Arizona Rental Property Laws

Filter Type: All Time Past 24 Hours Past Week Past monthFacebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

Listing Results Arizona Rental Property Laws

7 hours ago Arizona small claims court will hear rent-related disputes valued up to $3,500, though some local courts may allow cases with a greater value. Small claims court does not handle evictions cases and written and oral contracts have a 6-year and 3-year statute of limitations, respectively. Mandatory Disclosures in Arizona

Estimated Reading Time: 6 mins

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Arizona rental laws for tenantsShow details

4 hours ago Rental Payment Laws in Arizona What are the rules regarding rent payments in Arizona? In Arizona, the landlord is free to charge any rent price agreed upon by the parties because there is no rent control or limit required by the state. Rent is due on the date indicated in the lease agreement.

Estimated Reading Time: 9 mins

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Laws for rental property ownersShow details

7 hours ago Prepaid Rent Limit – Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1321 (A) – Landlord cannot require more than 1 and 1/2 months rent for any deposit and prepaid rent combined. Tenant may prepay rent in excess of 1 and 1/2 months rent voluntarily. Nonsufficient Funds – No statute on nonsuficient funds and returned check fees.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

1 hours ago Under Arizona State law there are two Residential Landlord and Tenant Acts, one that pertains to standard rental housing and the other to renters in Mobile Home Parks. The Residential Landlord and Tenant Act that pertains to standard rental housing was enacted to govern the rental of dwelling units and the rights and obligations of landlord and

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

1 hours ago Arizona Residential Landlord and Tenant Act An Arizona Department of Housing Publication . Page 3 . Arizona Revised Statute . Title 33 – Property . Chapter 10 – Arizona Residential Landlord and Tenant Act . Article 1 – General Provisions . 33-1301 Short title 33-1302 Purposes 33-1303 Supplementary principles of law applicable

File Size: 540KB
Page Count: 47

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Property LawShow details

2 hours ago Arizona state law limits how much a landlord can charge for a security deposit (one- and one-half month's rent), when it must be returned (within 14 days after a tenant moves), and sets other restrictions on deposits. See Arizona Security Deposit Limits and Deadlines for more on the subject. Small Claims Lawsuits in Arizona

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

1 hours ago (revised July 3, 2015). You can get a free copy of the Act from https://housing.az.gov, or you can look up the Act in the Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S. §§ 331301 to 33- -1381), which is available in the reference sections of most public libraries or law libraries in the state.

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

4 hours ago Cost of rental: means the difference between the total of all periodic payments necessary to acquire ownership under the rental-purchase agreement and the cash price of the rental property that is subject to the rental-purchase agreement. See Arizona Laws 44-6801. Counterclaim: A claim that a defendant makes against a plaintiff.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Property LawShow details

Just Now Owners of Arizona Rental Real Property Subject to New Rent Tax Rules 1/1/18. In Arizona residential rental is the renting of Arizona real property for more than 30 days for residential purposes only. Arizona residential rental properties are subject to state rent tax. Some, but not all, Arizona cities also tax residential rental income.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Property LawShow details

6 hours ago If the owner of a vacation rental or short-term rental has provided contact information to a city or town pursuant to subsection B, paragraph 4 of this section and if the city or town issues a citation for a violation of the city's or town's applicable laws, regulations or ordinances or a state law that occurred on the owner's vacation rental

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Contact Lawyer, Form LawShow details

Just Now Short-Term Rentals in Arizona to Continue Without Added Regulation. In early 2020, Arizona lawmakers introduced some proposed bills to the state’s House of Representatives that were aimed at increasing the number of regulations that would apply to short-term rental homes. The ostensible targets of the proposal were the sorts of properties

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

8 hours ago When You Can Evict a Tenant. When a tenant has no lease in Arizona, you can end the tenancy without providing the tenant with a reason, but you must give them written notice and a minimum amount of time to leave. You must provide at least 30 days' notice to a month-to-month tenant, and 10 days' notice to a week-to-week tenant.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Just Now Arizona law allows landlords to verify claims of domestic violence within their property. Where there’s proof of domestic violence, the tenant can terminate the lease without being penalized. The landlord must change locks or keys if they are requested b victims of domestic violence at the expense of the tenant.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Property LawShow details

