Arizona Rental Laws For Tenants

Filter Type: All Time Past 24 Hours Past Week Past monthFacebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

Listing Results Arizona Rental Laws For Tenants

7 hours ago Landlord Right to Entry in Arizona Landlords must provide at least 2 days’ advance notice before entering an occupied property and this notice must be in a form that is agreed upon by the landlord and tenant (usually written). Landlords are not required to get permission to enter for emergencies that threaten the safety or well-being of the tenant.

Estimated Reading Time: 6 mins

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form Law, Property LawShow details

1 hours ago Under Arizona State law there are two Residential Landlord and Tenant Acts, one that pertains to standard rental housing and the other to renters in Mobile Home Parks. The Residential Landlord and Tenant Act that pertains to standard rental housing was enacted to govern the rental of dwelling units and the rights and obligations of landlord and

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

7 hours ago Prepaid Rent Limit – Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1321 (A) – Landlord cannot require more than 1 and 1/2 months rent for any deposit and prepaid rent combined. Tenant may prepay rent in excess of 1 and 1/2 months rent voluntarily. Nonsufficient Funds – No statute on nonsuficient funds and returned check fees.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

1 hours ago This chapter shall be known and may be cited as the Arizona residential landlord and tenant act. 33-1302. Purposes Underlying purposes and policies of this chapter are: 1. To simplify, clarify, modernize and revise the law governing the rental of dwelling units and the rights and obligations of landlord and tenant. 2.

File Size: 540KB
Page Count: 47

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

3 hours ago

1. Equal Opportunity Housing. 33-303; 33-1317. Tenants in the state of Arizona have the right to equal opportunity in housing-related activities. This right is protected under the Federal Fair Housing Act.
2. Security Deposit. 33-1321; 33-1341. Landlords in the state of Arizona have the right to collect a security deposit from a tenant. Tenants in the state of Arizona also have rights when it comes to the collection, maintenance, and return of their security deposit.
3. Cases of Domestic Violence. 33-1318. Tenants who have been victims of domestic violence have the right to terminate their rental agreement. The tenant must provide written notice to the landlord with certain documentation which supports their claim of domestic violence, such as a copy of a protective order.
4. Notice Before Entry. 33-1343. Tenants in the state of Arizona have the right to the private enjoyment of their dwelling. The landlord, however, is lawfully allowed to enter the unit at certain times.
5. Disclosure of Agent. 33-1322. In Arizona, a tenant has the right to know the name and address of: The person or persons who have the authority to manage the property.
6. Landlord Retaliation. 33-1367; 33-1381. A tenant in Arizona is protected from landlord acts of retaliation. An example of a retaliatory action could be a landlord raising a tenant’s rent after the tenant complains to the town about a health or safety issue.
7. Withhold Rent for Repairs. 33-1363 to 1365. Under Arizona statute, a tenant has the right to withhold rent or make deductions from their monthly rent if certain repair requests are not met by the landlord or completed in a timely manner.
8. Notice to Quit. 33-1368. In Arizona, tenants have the right to receive a Notice to Quit before they face lease termination or eviction. Depending on the offense, the tenant will usually have between five and ten days to remedy the behavior or face termination of lease or eviction.
9. Rent Disclosure. 33-1314C; 33-1314E; 33-1342B. Tenants in Arizona have the right to certain disclosures about rent. This includes how and when the rent will be paid, penalties for nonpayment of rent, any applicable late fees and the process for increasing a tenant’s rent.
10. Landlord-Tenant Act. For the original text of Arizona’s landlord-tenant act, please consult Arizona Statutes §§12-1171 to 12 1183 and §§ 33-1301 to 33-1381.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Support Law, Document LawShow details

1 hours ago Arizona Tenants’ Rights & Responsibilities Handbook 3 II. Security Deposits (For more information, see A.R.S. § 331321) - A. Find out if the rental agreement requires a security deposit and/or cleaning deposit. If so, find out the amount of the deposit required, and whether it is refundable when you move out.

