is an unfair or deceptive act or practice, actionable under the Florida Deceptive and Unfair Trade Practices Act, for a dealer to:

Preview

Posted in: Air LawShow details

Florida State University Law Review Volume 1 Issue 3 Article 1 1973 Florida's New Consumer Finance Act, or, Whatever Happened to "Small" Loan Laws Jarret C. Oeltjen Florida State University Follow this and additional works at: https://ir.law.fsu.edu/lr Part of the Law Commons Recommended Citation Jarret C. Oeltjen, Florida's New Consumer Finance Act, or, Whatever …

1. Author: Jarret C. Oeltjen
2. Created Date: 6/9/2020 4:03:58 PM
3. Publish Year: 1973

Preview

Posted in: Consumer Law, University LawShow details

On November 7, 1933, the referendum on the Blue Laws passed in Philadelphia and it became law. [66] [67] Regarding alcohol, wines and spirits are to be sold only in the state owned Fine Wine & Good Spirits stores, where all prices must remain the same throughout the state (county sales tax may cause the price to differ slightly).

1. Estimated Reading Time: 8 mins

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

This supposedly has to do with high winds that could blow the doors in. 12. It is illegal to have sexual relations with a porcupine. Flickr/Aleksandr Kavun. Sometimes the law protects you from yourself. 13. Showering naked is prohibited. Flickr/Kevin McShane. I'm sure everyone in Florida has broken this law a few times.

1. Estimated Reading Time: 5 mins

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Why is it called the blue law? In the United States, “blue laws,” so called due to the blue paper on which Puritan leaders printed the Sunday trade restrictions, date back to the 18th century at least. Many forms of commerce were regulated or restricted so that workers should spend time in church or with their families.

Preview

Posted in: Form LawShow details

Florida’s anti-texting law is a secondary offense and very few tickets for texting while driving have been issued since the, basically toothless, law went into effect. The greater population of full time residents and visitors combined with the epidemic of distracted drivers on Florida’s highways means there will more chances to be involved in a crash.

Preview

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Please leave your comments here:

Related Topics

New Popular Law

Frequently Asked Questions

What are blue laws in the us?

Blue laws in the United States. Blue laws, also known as Sunday laws, are laws designed to restrict or ban some or all Sunday activities for religious reasons, particularly to promote the observance of a day of worship or rest.

Is neon underglow legal in florida?

Florida neon underglow usage is governed by the state's Code. All relevant laws, rules and regulations pertaining to vehicle lighting including car underglow in Florida have been provided below.

What are the liquor laws in central florida on sundays?

The truth is that booze laws are a mish-mash throughout Central Florida. Many cities have phased out "blue laws," which treat Sundays differently. But some have not. Winter Park has some of the most unique blue laws, banning Sunday sales before 11 a.m. and after midnight.

Are there any laws that are unique to florida?

Florida: a state full of unique people, places, and — come to find out — laws. Some of these laws may be as old as St. Augustine (the oldest city in the US), but that doesn’t change the fact that they are written law. Take a look at some of Florida’s most unique and outlandish laws.

Most Popular Search