1 hours ago Key Points. 1 Arizonian property management companies must have real estate brokers’ licensing.; 2 For those looking to find renters for their property, it’s important to consider hiring professional property management to make sure that the state laws and regulations are adhered to.; 3 Property management companies take on much of the work of renting and maintaining …

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Estate Law, Property LawShow details

6 hours ago If a tenant materially breaches the lease, Arizona law imposes certain responsibilities on a landlord. Initially, although a landlord is permitted to seize a tenant’s personal property left at the property if the tenant refuses or fails to pay outstanding rent, the landlord may not seize personal property that is exempt under Arizona law.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Contract Law, Property LawShow details

202-708-1112

5 hours ago U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development 451 7th Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20410 T: 202-708-1112

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

4 hours ago

1. Before a property is ever rented out on a short-term basis, the property owner or their representative must provide their contact information to the controlling municipality (that is, the city or town in which the property is located). This allows the city or state to contact the owner in order to respond to complaints. It can be done over the phone, via email or in person, but don’t expect the city to remind you—HB 2672 makes it clear that the owner is obligated to register their contact information, but if the controlling municipality doesn’t send a reminder, the owner will not be off the hook.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Contact Lawyer, Form LawShow details

2 hours ago FREE ARIZONA LEASE/RENTAL AGREEMENT . Does your lease/rental agreement have ALL “NOTICES” and “SPECIAL PROVISIONS” that are REQUIRED by Arizona law?. How can you know if your lease/rental agreement complies with Arizona law? If your form was drafted before 2012, it doesn’t comply (some important laws changed in 2012 and after).; If your form says it …

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form LawShow details

Just Now Arizona Landlord Tenant Laws [2021]: Renter's Rights & FAQs. Rentals Details: In Arizona, a rental agreement may be either written or verbal. Pursuant to Arizona law, (Arizona Landlord and Tenant Act) a rental agreement automatically allows certain tenant rights, such as the right to a habitable dwelling unit and the right to take at least one form of alternative action.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form Law, Property LawShow details

2 hours ago negligently fails to provide essential services contrary to the rental agreement or the Arizona Residential Landlord and Tenant Act, the tenant may give written notice to the landlord specifying the breach and may do one of the following. a) Obtain services and deduct the actual reasonable cost from the rent;

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Services LawShow details

8 hours ago Landlord Access to Rental Property, Tenant Protection Against Retaliation, and Other State Laws in Arizona. Several other landlord-tenant laws in Arizona affect both property owners and renters, including: restrictions on landlord’s right to access rental property (Arizona landlords must …

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Property LawShow details

6 hours ago Arizona landlords are required to provide a tenant with quiet enjoyment of the leased premises. This means that the tenant cannot be disturbed or prevented in any way from the full use of the leased property. Courts generally read a covenant of quiet enjoyment between the Landlord and Tenant into every rental agreement or tenancy.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Estate Law, Property LawShow details

41-1491.14

3 hours ago Shall not discriminate against renters (as per 42 U.S.C. 3604for the federal statute and A.R.S. §41-1491.14 and A.R.S. §41-1491.19 for the Arizona statutes) Shall provide what the law describes as a “fit residence,” as defined by A.R.S. §33-1324 Ensure the rental is safe, free from pests, and in operable condition.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

6 hours ago Rental Laws. To make sure all responsible landlords and tenants are informed, we provide detailed information about local, state and federal laws governing rental properties. 1. Landlord Tenant Rights – state-by-state breakdowns of the law that govern the rights and duties of landlords and tenants. Additionally, see our breakdowns of the main

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form LawShow details

1 hours ago Arizona is one of the few states having a section in its real estate statute specifically devoted to property management requirements. Arizona law requires that property management agreements contain specific provisions, that all property management accounts are designated as trust accounts, and that records be kept in a certain manner.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Estate Law, Trust LawShow details

6 hours ago business personal property are a lien against the property and a debt against the property owner. A.R.S. 42-17153, 42-19106, and 42-19117(A). Classes of Property and Assessment Ratios Arizona law establishes several classes and subclasses of property. The property classes are established “for the common treatment of the property in each class for

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Business Law, Property LawShow details

6 hours ago The maximum amount a security deposit can be is one and one-half months rent in addition to the first month's rent.A.R.S. § 33-1321(A).Security deposits do not include charges for cleaning or redecorating the unit. A.R.S. § 33-1310(14). Within fourteen business days after termination of tenancy, landlords must refund either all of the security deposit or the remainder …

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Business LawShow details

1 hours ago The Mobile Home Landlord & Tenant Act was enacted to govern the rental of mobile home spaces in which the resident owns his home in a Arizona mobile home park. Community Legal Services is a non-profit law firm committed to increasing fairness in the civil justice system by advocating, litigating , and educating on behalf of Arizona’s most

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Civil Law, Services LawShow details

2 hours ago It is equally easy for tenants in Arizona to get out of a month-to-month rental agreement. You must provide the same amount of notice (30 days) as the landlord (unless your rental agreement provides for a shorter amount of notice).