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form LawShow details

2 hours ago A new federal law was enacted on May 20, 2009, the Protecting Tenants in Foreclosure Act (Public Law No. 111-22; Senate Bill 896).* This new law requires that tenants in foreclosed properties receive a 90-day notice prior to being evicted. Specifically, the new law requires that, in …

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

7 hours ago Arizona landlords must give tenants at least 30 days' notice (in writing) to increase rent or change another term of a month-to-month rental agreement. If you have a long-term lease, however, landlords may not increase the rent until the lease ends and a new tenancy begins—unless the lease itself provides for an increase.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

6 hours ago Southwest Fair Housing Council - Links to legal resources for tenants. Arizona Tenants Advocates - More links to legal information related to tenant rights, arranged by county and city; Tenant's Survival Guide by Carlton C. Casler - Availabe in the Law Library. Call Number: KFA2517.Z9 C372 1998

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form Law, Air LawShow details

8 hours ago A rental agreement may not permit the receipt of rent free of the landlord’s obligation to comply with A.R.S. § 33-1324(A). A.R.S. § 33-1316. Moreover, a rental agreement cannot provide that a tenant waive any of his tenant rights or remedies in the landlord-tenant act.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

8 hours ago In Arizona, landlords may charge tenants a security deposit of no more than 1.5 months’ rent as a component of their lease agreement. The deposit cannot be used as the tenant’s last month rent payment. Security deposits are used for covering unpaid rent and repairing rental property damages beyond normal wear and tear at the end of the

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Property Law, Air LawShow details

202-708-1112

5 hours ago U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development 451 7th Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20410 T: 202-708-1112

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

4 hours ago In Arizona, the landlord is free to charge any rent price agreed upon by the parties because there is no rent control or limit required by the state. Rent is due on the date indicated in the lease agreement.

Estimated Reading Time: 9 mins

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

1 hours ago Welcome to Arizona Tenant Advocates homepage. LOW PRICE • Thorough Work for Much Less than an Attorney. FAST • Most Cases Terminate in 20 Days “These city codes on rental properties could become unusable if this law were to pass, said tenant advocate Ken Volk.“You’d take away a lot of the hammer that comes down on rentals in

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

2 hours ago You can get a free copy of the Act from the Arizona Secretary of State’s Office in Phoenix (see the blue pages in your telephone book), or you can look up the Act in the Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S. §§ 33-1301 to 33-1381), which is available in the reference sections of most public libraries or law libraries in the state. A copy is

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

6 hours ago To make sure all responsible landlords and tenants are informed, we provide detailed information about local, state and federal laws governing rental properties. 1. Landlord Tenant Rights – state-by-state breakdowns of the law that govern the rights and duties of landlords and tenants. Additionally, see our breakdowns of the main areas of landlord/tenant laws by topic area: […]

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form LawShow details

2 hours ago All information in this booklet comes from The Arizona Residential Landlord and Tenant Act (revised July 3. 2015). You can get a free copy of the Act from the Arizona Department of Housing in Phoenix (see the blue pages in your telephone book), or you can look up the Act in the Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S. §§ 33-1301 to 33-1381), which is available in the reference …

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form LawShow details

7 hours ago If you are looking for information on the Arizona landlord tenant act as well as how to terminate a lease (legally break a lease), and how to terminate a lease in Arizona or in any other State in America, then please see our website for details. If you are also looking for information on how to break an apartment lease early as well as for landlord tenant laws or break lease information

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form LawShow details

8 hours ago When a tenant has no lease in Arizona, you can end the tenancy without providing the tenant with a reason, but you must give them written notice and a minimum amount of time to leave. You must provide at least 30 days' notice to a month-to-month tenant, and 10 days' notice to a week-to-week tenant. If a tenant fails to pay rent, you must

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

2 hours ago There is no Arizona law requiring a certain payment method for rent. Fees Can landlords charge late fees when rent is late? Yes. There is no Arizona law forbidding late fees or limiting the amount that landlords can charge for residential dwellings. For manufactured homes, late fees must not exceed five dollars per day. ( Ariz. Rev. Stat.

Estimated Reading Time: 6 mins

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Bidding LawShow details

6 hours ago Once the tenant vacates the property, in accordance with Arizona Revised Statutes Annotated Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1321 (D), the landlord must return to the tenant the security deposit in full, a partial refund along with an itemized statement or if no deposit is due, a full itemized statement to the last known address of the tenant.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Property LawShow details

41-1491.14

3 hours ago Shall not discriminate against renters (as per 42 U.S.C. 3604for the federal statute and A.R.S. §41-1491.14 and A.R.S. §41-1491.19 for the Arizona statutes) Shall provide what the law describes as a “fit residence,” as defined by A.R.S. §33-1324 Ensure the rental is safe, free from pests, and in operable condition.

