Arizona Paid Sick Time Law

Filter Type: All Time Past 24 Hours Past Week Past monthFacebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

Listing Results Arizona Paid Sick Time Law

6 hours ago This law requires all Arizona employers to provide paid sick leave, effective July 1, 2017. The law also raised the minimum wage as of January 1, 2017, with additional scheduled increases in the coming years. For more information on the minimum wage laws, see the Industrial Commission of Arizona website.

 / Show more

Posted in: Arizona sick pay lawShow details

9 hours ago Companies with Less Than 15 Employees must allow employees to accrue or use 24 hours of paid sick time each year Companies with 15 or More Employees – must allow employees to accrue or use 40 hours of paid

 / Show more

Posted in: Arizona pto lawShow details

7 hours ago 14 or Fewer Employees – employees must earn at least one hour of paid sick time for every 30 hours worked, up to a maximum of 24 hours of earned paid sick time per year. Of course, employers are welcome to implement benefit programs that offer more paid sick leave than the state-imposed minimums.

Estimated Reading Time: 8 mins

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Arizona sick pay law 2021Show details

9 hours ago Accruing sick time in Arizona Workers, regardless of the size of the employer, earn one hour of paid sick time for every 30 hours that they work. Eligible workers are entitled to at least 24 hours of paid sick time if the employer has 14 or fewer workers. The amount increases to 40 hours of paid sick time for employers with 15 or more workers.

1. Author: Nick Verderame
Estimated Reading Time: 7 mins

 / Show more

Posted in: Arizona sick time law 2021Show details

1 hours ago All covered workers are protected against being fired or punished for using or requesting sick or safe time. If you have a problem—or want more information—call A Better Balance’s free legal helpline at 1-833-NEED-ABB. The Industrial Commission of Arizona is in charge of enforcing this law.

1. the employee's own illness, treatment, or preventative care
2. a family member's illness, treatment, or preventative care
3. the closure of the employee's place of business, or the school or daycare of an employee's child, due to a public health emergency, and

 / Show more

Posted in: Form Law, Business LawShow details

Just Now Proposition 206, the Fair Wages and Healthy Families Act (the “Act”), gives the Industrial Commission of Arizona authority to enforce and implement the Act’s minimum wage and earned paid sick time requirements.

 / Show more

Posted in: Air Law, Health LawShow details

3 hours ago The Earned Paid Sick Time Poster is a labor law posters poster by the Arizona Industrial Commission. This is a mandatory posting for all employers in Arizona, and businesses who fail to comply may be subject to fines or sanctions. This poster is required to be posted in a place that can be easily read by employees.

 / Show more

Posted in: Business Law, Labor LawShow details

4 hours ago Frequently Asked Questions About Wage and Earned Paid Sick . Law Details: The following information is derived from the language of the Act and current administrative rules found in Title 20, Chapter 5, Article 12 of the Arizona Administrative Code. Earned Paid Sick Time COVID-19 FAQs The latest information about the state's response to COVID-19. . Frequently Asked …

 / Show more

Posted in: Form LawShow details

1 hours ago Under this proposed regulation, the maximum PST an employer must allow an employee to accrue would be no more than 80 hours, i.e., 40 hours of unused paid sick time that the employee may have accrued and then carried over from the prior benefit year, plus an additional 40 hours he or she accrues in the current benefit year.

 / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

1 hours ago Due to its consistency with current Arizona law, the rights derived by law under these statutes apply to any action taken by a county, city, town or political subdivision since June 30, 2021. Arizona's Fair Wages and Healthy Families Act provides that earned paid sick time shall be provided for employees when the individual is a risk to the

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Air Law, Health LawShow details

6 hours ago Yes. However, the employer does not have to increase the maximum paid sick time allowed per year when carrying over unused paid sick time into the next paid sick time leave: 40 hours of paid sick time per year for employers with 15 or more employees or 24 hours of paid sick time per year for employers with fewer than 15 or more employees.

 / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

4 hours ago Earned paid sick time may be used for the following purposes: (1) medical care or mental or physical illness, injury, or health condition; or (2) a public health emergency; and (3) absence due to domestic violence, sexual violence, abuse, or stalking. Employees may use earned paid sick time for themselves or for family members.

"PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

 / Show more

Posted in: Family Law, Medical LawShow details

2 hours ago Fair Labor Standards Act ( FLSA) – this law provides the foundation for the federal minimum wage and overtime-pay requirements. The federal minimum wage is currently $7.25/hour, and employers are required to pay 1.5x an employee’s wages for overtime over 40 hours a week. Family and Medical Leave Act ( FMLA) – employers are required to

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Family Law, Labor LawShow details

Just Now Paid Sick Leave. While the minimum wage hikes in Prop. 206 received most of the publicity, the requirement for paid sick leave has proven to be a bigger strain for many private employers, who were not previously required by Arizona law to provide such a benefit.