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

6 hours ago Once the tenant vacates the property, in accordance with Arizona Revised Statutes Annotated Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1321(D), the landlord must return to the tenant the security deposit in full, a partial refund along with an itemized statement or if no deposit is due, a full itemized statement to the last known address of the tenant. This

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Property LawShow details

6 hours ago Tenant Lock-Out for Commercial Real Estate in Arizona. A commercial real estate landlord in Arizona does generally have the right to lock out a tenant who has not paid the rent. You do want to have clear expectations and language in the contract about the process of notification and the grace period the tenant has for any past due amount.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Contract Law, Estate LawShow details

3 hours ago

1. Equal Opportunity Housing. 33-303; 33-1317. Tenants in the state of Arizona have the right to equal opportunity in housing-related activities. This right is protected under the Federal Fair Housing Act.
2. Security Deposit. 33-1321; 33-1341. Landlords in the state of Arizona have the right to collect a security deposit from a tenant. Tenants in the state of Arizona also have rights when it comes to the collection, maintenance, and return of their security deposit.
3. Cases of Domestic Violence. 33-1318. Tenants who have been victims of domestic violence have the right to terminate their rental agreement. The tenant must provide written notice to the landlord with certain documentation which supports their claim of domestic violence, such as a copy of a protective order.
4. Notice Before Entry. 33-1343. Tenants in the state of Arizona have the right to the private enjoyment of their dwelling. The landlord, however, is lawfully allowed to enter the unit at certain times.
5. Disclosure of Agent. 33-1322. In Arizona, a tenant has the right to know the name and address of: The person or persons who have the authority to manage the property.
6. Landlord Retaliation. 33-1367; 33-1381. A tenant in Arizona is protected from landlord acts of retaliation. An example of a retaliatory action could be a landlord raising a tenant’s rent after the tenant complains to the town about a health or safety issue.
7. Withhold Rent for Repairs. 33-1363 to 1365. Under Arizona statute, a tenant has the right to withhold rent or make deductions from their monthly rent if certain repair requests are not met by the landlord or completed in a timely manner.
8. Notice to Quit. 33-1368. In Arizona, tenants have the right to receive a Notice to Quit before they face lease termination or eviction. Depending on the offense, the tenant will usually have between five and ten days to remedy the behavior or face termination of lease or eviction.
9. Rent Disclosure. 33-1314C; 33-1314E; 33-1342B. Tenants in Arizona have the right to certain disclosures about rent. This includes how and when the rent will be paid, penalties for nonpayment of rent, any applicable late fees and the process for increasing a tenant’s rent.
10. Landlord-Tenant Act. For the original text of Arizona’s landlord-tenant act, please consult Arizona Statutes §§12-1171 to 12 1183 and §§ 33-1301 to 33-1381.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Support Law, Document LawShow details

3 hours ago Register now for your free Arizona rental property registration laws for residential landlords Sherman & Howard LLC USA March 29 2012 If your appeal may come at a higher price, since a

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Property LawShow details

6 hours ago In terms of its requirements, a month-to-month tenancy, unless following a lease holdover, generally would be governed by the Arizona Residential Landlord and Tenant Act. Fair enough. Adjustments could be construed to be changes in rules and regulations per A.R.S. § 33-1342, but they cannot constitute a substantial modification of the tenancy

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Air LawShow details

2 hours ago This is a summary of Arizona Landlord-Tenant laws that apply to residential (non-commercial) rentals. These references were compiled from the Arizona Revised Statutes, including the Arizona Residential Landlord and Tenant Act, and various online sources to serve as a reference and for people wanting to learn about Arizona landlord-tenant laws, Arizona

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Commercial LawShow details

9 hours ago Arizona Governor Doug Ducey has signed a bill that requires short-term rental hosts to include a lodging tax license number in all advertisements. The new law, which goes into effect August 27, 2019, requires short-term rental operators to hold a current transaction privilege tax (TPT) license before offering up a vacation rental to guests.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

