Arizona Landlord Laws And Requirements

Filter Type: All Time Past 24 Hours Past Week Past monthFacebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

Listing Results Arizona Landlord Laws And Requirements

7 hours ago In Arizona, landlords are required to provide habitable premises for living and must make requested repairs in a timely manner (5 days). If they do not, the tenant is empowered to make the repairs themselves and deduct the costs from future rent payments. Here is a list of essential amenities that Arizona landlords are or are not responsible for.

Estimated Reading Time: 6 mins

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Air LawShow details

1 hours ago Under Arizona State law there are two Residential Landlord and Tenant Acts, one that pertains to standard rental housing and the other to renters in Mobile Home Parks. The Residential Landlord and Tenant Act that pertains to standard rental housing was enacted to govern the rental of dwelling units and the rights and obligations of landlord and

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

1 hours ago Arizona Residential Landlord and Tenant Act An Arizona Department of Housing Publication . Page 5 This chapter shall apply to the rental of dwelling units. Any conflict between the provisions of chapter 3 and chapter 7 of this title with the provisions of this chapter shall be governed by the provisions of this chapter. 33-1305.

File Size: 540KB
Page Count: 47

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

2 hours ago the Arizona Residential Landlord and Tenant Act, the tenant may give written State law has a standard occupancy limit of two persons per bedroom. However, the landlord has the right to refuse to rent to more persons per bedroom if he chooses. ARS §33-1317.

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

4 hours ago In Arizona, the landlord is free to charge any rent price agreed upon by the parties because there is no rent control or limit required by the state. Rent is due on the date indicated in the lease agreement.

Estimated Reading Time: 9 mins

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

7 hours ago A landlord must follow the Arizona statute ARS 33-1370 to post and certify notice; then wait five full days. After five days have passed, then the landlord may change the locks, inventory the property left behind and hold the personal property for ten days. In the meantime the landlord is obligated to notify the tenant via certified mail

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Property LawShow details

2 hours ago Under Arizona law, landlords must disclose specific information to tenants (usually in the lease or rental agreement), such as the purpose of any nonrefundable fee, the identity of anyone authorized to act on the landlord's behalf, and educational materials on bedbugs. For a full list, see Arizona Required Landlord Disclosures.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form Law, Education LawShow details

5 hours ago This chapter shall be known and may be cited as the Arizona mobile home parks residential landlord and tenant act. 33-1402. Purposes Underlying purposes and policies of this chapter are: 1. To simplify, clarify and establish the law governing the rental of mobile home spaces and rights and obligations of landlord and tenant. 2.

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

1 hours ago (revised July 3, 2015). You can get a free copy of the Act from https://housing.az.gov, or you can look up the Act in the Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S. §§ 331301 to 33- -1381), which is available in the reference sections of most public libraries or law libraries in the state.

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

2 hours ago In Arizona, the landlord is free to charge any rent price agreed upon by the parties because there is no rent control or limit required by the state. While there are no legal requirements for how rent is to be paid, the landlord may request the tenant pay one and one half of first month's rent prior to move in.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

2 hours ago There is no Arizona law forbidding late fees or limiting the amount that landlords can charge for residential dwellings. For manufactured homes, late fees must not exceed five dollars per day. ( Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 33-1414 (C)) Do landlords have to allow for a grace period for paying rent before charging late fees?

Estimated Reading Time: 6 mins

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Bidding LawShow details

4 hours ago A tenant who is a victim of domestic violence or sexual assault may require the landlord to install a new lock to the tenant's dwelling if the tenant pays for the cost of installing the new lock. A landlord may comply with this requirement by doing either of the following: 1. Rekeying the lock if the lock is in good working condition. 2.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

6 hours ago A landlord must disclose in writing the name and address of the property manager and the owner or owner's agent. A.R.S. § 33-1322(A). Landlords must give notice that copies of the Arizona Residential Landlord and Tenant Act are available for free from the Arizona Secretary of State's Office. A.R.S. § 33-1322(B).