Preview /

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

2 hours ago May 1, 2018 Legal Updates As we previously advised, effective July 1, 2017, Arizona employers were required to begin allowing their employees to accrue paid sick leave (“PSL”) under the Fair Wages and Healthy Families Act,

 / Show more

Posted in: Air Law, Health LawShow details

5 hours ago The paid sick time component of the law will go into effect July 1, 2017, while the minimum wage increase to $10/ hour begins January 1, 2017. The new Arizona law inserts Article 8.1 entitled "Earned Paid Sick Leave Time" into Section 5, Title 23 of Arizona Revised Statutes. The new law applies to employers regardless of their size or the

 / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Just Now As you may be aware, Arizona’s new paid sick time law goes into effect on July 1, 2017. Under the new law A.R.S. §§ 23-371 to -375 (“Statute”), all employees, including full-time, part-time, exempt and non-exempt, are entitled to paid sick leave. Failure to comply with the Statute can subject the employer to significant penalties.

 / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Just Now Effective January 1, 2022, through December 31, 2022, Arizona's minimum wage will be $12.80 per hour. Effective January 1, 2021, through December 31, 2021, Arizona's minimum wage will be $12.15 per hour. Click on a link below to: Frequently Asked Questions About Wage and Earned Paid Sick Time Laws. (link is external)

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Labor LawShow details

8 hours ago Earned Paid Sick Time (Accrual method) In accordance with Arizona law, effective as of July 1, 2017, all employees accrue earned paid sick time (“PST”) at the rate of 1 hour for every 30 hours worked. Employees are able to accrue up to a maximum of (forty (40) hours / twenty-four (24) hours) of PST per calendar/anniversary year.

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

8 hours ago RELATED: 5 new Arizona laws going into effect this summer. If your company has more than 15 employees, you qualify for a minimum of 40 hours of sick time every year, according to the new law. If

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

9 hours ago In November 2016, Arizona passed the Fair Wages and Healthy Families Act which requires employers provide paid sick leave. Arizona employers with 15 or more employees must allow employees to accrue up to 40 hours of earned paid sick time per year at a rate of 1 hour of paid sick time for every 30 hours worked.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Labor Law, Air LawShow details

2 hours ago Yes, but only if an employee uses earned paid sick time on three or more consecutive work days. Where earned paid sick time is used on three of more consecutive work days, an employer can require reasonable documentation that the earned paid sick time was used for purposes permitted by Arizona’s earned paid sick time laws.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Document Law, Labor LawShow details

6 hours ago The passing of Prop 206 in Arizona created new payroll changes to businesses everywhere, including Arizona paid sick time laws. After Arizona Proposition 206 was approved, companies statewide have worked hard to adjust to the minimum wage raise and increased Arizona paid sick time law. Arizona’s minimum wage was raised to $10.00 an …

 / Show more

Posted in: Business LawShow details

8 hours ago Please note that nothing in Arizona’s earned paid sick time laws, rules, or these FAQs should be construed to discourage or prohibit an employer from adopting an earned paid sick time policy that is more generous than that required by …

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

9 hours ago In lieu of carryover of unused earned paid sick time from one year to the next, an employer may pay a worker for unused paid sick time at the end of a year and provide the worker with an amount of paid sick time that meets or exceeds the law’s requirements that is available for the worker’s immediate use at the beginning of the subsequent year.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Media LawShow details

6 hours ago Additional Resources. Proposition 206’s minimum wage and paid sick leave requirements are being implemented and enforced by the Industrial Commission of Arizona. The information on this site is gathered for your convenience and is meant to be in alignment with the ICA requirements. For additional information, please visit ICA’s website HERE.

 / Show more

Posted in: Form LawShow details

3 hours ago Arizona’s new earned paid sick time law goes into effect July 1. While employers scramble to comply with the accrual and notice provisions, one other aspect of the law presents a …

 / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Just Now COVID-19 and the Arizona Paid Sick Leave Law (US) Sunday, March 15, 2020. In 2017, Arizona passed the Fair Wages and Healthy Families Act, which requires all Arizona employers to provide paid sick

 / Show more

Posted in: Air Law, Health LawShow details

1 hours ago All employers in Arizona are affected by the Arizona paid sick leave law. Arizona law broadly defines “employer” as any corporation, proprietorship, partnership, joint venture, limited liability company, trust, association, political subdivision of the state, individual or other entity acting directly or indirectly in the interest of an employer in relation to an employee.