Estimated Reading Time: 6 mins

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

2 hours ago Question: Is a short term vacation rental that has a signed lease agreement with a start and end date exempt from the covid eviction laws?Rental agreement can be a short as 2 days, and as long as 90 days for a winter snowbird. Read Answer » Question: If we live in a gated senior community, what is the responsibility of the Landlord to notify residents of an uptick in crime?

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

6 hours ago Initially, although a landlord is permitted to seize a tenant’s personal property left at the property if the tenant refuses or fails to pay outstanding rent, the landlord may not seize personal property that is exempt under Arizona law. See A.R.S. 33-361 (D).

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Contract Law, Property LawShow details

1 hours ago The Mobile Home Landlord & Tenant Act was enacted to govern the rental of mobile home spaces in which the resident owns his home in a Arizona mobile home park. Community Legal Services is a non-profit law firm committed to increasing fairness in the civil justice system by advocating, litigating , and educating on behalf of Arizona’s most

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Civil Law, Services LawShow details

5 hours ago Arizona landlords are definitely going to do a better job in choosing wonderful tenants when they know the law. Arizona tenant screening laws include: Landlords are allowed to charge an application fee, payable when the person turns in their completed application. Arizona puts no limit on what landlords can charge for an application fee.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

2 hours ago Arizona Late Fees and Other Rent Rules. State law regulates several rent-related issues, including late and bounced-check fees, the amount of notice (at least 30 days in Arizona) landlords must give tenants to raise the rent, and how much time (five days in Arizona) a tenant has to pay rent or move before a landlord can file for eviction.

1. Author: Marcia Stewart

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

6 hours ago Arizona State Law, A.R.S § 33-1331, gives tenants of foreclosed properties some limited protections; information about these protections can be found in this article. This article remains on AZLawHelp.org purely for historical value for those interested in how the Protecting Tenants at Foreclosure Act operated from 2009 through 2014.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form LawShow details

Just Now 0 Arizona Landlord Tenant Law. Just like in other states, the relationship between landlords and tenants in Arizona is governed by The Residential Landlord and Tenant Act.This Act clearly stipulates the responsibilities and obligations as well as the rights of both landlords and tenants.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

6 hours ago Landlords must give notice that copies of the Arizona Residential Landlord and Tenant Act are available for free from the Arizona Secretary of State's Office. A.R.S. § 33-1322(B). Landlords must provide tenants with a move-in inspection form to record any existing damage to the residence. A.R.S. § 33-1321(C).

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form LawShow details

1 hours ago The first step in knowing your renter deposit rights in Arizona is knowing how much a security deposit can be. In Arizona, landlords can only charge one and a half times the rental amount for a security deposit ( ARS § 33-1321 (A) ). For example, if your rent is $1,000 a month, your security deposit can be no more than $1,500.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

4 hours ago Arizona Tenant Attorney in Phoenix, AZ, is a legal firm that is dedicated to protecting the rights of renters. Although protections do exist, Arizona is known to be less tenant-friendly compared to other states. If you are in need of our services, contact us today to schedule a consultation.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Contact Lawyer, Services LawShow details

3 hours ago Must give a 2 day notice before entering. When it comes to Arizona rental laws, there are a few specifics landlords need to know: Security Deposits – Landlords may require up to a month and a half of rent as a security deposit. They must return the security deposit within 14 days of a tenant moving out. Raising RentArizona has no laws

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

2 hours ago Legal issues related to real estate and the landlord/tenant relationship come in a variety of forms. In Arizona, these often include: Landlord/tenant disputes, such as those related to rental rates, late or unpaid rent, security deposits, disagreements about the habitability of rental property, and other tenant rights and landlord rights issues.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form Law, Estate LawShow details

8 hours ago FHFA Multifamily Tenant Protections - Minimum 30-day Notice to Tenant to Move Out: No landlord (public or private) whose underlying financing for a multifamily property is backed by the federal government (e.g., HUD/FHA or USDA), purchased or securitized by the Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation (Freddie Mac) or the Federal National

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Property Law, Family LawShow details

6 hours ago Because the Arizona Residential Landlord and Tenant Act parcels out various duties to the landlord and tenant, a real estate developer should judiciously utilize the services of an experienced real estate law firm in Arizona to make sure any leases signed before the completion of the project are realistic and obtainable.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Estate Law, Commercial LawShow details

Just Now Short-Term Rentals in Arizona to Continue Without Added Regulation. In early 2020, Arizona lawmakers introduced some proposed bills to the state’s House of Representatives that were aimed at increasing the number of regulations that would apply to short-term rental homes. The ostensible targets of the proposal were the sorts of properties