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Property LawShow details

1 hours ago Arizona landlords can charge up to one and one-half months’ rent as security deposit from which unpaid rent, charges, non-refundable fees or deposits and damages incurred may be deducted. For example, “non-refundable” fees may include pet deposits, these fees must be clearly written in the rental agreement. The security deposit must be

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

6 hours ago The Fair Housing Act is one of the two major federal laws that impact all property managers and landlords across the country. This is a law that prohibits discrimination due to national origin, race, religion, color, disability, sex or familial status. This law applies to: Renting or buying a …

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Property Law, Air LawShow details

Just Now Landlords cannot take more than 11⁄2 of the monthly rent as security deposit or any rent paid in advance. However, this does not prevent a tenant from paying deposit that’s equivalent to 11⁄2 of the monthly rent in advance. Under Arizona Tenant Landlord Law, it’s allowed but must be written expressly in the lease agreement.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

1 hours ago In Arizona, landlords can only charge one and a half times the rental amount for a security deposit ( ARS § 33-1321 (A) ). For example, if your rent is $1,000 a month, your security deposit can be no more than $1,500. Some landlords will also ask for the last month’s rent, but this is not part of the security deposit.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

6 hours ago The maximum amount a security deposit can be is one and one-half months rent in addition to the first month's rent.A.R.S. § 33-1321(A).Security deposits do not include charges for cleaning or redecorating the unit. A.R.S. § 33-1310(14). Within fourteen business days after termination of tenancy, landlords must refund either all of the security deposit or the …

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Business LawShow details

6 hours ago A commercial real estate landlord in Arizona does generally have the right to lock out a tenant who has not paid the rent. You do want to have clear expectations and language in the contract about the process of notification and the grace period the tenant has for any past due amount. This section of the lease agreement should also clearly

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Contract Law, Estate LawShow details

2 hours ago All legal service programs in Arizona differ, and their criteria for accepting cases vary as well. Find out what programs are available and where to go for assistance. The Landlord Tenant Relationship. Basic information about landlord obligations and renter obligations based upon the Arizona Residential Landlord and Tenant Act.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form LawShow details

2 hours ago Notice Requirements for Arizona Landlords In most situations your landlord does not need to give you a reason (although acting on discriminatory or retaliatory motives is illegal). A landlord can simply give you a written notice to move, allowing you 30 days as required by Arizona law and specifying the date on which your tenancy will end.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

8 hours ago 19. Explain community property with rights of survivorship, the requirements to create or terminate, and compare to other co-ownership tenancies; 20. Define “sole and separate property” how it is acquired, maintained and the disposition . of interests; 21. Explain joint tenants with rights of survivorship, the legal requirements to create and

Preview "PDF/Adobe Acrobat"

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Estate Law, Property LawShow details

8 hours ago All the highly-rated services for arizona landlord laws and requirements are recommended here. Click right now to see the details of each rental service!

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Services LawShow details

3 hours ago The Arizona Residential Landlord Tenant Act is a state law, so counselors are available to educate people throughout the entire state through free

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Air LawShow details

3 hours ago Arizona Landlord and Tenant Duties. § 33-1324. Landlord to maintain fit premises. A. The landlord shall: 1. Comply with the requirements of applicable building codes materially affecting health and safety. 2. Make all repairs and do whatever is necessary to put and keep the premises in a fit and habitable condition.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Air Law, Health LawShow details

6 hours ago A hub for retirees, snow birds, golfers, hiking lovers and anyone who hates the cold, Arizona has plenty of landlord-tenant law quirks. Here’s a quick reference guide for AZ landlord-tenant laws. At a Glance: Security Deposit Limit: 1.5 months’ rent unless the tenant volunteers more.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