 / Show more

Posted in: Trust LawShow details

Just Now The Earned Paid Sick Time Poster is an Arizona sick leave law poster provided for businesses by the Arizona Industrial Commission. This is a required poster for all Arizona employers, and any business that fails to post this notification may be subject to penalties or fines.. This poster describes new laws stating that beginning July 1, 2017, employees are entitled to earned paid

 / Show more

Posted in: Business Law, Labor LawShow details

2 hours ago Arizona’s new paid sick leave law—Proposition 206 or The Fair Wages and Healthy Families Act—will go into effect on July 1, 2017. While we previously explained key components of the law, the Act left many important questions unanswered.Since the law passed, the Industrial Commission of Arizona (ICA) has crafted a limited set of proposed regulations, …

 / Show more

Posted in: Air Law, Health LawShow details

9 hours ago The passage of Proposition 206 in November 2016 brought not just an increase in Arizona’s minimum wage, but also enactment of a new state law requiring all employers (with very narrow exceptions) to provide all employees, including part-time workers, with annual paid sick time (PST). With the July 1, 2017 effective date rapidly approaching, we want to make sure you …

 / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

7 hours ago Arizona’s new Paid Sick Leave laws are very complicated, and following these rules and writing policies for your handbook is not as easy as some people think it is. As such, we wanted to offer this information, distilled down to its basics, plus great resources like a webinar and sample policy, to help our neighbors and friends prepare for

 / Show more

Posted in: Form LawShow details

6 hours ago The paid sick time component of the law will go into effect July 1, 2017, while the minimum wage increase to $10/ hour begins January 1, 2017. The new Arizona law inserts Article 8.1 entitled

 / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

8 hours ago Arizona’s new paid sick leave law—Proposition 206 or The Fair Wages and Healthy Families Act—will go into effect on July 1, 2017. Since the law passed, the Industrial Commission of Arizona (ICA) has crafted proposed regulations and a number of frequently asked questions (FAQs).This three-part blog series examines the intricacies of the ICA’s current …

 / Show more

Posted in: Air Law, Health LawShow details

5 hours ago Arizona law also dictates an annual minimum for paid sick time. Employers with 15 or more employees are required to offer a minimum of 40 hours of paid sick time per year, while employees with less than 15 employees are only required to give a minimum of 24 hours of paid sick time per year. Accumulated sick time must carry over each year

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Labor LawShow details

7 hours ago Employers with employees in Arizona will be required to offer their employees mandatory “paid sick time” (PST) by July 1, 2017. Whereas small businesses are exempt from coverage under Arizona’s minimum wage law, the PST requirements of Arizona’s Fair Wages and Healthy Families Act (the Act) apply to all businesses, regardless of size.

 / Show more

Posted in: Business Law, Air LawShow details

3 hours ago ARIZONA PAID SICK LEAVE POLICY (LESS THAN 15 EMPLOYEES) Company(provides(paidsick(time(inaccordance(withArizona's(Fair(Wages(and(Healthy(Families(Act(.

"PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

 / Show more

Posted in: Air Law, Health LawShow details

1 hours ago

Preview /

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

1 hours ago

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

8 hours ago Arizona will increase the minimum hourly rate to $11 in 2019 and to $12 in 2020. Each year after that, Arizona’s minimum wage will increase in line with cost of living increases. Although the Arizona Act also requires that every employee be allowed to accrue and then use paid sick leave for a wide range of reasons outlined in the law, this

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

4 hours ago The Act requires most Arizona employers to allow employees to accrue paid sick leave, effective July 1, 2017. It also increases the minimum wage in increments. Legal challenges to the constitutionality of that law by a cadre of business interests have been unsuccessful, thus far. On March 14, in a one-paragraph opinion, the Arizona Supreme

 / Show more

Posted in: Business Law, Constitutional LawShow details

6 hours ago Under Proposition 206, otherwise known as the Fair Wages and Healthy Families Act, full-time, part-time, and seasonal employees will be granted paid sick leave mandated by law, earning a …

 / Show more

Posted in: Air Law, Sea LawShow details

2 hours ago Overview. Workers in Arizona are entitled to begin accruing paid sick leave on their first day of employment at a rate of one hour for every 30 hours worked. The law applies regardless of whether

 / Show more

Posted in: Employment LawShow details

8 hours ago The Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System Administration is the single state agency responsible for administration of the Medicaid program in Arizona. The program is jointly funded by the State, counties, and the federal government. Federal law

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Government Law, Health LawShow details

Filter Type: All Time Past 24 Hours Past Week Past monthFacebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

Please leave your comments here:

New Popular Law

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the sick leave laws in arizona?

Employees may use accrued sick leave for the following reasons:

  • the employee's own illness, treatment, or preventative care
  • a family member's illness, treatment, or preventative care
  • the closure of the employee's place of business, or the school or daycare of an employee's child, due to a public health emergency, and

More items...

What are the laws pertaining to sick time?

The law also requires that employees must accrue paid sick and safe time at least as fast as one hour earned for every 50 hours worked, up to 64 hours per year. Employers can limit employees' use of paid sick and safe time to 40 hours per year.

Should employers be required to offer paid sick time?

Although many employers offer paid holidays, sick days, and vacation time as part of their benefits packages, they aren't required to do so by federal law. The federal Fair Labor Standards Act, the primary law regulating wages and hours, requires employers to pay employees only for the hours they work, not for the hours they take off.

What states have mandatory sick leave?

Currently, nine US states (Arizona, California, Connecticut, Maryland, Massachusetts, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont, Washington); 23 US cities; and two US counties (Montgomery County, MD and San Francisco County, CA) have laws mandating paid sick leave.

Most Popular Search