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

2 hours ago Free means free! Here are some of the features of this FREE Arizona Residential Lease/Rental Agreement: Includes complete instructions (12 pages explaining what, when & why) Written from landlord’s perspective, not the tenant’s perspective. Includes ALL NOTICES and ALL ADDENDA required by Arizona law and federal law.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

9 hours ago Notable Nuances for Arizona State Landlord Laws. Arizona landlords are required to register their rental property with the county assessor and provide information to that office such as the rental property address, name and contact information of the owner and any company information related to ownership, according to per Arizona Revised Statutes Section 33-1902.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Contact Lawyer, Form LawShow details

6 hours ago The University of Arizona James E. Rogers College of Law: Arizona Residential Landlord - Tenant Law ; Joint Center for Housing Studies at Harvard University. "America's Rental Housing 2020," Page 9. Accessed March 20, 2020. Nolo. "State Laws on Landlord's Access to Rental Property." Accessed March 20, 2020. Nolo.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Property Law, University LawShow details

3 hours ago The Arizona Residential Landlord Tenant Act is a state law, so counselors are available to educate people throughout the entire state through free

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Air LawShow details

6 hours ago Arizona Commercial Tenant Law. The Arizona Residential Landlord and Tenant Act covers the state's rental transactions between residential landlords and their tenants. Commercial landlords are subject to a different set of regulations. Commercial landlords are subject to Sections 33-301 to 33-381 of the Arizona Revised Statutes.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Commercial LawShow details

9 hours ago (Revised with laws in effect as of August 3, 2018) 4 8. "Landlord" means: (a) The owner, lessor, sublessor or operator, or any combination of these persons, of a recreational vehicle park. (b) A manager of the premises. 9. "Mobile home" means either of the following: (a) A residential structure that was manufactured on or before June 15, 1976, that is transportable in …

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Sports LawShow details

602-533-2840

Just Now MacQueen & Gottlieb has significant experience with short-term rental laws in Arizona. Our attorneys can help you with any legal issues regarding an Airbnb or other online lodging marketplace rentals. Our firm can also assist with the process of limiting short-term rentals in your neighborhood. Contact us today at 602-533-2840 or make an

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Contact Lawyer, Estate LawShow details

2 hours ago Landlord-Tenant Laws. *If the landlord charges the tenant more than one month’s, he or she must pay the tenant annual interest on the security deposit. **Rental agreements longer than one year must be written. Get a printable renter application AND learn how to screen New Mexico tenants securely—free for landlords.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

3 hours ago Free Arizona Landlord Forms. Select your landlord forms to download now. As the forms are presented to tenants at the time of application and again at the time a rental agreement is signed, the property owner is essentially giving the tenant who may not meet the qualifications to back out or explain any situation that may come up either during

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form Law, Property LawShow details

5 hours ago Arizona State has the landlord and tenant obligations highlighted under the Residential Landlord and Tenant Acts. They also protect the rights of the tenant as required by section 33-303; 33-1317 of the Federal Fair Housing Act. Also, the tenants with children are given extra protection under the same section. Arizona Tenancy Law Quick Links

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Pdf Law, Children LawShow details

Filter Type: All Time Past 24 Hours Past Week Past monthFacebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

Please leave your comments here:

New Popular Law

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the landlord and tenant laws in arizona?

Landlord-Tenant Act. Landlords must also provide a copy of this act to the tenant before the tenancy begins. Landlords in Arizona are prohibited from changing the locks as a form of eviction. Tenants can request a lock change if they are the victim of domestic abuse and landlords are required to acquiesce but the tenant must pay for the changes.

What are the eviction laws in arizona for nonpayment of rent?

Arizona State Laws on Termination for Nonpayment of Rent. States set specific rules and procedures for ending a tenancy when a tenant has not paid the rent. Arizona landlords must give tenants at least five days in which to pay the rent or move. If the tenant does neither, the landlord can file for eviction.

Can a landlord enter without permission in arizona?

Tenants in the state of Arizona have the right to the private enjoyment of their dwelling. The landlord, however, is lawfully allowed to enter the unit at certain times. The landlord must usually provide the tenant with at least two days’ notice before they can enter the tenant’s unit.

Can a landlord refuse to rent to a child in arizona?

Arizona landlords cannot refuse to rent to families with young children, and they may not use discriminatory advertising limiting their rentals to tenants without children. The Arizona Fair Housing Act and the federal Fair Housing Act covers commercial landlords who provide public accommodations.

Most Popular Search