3 hours ago

1. Equal Opportunity Housing. 33-303; 33-1317. Tenants in the state of Arizona have the right to equal opportunity in housing-related activities. This right is protected under the Federal Fair Housing Act.
2. Security Deposit. 33-1321; 33-1341. Landlords in the state of Arizona have the right to collect a security deposit from a tenant. Tenants in the state of Arizona also have rights when it comes to the collection, maintenance, and return of their security deposit.
3. Cases of Domestic Violence. 33-1318. Tenants who have been victims of domestic violence have the right to terminate their rental agreement. The tenant must provide written notice to the landlord with certain documentation which supports their claim of domestic violence, such as a copy of a protective order.
4. Notice Before Entry. 33-1343. Tenants in the state of Arizona have the right to the private enjoyment of their dwelling. The landlord, however, is lawfully allowed to enter the unit at certain times.
5. Disclosure of Agent. 33-1322. In Arizona, a tenant has the right to know the name and address of: The person or persons who have the authority to manage the property.
6. Landlord Retaliation. 33-1367; 33-1381. A tenant in Arizona is protected from landlord acts of retaliation. An example of a retaliatory action could be a landlord raising a tenant’s rent after the tenant complains to the town about a health or safety issue.
7. Withhold Rent for Repairs. 33-1363 to 1365. Under Arizona statute, a tenant has the right to withhold rent or make deductions from their monthly rent if certain repair requests are not met by the landlord or completed in a timely manner.
8. Notice to Quit. 33-1368. In Arizona, tenants have the right to receive a Notice to Quit before they face lease termination or eviction. Depending on the offense, the tenant will usually have between five and ten days to remedy the behavior or face termination of lease or eviction.
9. Rent Disclosure. 33-1314C; 33-1314E; 33-1342B. Tenants in Arizona have the right to certain disclosures about rent. This includes how and when the rent will be paid, penalties for nonpayment of rent, any applicable late fees and the process for increasing a tenant’s rent.
10. Landlord-Tenant Act. For the original text of Arizona’s landlord-tenant act, please consult Arizona Statutes §§12-1171 to 12 1183 and §§ 33-1301 to 33-1381.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Support Law, Document LawShow details

1 hours ago Under Arizona law (A.R.S. §33-1321), landlords may ask for a security deposit up to an amount that is equal to 1 + ½ month’s rent. Landlords may not ask for more than this. (So, for example, if the monthly rent is $1,000, then the most that a landlord may charge as a security deposit is $1,500, which is one month’s rent ($1,000) plus one

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

9 hours ago The Arizona Residential Landlord and Tenant Act requires landlords to provide safe and habitable units for their tenants. Arizona's law requires a landlord to provide and maintain in good working condition systems like running water, heating, plumbing, garbage removal, sanitation, electricity, wiring and ventilation. The dwelling unit itself must be safe and …

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

6 hours ago In terms of its requirements, a month-to-month tenancy, unless following a lease holdover, generally would be governed by the Arizona Residential Landlord and Tenant Act. Fair enough. Adjustments could be construed to be changes in rules and regulations per A.R.S. § 33-1342, but they cannot constitute a substantial modification of the tenancy

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Air LawShow details

2 hours ago The information below may be helpful to landlords and tenants but is not a substitute for legal advice. There are other rules and laws that may be applicable to your situation, but these are common rules and laws that apply in eviction actions. A.R.S. means Arizona Revised Statutes and RPEA means Rules of Procedure for Eviction Actions. 1 NOTICE

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form LawShow details

6 hours ago The relationship between a commercial landlord and tenant is governed by the parties’ lease, Arizona common law, and statutory law. Because lease agreements can vary widely in their terms and conditions, this article will provide a broad overview of a commercial landlord’s non-contractual responsibilities to a tenant under Arizona law.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Contract Law, Commercial LawShow details

3 hours ago Landlord-tenant laws in Arizona may allow you to terminate your lease or sue for damages under certain circumstances (such as medical bills or paid rent, per A.R.S. §33-1364). You should always talk with an attorney before attempting to terminate your own lease, deducting the cost for any rental repairs, or asking for damages.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Medical Law, Air LawShow details

5 hours ago Now landlords’ responsibility (and liability) is being expanded by House BIll 2281, which is in the process of being enacted into law by Arizona legislature. Governor Jan Brewer signed the bill last month after a bustle of new laws were passed at the end of the legislative session ending June 14.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

6 hours ago Arizona law says that landlords must make all repairs and do whatever is necessary to put and keep the premises in a fit and habitable condition (See A.R.S. § 33-1324). However, any custom work or modification is not the responsibility of the landlord and must be detailed in the lease agreement.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Estate Law, Commercial LawShow details

7 hours ago Landlords defending a security deposit lawsuit should check out Arizona Landlord’s Guide to Security Deposit Disputes in Justice of the Peace Court, Arizona Late Fees and Other Rent Rules, State law regulates several rent-related issues, including late and bounced-check fees, the amount of notice at least 30 days in Arizona landlords must give tenants to raise the rent, …