5 hours ago Arizona landlords are definitely going to do a better job in choosing wonderful tenants when they know the law. Arizona tenant screening laws include: Landlords are allowed to charge an application fee, payable when the person turns in their completed application. Arizona puts no limit on what landlords can charge for an application fee.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

6 hours ago A landlord must disclose in writing the name and address of the property manager and the owner or owner's agent. A.R.S. § 33-1322(A). Landlords must give notice that copies of the Arizona Residential Landlord and Tenant Act are available for free from the Arizona Secretary of State's Office. A.R.S. § 33-1322(B).

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Property LawShow details

5 hours ago Houses For Rent In Arizona Arizona Homes For Rent. Rentals Details: Houses For Rent In Arizona.Included below are rental properties in Arizona.If you would like more information on any of these rental properties, just click the "Request More Information" button when viewing the details of that property.We can provide you with disclosures, past sales history, dates and …

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form Law, Property LawShow details

2 hours ago Question: Is a short term vacation rental that has a signed lease agreement with a start and end date exempt from the covid eviction laws?Rental agreement can be a short as 2 days, and as long as 90 days for a winter snowbird. Read Answer » Question: If we live in a gated senior community, what is the responsibility of the Landlord to notify residents of an uptick in crime?

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

1 hours ago For example, if you used a short-term rental agreement, when the law required you to use a regular rental agreement, and you entered the rental property because of a “breach of contract” (e.g., nonpayment or other violation) without notice and for ANY purpose (e.g., to inspect, change the locks, etc.), then you have trespassed, which is a

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Contract Law, Property LawShow details

1 hours ago A tenant who is vacating a rental unit may also wish to have a friend drop by to witness the condition of the unit first-hand. Under Arizona law (A.R.S. §33-1321), landlords may ask for a security deposit up to an amount that is equal to 1 + ½ …

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

2 hours ago Arizona. The next state that favors real estate investors if the tenant doesn't pay the rent is Arizona. When it comes to property taxes, the Arizona housing market has one of the lowest in the country with just 0.72%. A 10-day notice is given to a tenant who has violated the lease or rental agreement.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Estate Law, Property LawShow details

6 hours ago How Do I Register A Rental PLEASE NOTE: Our online residential rental registration form is suitable for parcels with Residential property use codes and noted as " Residential Parcel " on the parcel details page to the right opposite the parcel number at the top of the page.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form Law, Property LawShow details

2 hours ago Individual owners of taxable rental properties are required by law to obtain a transaction privilege tax (TPT) license with the Arizona Department of Revenue (ADOR), regardless if the owner rents the property themselves or employs a property management company (PMC). A license is only required for cities that impose a tax on residential rental

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Property LawShow details

2 hours ago Arizona Vacation Rental Lease Agreement Combo Package Get 7 forms for just $39.95 Save 68%! This Vacation Rental Lease Agreements Combo Package contains the forms frequently used by landlords or property managers when renting a vacation property. This combo package is designed for use in Arizona and is ready for immediate download.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form Law, Property LawShow details

Filter Type: All Time Past 24 Hours Past Week Past monthFacebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

Please leave your comments here:

New Popular Law

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the landlord and tenant laws in arizona?

Landlord-Tenant Act. Landlords must also provide a copy of this act to the tenant before the tenancy begins. Landlords in Arizona are prohibited from changing the locks as a form of eviction. Tenants can request a lock change if they are the victim of domestic abuse and landlords are required to acquiesce but the tenant must pay for the changes.

What does it mean to rent a house in arizona?

In Arizona residential rental is the renting of Arizona real property for more than 30 days for residential purposes only. Arizona residential rental properties are subject to state rent tax. Some, but not all, Arizona cities also tax residential rental income.

Do i need a license to rent out my property in arizona?

Landlord rental licenses are not required by Arizona law. However, the owner of residential rental property is required to register the property with the assessor in the county where the property is located.

What are the rules for paying rent late in arizona?

Arizona Late Fees and Other Rent Rules. State law regulates several rent-related issues, including late and bounced-check fees, the amount of notice (at least 30 days in Arizona) landlords must give tenants to raise the rent, and how much time (five days in Arizona) a tenant has to pay rent or move before a landlord can file for eviction.

Most Popular Search