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Just Now Arizona rental property owners, landlords and property managers need to use rental agreements and legal notices to follow the Arizona landlord tenant laws. A free, state-specific Arizona lease is included in your ARPOLA membership along with the Arizona legal notices and forms you will use most often.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form Law, Property LawShow details

5 hours ago Arizona landlords are definitely going to do a better job in choosing wonderful tenants when they know the law. Arizona tenant screening laws include: Landlords are allowed to charge an application fee, payable when the person turns in their completed application. Arizona puts no limit on what landlords can charge for an application fee.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

5 hours ago Our Arizona Lease is designed with legal help that keeps your document compliant with State Laws and legal restrictions on Lease agreements. At each stage of filling in the Arizona Lease agreement, our Arizona Assist will provide prompts, warnings, and tips that help you better understand the State’s, Landlord-Tenant Laws. For instance, Arizona sets limits …

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Form Law, Document LawShow details

6 hours ago The Arizona landlord tenant law allows for the landlord to deduct from the security deposit in order to pay for the cost of repairs to the property. The landlord has the right to inspect the property, but generally will have to give 48 hours’ notice. Arizona landlord tenant law does not give the landlord unfettered access to the property when

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Property Law, Air LawShow details

5 hours ago In Arizona, the landlord is free to charge any rent price agreed upon by the parties because there is no rent control or limit required by the state. While there are no legal requirements for how rent is to be paid, the landlord may request the tenant pay one and one half of first month’s rent prior to move in.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

4 hours ago In addition, Arizona law specifies the choices that a tenant has if the landlord deliberately or negligently fails to supply running water, gas, electrical service, and reasonable amounts of hot water or heat, air-conditioning or cooling. The tenant must give reasonable notice to the landlord specifying the breach and then has the following

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Air LawShow details

3 hours ago The landlord and tenant relationship is a combination of property and contract law. Foundation Development Corp. v. Loehmann’s. Inc. , 163 Ariz. 438, 788 P.2d 1189 (1990). Historically, rent was regarded as a real property interest arising out of the land, while the lease was considered a mixture of conveyance and contract. 49 Am.Jur.2d

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Contract Law, Property LawShow details

5 hours ago Arizona. The next state that favors real estate investors if the tenant doesn't pay the rent is Arizona. When it comes to property taxes, the Arizona housing market has one of the lowest in the country with just 0.72%.A 10-day notice is given to a tenant who has violated the lease or rental agreement.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Estate Law, Property LawShow details

3 hours ago Arizona landlords are also forbidden from using a raise in rent prices as a means of retaliation against one or more tenants. Along the same lines, an Arizona landlord cannot raise one or more tenants’ rents in a manner than can be construed as discriminatory based upon a class protected by local, state, or federal law.

Preview / Show more

Posted in: Law CommonsShow details

Filter Type: All Time Past 24 Hours Past Week Past monthFacebook Share Twitter Share LinkedIn Share Pinterest Share Reddit Share E-Mail Share

Please leave your comments here:

New Popular Law

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the landlord and tenant laws in arizona?

Landlord-Tenant Act. Landlords must also provide a copy of this act to the tenant before the tenancy begins. Landlords in Arizona are prohibited from changing the locks as a form of eviction. Tenants can request a lock change if they are the victim of domestic abuse and landlords are required to acquiesce but the tenant must pay for the changes.

What are the rules for paying rent late in arizona?

Arizona Late Fees and Other Rent Rules. State law regulates several rent-related issues, including late and bounced-check fees, the amount of notice (at least 30 days in Arizona) landlords must give tenants to raise the rent, and how much time (five days in Arizona) a tenant has to pay rent or move before a landlord can file for eviction.

Can a landlord change the price of a lease in arizona?

Landlords cannot change the rent price during a fixed-term lease. They can adjust the rent price at the time of renewal. Landlords must, however, give tenants at least 30 days’ notice (in writing) to increase rent or change another term of a month-to-month rental agreement. Are there lease renewal provisions in Arizona?

Can a landlord enter without permission in arizona?

Tenants in the state of Arizona have the right to the private enjoyment of their dwelling. The landlord, however, is lawfully allowed to enter the unit at certain times. The landlord must usually provide the tenant with at least two days’ notice before they can enter the tenant’s unit.

Most Popular Search